A typical real estate licensing course is anywhere from 40 to 180 hours. It includes either one course or mutiple courses. These courses are taughts based on the each state's real estate commission sylabus. If you are interested to know how long is a real estate course for a specific state please click on one of the states in the list below.
Choose the answer by state?
How long are real estate classes in Alabama?
In total, you will need 90 hours of education to meet Alabama's real estate license requirements. Sixty hours are for Alabama state pre-licensure course taken before the licensing exam. The next 30 hours are for the required post-licensing course that you must take before applying for a permanent license.
How long are real estate classes in Alaska?
You need to take 40 hours of pre-license education before applying for your license. After receiving your license, you have one year to take 30 hours of post-license education.
How long are real estate classes in Arizona?
In total, you will need 96 hours of education to meet Arizona's real estate license requirements. Ninety of these hours are the Arizona state pre-licensure course. The next six hours are for the required Contract Writing Course that you must take before applying for your license.
How long are real estate classes in Arkansas?
You will take 60 hours of pre-licensing education to get an Arkansas real estate salesperson license. You are required to have 30 of these hours covering the basic principles of real estate. All coursework must be taken from an accredited post-secondary school or an Arkansas Real Estate Commission approved school.
How long is a real estate course in California?
You must complete a total of 135-hours of education in order to qualify to take the state licensing exam.
The 135-hours are broken down into 3, 45-hour courses.
These courses include:
• Real Estate Principles (45-hours)
• Real Estate Practice (45-hours)
• One elective course (45-hours)
You are allowed to complete the 3, 45-hour pre-licensing courses with more than one school.
The DRE only requires that you submit your three Course Completion Certificates when it comes time to apply for the state licensing exam.
The three Course Completion Certificates may be from more than one school.
The Real Estate Law requires that a student cannot complete any 45-hour pre-license course within 2-1/2 weeks.
Since an applicant is required to complete 3, 45-hour pre-license courses, you cannot complete all three courses (135 hours in total) within 7-1/2 weeks from the date of enrollment.
How long are real estate classes in Colorado?
If you have not studied real estate at a college or university, you can take a 168-hour broker pre-license course. The state breaks down the hours into separate hours and requires a specific amount of time spent in each area.
• Real Estate Law and Practice (48 Hours)Qualifying Education Outline
• Colorado Contracts and Regulations (48 Hours) Qualifying Education Outline
• Trust Accounts and Record-Keeping (8 Hours) Qualifying Education Outline
• Current Legal Issues (8 Hours) Qualifying Education Outline
• Real Estate Closings (24 Hours) Qualifying Education Outline
• Practical Applications (32 Hours) Qualifying Education Outline
Taking the class from an approved state provider is likely more affordable than from an occupational school. Plus, taking the classwork online enables you to move at your own pace.
How long are real estate classes in Connecticut?
You’ll need to take a 60-hour pre-license education course from a state-approved school. The course is called Real Estate Principles and Practices.
How long are real estate classes in Delaware?
All salesperson applicants must take a 99-hour salesperson pre-license course intended to provide the essential background for real estate work in Delaware. A state-approved education provider must administer the course. The course will consist of 36 hours in sales, 33 hours and law, and 24 hours in mathematics.
How long is a real estate course in Florida?
You will need to complete a pre-license course from an approved institution that consists no more than 60 classroom hours of 50 minutes each plus a 3-hour exam, which is non-proctored. You cannot miss more than eight classroom hours if you opt for in-person learning.
How long is a real estate course in Georgia?
You will need to complete a pre-license course from an approved institution. The course is 75 hours long and ahs a proctored final exam at the end. You must pass the course final exam in order to complete the course.
How long does a real estate course take in Hawaii?
You are required to take 60 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-approved vendor. Taking a course from a state-approved school is faster and more affordable than pursuing a bachelor's degree in real estate.
How long does a real estate course take in Idaho?
In total, you will take 90 hours of pre-licensing education. The pre-licensing education is split into two 45-hour modules that teach you about the fundamental realistic concepts and the applied skills involved in transacting Real Estate. You must take these courses from an approved education provider.
How long does a real estate course take in Illinois?
You must take the 75-hour pre-license broker course to receive your Illinois broker license. The course has 60 hours in Pre-license Topics and 15 hours in Applied Real Estate Principles. Choose your school from the state's list of approved education providers.
How long does a real estate course take in Indiana?
You will take a 90-hour broker pre-license course. Of course, taking the class online enables you to move at your own pace. You can also take the class in-person.
How long does a real estate course take in Iowa?
The number of pre-licensing education hours adds up to 96. It starts with a 60-hour pre-licensing course. After your initial 60 hours are done, you will take three 12-hour classroom courses covering real estate practices.
How long does a real estate course take in Kansas?
You must take a 60-hour pre-licensing education course. Kansas breaks up its pre-licensing education into two 30-hour courses, the Principles of Real Estate and the Kansas Practice Course.
How long does a real estate course take in Kentucky?
