Arizona Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

Arizona Frequently Ask Questions Real Estate License

On this page you will find a full list of frequently asked questions about how to get your Arizona real estate license, the Arizona real estate salesperson course, how to prepare for the AZ state exam, how to renew your AZ real estate license, and general real estate profession questions.

About the 90-Hour Arizona Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Course

The state requires you to take a 90-hour pre-license salesperson course. After passing the state exam, you will also need to complete a 6-hour Contract Writing Course before you submit your real estate license application.

Read More

In total, you will need 96 hours of education to meet Arizona's real estate license requirements. Ninety of these hours are the Arizona state pre-licensure course. The next six hours are for the required Contract Writing Course that you must take before applying for your license.

Read More

You can take the 90-hour Arizona real estate pre-license course in person or through an online course. Many applicants prefer online so they can work on the content on their schedule. Either way, you must take the course from a state pre-approved education provider.

Read More

Yes, you can take the Arizona pre-license course online as long as it is offered through a pre-approved education provider. Taking the course online enables you to work through the content at your own pace and schedule.

Read More

Yes, because Arizona does not stipulate any high school diploma or GED requirements, you could take the 90-hour pre-license course while you are still in high school. Do keep in mind that you must be at least 18 years of age when you apply for your real estate license.

Read More

Unfortunately, law school credits do not count towards your Arizona pre-license course. All applicants must take the 90-hour course.

Read More

No, college credits do not count towards the Arizona pre-license course. You will still need to take the 90-hour course.

Read More

Yes, the Arizona 90-hour pre-license course has a final exam that you must pass to receive your course completion certificate.

Read More

The Minnesota Real Estate Commission does not specify license applicants to have a high school diploma or GED.

Read More

When you make your real estate salesperson license application, one of the documents you must provide is an official score report showing that you successfully passed the pre-license course. You must also bring this course completion certificate to your state exam as evidence you have met the education requirement.

Read More

No. It is your responsibility to submit official course completion certificates to the Arizona Department of Real Estate showing that you completed your required courses. It is a required step in your real estate salesperson license application.

Read More

Your pre-approved course provider will provide you with your course completion certificate once you have successfully completed the final exam. The Certificate will be available to download after logging into your RealEstateU account.

Read More

To find your pre-approved course provider, visit Arizona's Department of Real Estate website and search for the course you need. The website also enables you to search by school name, location, and school number.

Read More

You can find an approved course provider for the 6-hour Contract Writing class through the Arizona Department of Real Estate website. You can search by school name, school number, location, and course.

Read More

Applying For an Arizona Real Estate License

All applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Arizona has no other general requirements. You must have passed your 90-hour pre-license course, the state licensing exam, and the 6-hour Contract Writing Course before you apply.

Read More

Online filing is the fastest way to apply for your Arizona real estate salesperson license. Follow the Arizona real estate license application instructions given to you when you passed the state exam.

Read More

Yes. Online license application filing is recommended as it is the fastest way to submit your salesperson license documents.

Read More

Your AZ real estate salesperson license application fee is $60, payable to the AZ Department of Real Estate with a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Card, checks, or money order.

Read More

You must include with your application your AZ state exam score report, pre-license course completion certificate, Contract Writing Course certificate, AZ-issued Fingerprint Clearance Card, and Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244).

Read More

You must file your application within (1) year of passing the AZ state salesperson exam. However, you can’t file it until you have successfully completed your required 6-hour Contract Writing Course and received your AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card.

Read More

No. State law requires AZ real estate salespersons to work under a licensed real estate broker's supervision. In fact, you’ll need an AZ broker to activate your salesperson license with the ADRE.

Read More

To change your AZ real estate salesperson license to active, you must be hired by an AZ real estate broker. They will access the ADRE online system to approve your hiring, changing your status to active.

Read More

Keep up to date on the status of your AZ salesperson license application with your ADRE online system account. Arizona's New Licensee Brochure will tell you how to set up your account to track your status.