You must take 96 hours of real estate education from a state-approved school or six credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college.
How long does a real estate course take in Louisiana?
Louisiana’s salesperson pre-license course is 90 hours. Salesperson pre-licensing hours must be in specific real estate courses that include coverage of real estate principles/practices, the Louisiana Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules/Regulations, Law of Agency, and Civil Law pertaining to real estate.
Taking the class from an approved state provider is likely more affordable than from an occupational school. Plus, doing the classwork online enables you to move at your pace on your schedule.
How long does a real estate course take in Maine?
The Maine Real Estate Commission requires all new sales agents to take a 55-hour basic real estate knowledge course.
How long does a real estate course take in Maryland?
You will need 60 hours of pre-license education for your Maryland salesperson license.
How long does a real estate course take in Massachusetts?
You are required to take a 40-hour pre-license course to obtain a Massachusetts salesperson license. A board-approved real estate school must administer the course, but you can take it as a classroom or online course.
How long is a real estate course in Michigan?
You are required to complete 40-hours of pre-license coursework, which includes at least four hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity housing.
According to the RealEstateU Terms and Conditions, you have 12 months to complete the RealEstateU 40-hour Michigan real estate salespersons course (including the final exam).
The 12 months starts from the date you purchase the course.
How long does a real estate course take in Minnesota?
The length of time needed to earn your Minnesota license depends on how long it takes you to complete the necessary coursework, pass the state exam, and find a sponsoring Minnesota real estate broker.
You will have to take and pass three 30-hour courses before applying for the license, for a total of 90 hours of instruction. Many people opt to take their courses online for the convenience and ability to work at their pace. You can complete the 90-hour pre-license courses in under 3 weeks if you take the courses full-time.
You’ll also need to pass both sections of the Minnesota real estate salesperson exam. You have up to one year after passing the exam to find a sponsoring broker who will apply for your license on your behalf. You can assume you will need around 3 weeks to schedule and pass the state licensing exam, and then have your license application approved by the state.
Total Time (approx.): 6 weeks
Minnesota does not have any general education requirements,such as a high school diploma, GED, or college coursework.
How long does a real estate course take in Mississippi?
You are required to take 60 hours of pre-licensing education to earn a Mississippi real estate salesperson license. Your course must be taught by a college, community college, or a state-approved pre-license education provider.
How long is a real estate course in Missouri?
The two required courses – the 48-hour pre-exam course and the 24-hour real estate practice course – include a total of 72 hours of classroom instruction required for licensure.
How long do real estate classes take in Montana?
You are required to take a 70-hour pre-license course on general real estate practice, law and ethics, and related topics. The course must be from an approved course provider.
How long do real estate classes take in Nebraska?
In total, you will take 66 hours of pre-licensing education for your Nebraska salesperson license. The Nebraska Real Estate Commission requires you to take (2) 30-hour pre-license courses in Nebraska license law and real estate principles and practices. Additionally, you need a six-hour course in professional practice and standards.
How long do real estate classes take in Nevada?
You will need to have 120 hours of Education in real estate to earn your Nevada salesperson license. The breakdown of your hours are as follows:
• 21 hours in brokerage and laws of agency
• 12 hours in valuation and economics
• 12 hours in finance
• 25 hours in ownership, transfer, and use of property
• 18 hours in specific state real-estate legislation
• 2 hours in applied practice and statutory disclosures
• 15 hours in real estate contracts
• 15 hours in real estate agency with 3 hours in risk reduction and 3 hours in broker-agent relationship
To meet this requirement, choose from a state-approved vendor to teach the pre-license course.
How long do real estate classes take in New Hampshire?
You will take a total of 40 hours of pre-licensing education before you take the state licensing exam.
How long do real estate classes take in New Jersey?
You must take 75-hours of pre-license education as part of earning a NJ salesperson license.
How long do real estate classes take in New Mexico?
You must take a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing courses. The NMREC breaks the required education into three 30-hour courses: real estate principles and practice, real estate law, and broker basics.
How long is a real estate course in New York?
You must complete 77-hours of state-approved pre-license coursework in order to be eligible to obtain an NYS real estate salesperson's license.
According to section 176.25 of Article 12-A of the NY Real Property Law, you must complete the 75-hour online NYS real estate salespersons course (including the proctored final exam) within 12 months.
The NYS Department of State may waive the 77-hour pre-license course requirement if you hold a Bachelor's degree with a major or concentration in real estate.
They may also waive the course requirement if you completed a substantially similar real estate pre-license course in another state.
In order to receive the waiver, you must submit a waiver request to the DOS, along with official transcripts.
How long is a real estate course in North Carolina?
You will need to complete 75 hours of pre-licensure coursework before you will be able to submit your license application and be approved to sit for the state license exam. Once your application is complete and you have passed the state license exam, you will be issued an inactive provisional broker license. To remove the provisional designation from your status, you will need to complete 90-hour post-license coursework within 18 months of having received your license.