Read More

Once your real estate salesperson license has been activated, you have the option to print your license through the ADRE portal. You will log in, go to your personal page, and select “print license.”

Read More

Arizona Disclosing Prior Criminal Activity

ADRE will not issue a real estate salesperson’s license to anyone who has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor offense such as theft, forgery, extortion, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude.

Read More

You will not be able to receive an Arizona salesperson’s license if you have been convicted of a felony or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude.

Read More

You must disclose if you have had any judgment or orders regarding fraud, misrepresentation, moral turpitude, or while conducting any business in real estate. They will also ask if you have entered a plea agreement or a plea of nolo contendere.

Read More

Fill out and submit Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244) as part of your license application. Depending on your answers, you may need to submit additional documentation. Refer to the Disclosure Document Checklist Form for specifics on what you will need to include with your application.

Read More

You will disclose your prior criminal activity to the Arizona Department of Real Estate when you complete your real estate salesperson application. Arizona requires all applicants to answer Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244), which asks about your criminal history.

Read More

Arizona License Qualifications / Requirements

You must be at least 18 years old to receive an Arizona real estate salesperson license.

Read More

A high school diploma or its equivalent general education diploma (GED) is not a requirement to get an Arizona real estate salesperson's license.

Read More

No, Arizona does not allow you to hold an active real estate salesperson license if you are not an Arizona resident. You can begin the process of earning your AZ salesperson license while you are not a state resident, but when you apply for your license, you will need to submit proof of residency.

Read More

You can find all of the Arizona code and statutes regarding real estate licensing and the real estate industry under Title 32 Section 20 of the Arizona state code. The Arizona Department of Real Estate (ADRE) also has many resources regarding licensing.

Read More

Arizona Real Estate License Renewal

You must renew your license every two years. During that time, you must complete 24 hours of continuing education. Initiate your license renewal through the ADRE online portal. An online renewal costs $60.

Read More

A renewal application submitted online will cost $60. A late application submitted online, an on-time application done in-office, and an application sent through the mail costs $125.

Read More

Your Arizona real estate salesperson's license is active for two years. You will have to apply for renewal at the end of those two years. The Arizona Department of Real Estate will email you 90-, 60-, and 30-day courtesy renewal reminders to the email address on record.

Read More

Salesperson licenses are required to take 24 hours of ADRE-approved continuing education courses before their two-year renewal date. You must have 3 hours each in agency law, contract law, commissioner’s standards, disclosure, fair housing, and real estate legal issues. You also need six hours in elective categories.

Read More

You must visit the ADRE portal to renew your inactive license. Inactive license holders are required to maintain their continuing education requirements. You must show proof you have met the 24-hours of CE in the two-year license cycle.

Read More

You can renew your license as soon as you receive your 90-day courtesy notice. Do not delay in submitting your renewal to avoid any complications.

Read More

If you are late renewing your Arizona salesperson's license, you have a one-year grace period to input your continuing education requirements and pay your renewal fee. You will need to pay a late fee. Please note that this grace period does not extend your original renewal date.

Read More

In Arizona, the only difference between an inactive and active license is that an active license holder is someone hired by an Arizona licensed real estate broker. If you would like to have an active license, you must be hired and submit proof you met the continuing education requirements.

Read More

Arizona Real Estate Profession Questions

An active Arizona real estate salesperson's license enables you to act on behalf of an Arizona licensed real estate broker to transact real estate and earn a commission for your efforts.

Read More

A real estate license is required anytime you wish to work with real estate as a broker or salesperson and be paid a compensation for your work.

Read More

If you transfer brokers, you must notify the ADRE you are severing from your current broker and request to be hired by your new broker. Your new broker must submit a Salesperson/Associate Broker Change Form or initiate the change through the ADRE online portal.

Read More

Arizona RealEstateU Questions

Yes. You can find RealEstateU under Arizona’s pre-approved course providers.

Read More

Arizona Reciprocity and Out-of-State Licensees

Unfortunately, Arizona does not offer any reciprocity with any other states. You will have to go through an application process and take the Arizona state exam.

Read More

Arizona does not offer reciprocity with any other state. It does offer a path to have your out-of-state license recognized by having documents submitted showing your prior license, allowing you to forgo the 90-hour pre-license course requirement.

Read More

To get your Arizona real estate license if you already have a real estate salesperson's license in another state, you must have an original certified license history from the state where you currently hold a license. You’ll need to pass the Arizona state exam to receive an out-of-state license recognition application.

Read More

Anyone seeking a real estate license through out-of-state license recognition must be an Arizona resident. You must also have been currently licensed in another state for at least a year and have completed the approved real estate education in that other state.

Read More

Yes, Arizona requires that you take the state-specific examination even if you seek out-of-state license recognition.

Read More

Getting Fingerprinted in Arizona

Yes. Arizona requires all applicants to submit their Fingerprint Clearance Card (FCC) as part of the application process. Visit the state’s Public Service Portal to apply for the FCC and schedule your fingerprinting. You can start the process at any time.

Read More

Fill out an application through the AZ Department of Public Safety. Once your application is submitted, you’ll receive a reference number to use when getting fingerprinted. Contact a professional fingerprinting service or the local police department for fingerprinting.

Read More

You can initiate the fingerprinting process at any time in your licensing process, but you must have received the Fingerprint Clearance Card before you apply for your salesperson license.

Read More

During your FCC application, select to submit prints via a paper fingerprint card. The AZDPS will send a fingerprint card in the mail for use, or you can use a card supplied by a fingerprint vendor.

Read More

The AZDPS currently charges $67.00 for your Fingerprint Clearance Card. An electronic application has an additional vendor convenience fee of $7.95. The fingerprint vendor you select may charge an additional fee that they set.

Read More

How to Get an Arizona Real Estate License

You can earn your Arizona salesperson license in seven steps. Start by completing your 90-hour pre-license course. Next, apply for a Fingerprint Clearance Card and schedule your AZ state exam. After passing, take the 6-hr Contract Writing Course. Apply for your license and get hired by an AZ broker.

Read More

The total cost to earn your Arizona real estate salesperson’s license is $569.95. Your pre-license course with RealEstateU costs $299. The state exam is $75, and your license application is $60. A Fingerprint Clearance Card is $69, plus an optional fee. The Contract Writing course could cost $59.

Read More

You can get your AZ license in approx. 6 weeks 1.Complete the 90-hour pre-license course online: 2-6 weeks 2.Receive a Fingerprint Clearance Card: 2-10 weeks 3.Schedule and pass the AZ state exam: 1-3 weeks 4.Pass 6-hr contract writing: 1 week 5.Apply for your license and be hired by a broker to activate it. 2-6 weeks

Read More

Every real estate salesperson applicant in Arizona who is not applying with an out-of-state license will need to take the 90-hour pre-license salesperson course. This course ends with a final exam that you will need to pass to get the course completion certificate. You will need to take and pass the AZ salesperson exam

Read More

Yes. Online filing is the fastest and recommended way to apply for your Arizona real estate salesperson license.

Read More

You can take the 6-hour Contract Writing Course after successfully completing your 90-hour pre-license salesperson course and passing your state exam. You must take the course before you can apply for your Arizona salesperson's license. The course must be administered by a state approved education provider.

Read More

Scheduling Your Arizona Real Estate Licensing Exam

Something unique to Arizona is once you complete your 90-hour pre-license course and receive your course completion certificate, your education certificate is good for ten years. You can schedule your exam at any point within that time frame.

Read More

Exams are administered by PearsonVUE. Schedule your exam by visiting www.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate. You can also schedule your exam by calling (888) 405-5776.

Read More

Your Arizona state exam will cost $75 per attempt. You will pay PearsonVUE directly for the exam.

Read More

PearsonVUE accepts debit cards, credit cards, electronic checks, or vouchers. You must pay for your state exam ahead of time either by scheduling an appointment through their website or by calling (888) 405-5776.

Read More

By registering for your salesperson exam online, you can be scheduled in around 15 minutes. You'll create an account, provide your logistical details, your pre-license school name and approval number, and your payment method.

Read More

The AZ state salesperson exam must be taken in-person. PearsonVUE has testing centers in Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson, and Yuma by appointment only. Refer to the Candidate Handbook for specific addresses or search ADRE for a test center.

Read More

Yes, because Arizona does not offer reciprocity with any state, all applicants, including those licensed in other states, must take the Arizona-specific state exam. You can find information about the state exam at Pearson VUE.

Read More

Reschedule or cancel your exam at least 48 hours in advance by calling PearsonVUE at 888-405-5776. Otherwise, you will forfeit your exam fee.

Read More

Yes, tour Arizona state exam license results are only good for one year. You must apply for your Arizona real estate salesperson license within 365 days of passing the state exam.

Read More

Taking the Arizona Real Estate Licensing Exam

Your Arizona state salesperson licensing exam has a total of 195 questions. You will have 15 pre-test questions that are not scored, followed by 180 questions that are scored.

Read More

Your AZ state salesperson licensing exam covers an extensive range of topics. Find the full details in the content outline provided by PearsonVUE in their Candidate Handbook. A sample: AZ real estate statutes, contract law, title transfer, fair housing, and disclosures.

Read More

Arizona does not have a limit on the number of times you can take the salesperson license exam. If you do not pass, you must wait 24 hours to reschedule your exam. Anyone who fails the exam twice has the opportunity to schedule an exam review appointment. The review must take place before scheduling the third exam.

Read More

Arizona offers a one-time exam playback feature if you fail the state license exam twice. After your second exam attempt, you have 14 days to schedule an exam review. You will have 30 minutes to see all the questions you answered wrong. After the exam review, you may schedule your next attempt.

Read More

Once you are finished with the state exam, you’ll receive a score report showing if you passed or failed immediately at the test center. If you pass, you’ll also receive your license application. If you fail, you’ll receive reexamination information.

Read More

You’ll receive an AZ salesperson license application with your score report. You have (1) year to submit the application to the ADRE. If you haven’t already, begin the process to get your Fingerprint Clearance Card. Schedule your 6-hour Contract Writing Class and find an AZ licensed broker to work under.

Read More

A calculator is not required but is suggested. The calculator must be battery-operated, silent, hand-held, non-printing and without an alphabetic keypad. The Candidate Handbook lists acceptable models.

Read More

Bring with you to the PearsonVUE testing center your 90-hour pre-licensure education certificate and two forms of acceptable ID with your signature. One ID must be government-issued, such as a Driver’s License, Passport, Military ID card, or Alien Registration Card.

Read More

Yes. PearsonVUE allows for testing accommodations in compliance with the ADA. Visit http://pearsonvue.com/accommodations, and select your test program sponsor from the list. For additional questions concerning test accommodations, contact the ADA Coordinator at [email protected]

Read More

Personal items must be left in your car or placed in the provided secure storage area. All electronic devices must be turned off. Eating, drinking, and chewing gum are not allowed during the exam. Unscheduled breaks are allowed, but the exam clock does not stop.

Read More

You must wait 24 hours after a failed exam attempt before rescheduling with PearsonVUE. You will use the reexamination instructions provided to you with your score report to register for your retake.

Read More

Yes. You don’t need to be hired by a real estate broker to take the state exam. You will need to be hired by one to activate your license.

Read More

Yes. Your state licensing exam results are only good for one year from the date you pass the test. You must apply for your license by that date.

Read More

Each exam retake will cost $75.

Read More

Yes, you can. You must wait (24) hours before scheduling your retake. The exam attempt will cost $75. If you fail the exam twice, Arizona offers a one-time exam review opportunity. You will have 30 minutes to review the questions you missed.

Read More