Real EstateAll states
How long do real estate pre-licensing courses take to complete?
The answer depends on your state. Pick yours to see it.
Alabama requires 60 clock hours of prelicense education for both salesperson and broker applicants. The course must be completed within one year from the start date, and online courses may be taken at the applicant's own pace within that window. Most people finish the coursework within a few months depending on their weekly study schedule.
Sources: AREC — AL License Law Rule 790-X-1-.18 (Reciprocal License Requirements); AREC — Become a Licensed Real Estate Professional.
The 40-hour Alaska pre-licensing course is self-paced in online and correspondence formats, and most people finish the coursework within a few months. Alaska limits students to no more than 10 hours of instruction credit per day. The total time to obtain a license also depends on scheduling the state exam through Pearson VUE, finding a sponsoring broker, and application processing by the Department of Commerce, which can add several weeks beyond the coursework.
Sources: AK Real Estate Commission — Applicant FAQ; Alaska Real Estate Commission — Education.
The 90-hour pre-licensing course can be completed in as few as a couple of weeks through an intensive in-person program, or over several months at a self-paced online pace, depending on how many hours per week you study. ADRE regulations limit the number of pre-licensing study hours that can be credited per day. Most schools provide several months of access from the enrollment date to finish the course and pass the school exam.
Sources: ADRE — Salesperson License.
Arkansas does not impose a time limit for completing the 60-hour salesperson pre-licensing course, and the 60-hour certificate has no expiration for salesperson applicants. Most people finish the coursework within a few weeks to a few months, depending on whether they take the course online or in a classroom setting and how much time they can devote to study. Individual course providers may set their own access periods, so the completion timeline depends partly on the provider's policies.
Sources: Arkansas Real Estate Commission (AREC) — New Applicant Licensing page, corroborated by Arkansas Code of Rules 17 CAR § 220-301(a)(1).
California DRE rules require that a single correspondence course may not be completed in less than 2.5 weeks, and no more than two courses may be completed in any five-week period. For the three required 45-hour pre-licensing courses, the minimum completion time is 7.5 weeks. Most people finish the coursework within a few months depending on their study pace and schedule.
Sources: California Department of Real Estate (DRE) — Current Processing Times.
Colorado requires 168 hours of qualifying education but sets no state-mandated minimum or maximum completion time, so students can proceed at their own pace. Most students complete the coursework in two to four months when studying part-time, while motivated students can finish in three to four weeks with near-full-time dedication. Including the exam, background check, and application steps, the total timeline typically ranges from two to five months.
Sources: Colorado DRE — Broker Qualifying Education.
Completion time depends on the course format. Structured live-online or in-person pre-licensing courses range from about 5 weeks for an intensive weekday schedule to 10 weeks for an evening schedule, with some providers offering Saturday-only formats that run up to 12 weeks. Traditional in-person classroom courses typically take 8 to 12 weeks. Connecticut requires 60 hours of Real Estate Principles and Practices instruction but does not impose a minimum or maximum completion timeframe, so the pace is governed by the school's schedule and the student's attendance.
Sources: CT DCP — RE Salesperson Initial Exam; GHAR — Pre-Licensing Course.
Delaware requires 99 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-approved provider. The time to complete the coursework varies depending on whether you choose an in-person or online format and your personal pace. Some providers offer live instruction programs that meet several evenings per week, while self-paced online courses allow more flexibility. The Delaware Real Estate Commission publishes a list of all approved pre-licensing providers on its website.
Sources: Delaware DPR — Salesperson Licensure.
Florida requires 63 hours of pre-licensing coursework for sales associates. Self-paced online students may complete the course in as little as 4 weeks, while in-person or live online classes typically run 4 to 12 weeks depending on the program schedule. Some intensive in-person programs can be completed in as little as one week. The course final exam must be passed with a score of at least 70%, and the completion certificate is valid for 2 years from the date of completion.
Sources: FL DBPR — RE Education Requirements; DBPR official FAQ + Florida Realtors + Investopedia + MLS Campus (synthesis); Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) — Official FAQ.
Georgia requires 75 hours of pre-licensing education from a GREC-approved school, and completion time varies by individual pace and course format. Traditional classroom formats follow a set meeting schedule over several weeks, while online self-paced courses allow students to progress on their own schedule with course access periods typically ranging from several months to a year depending on the provider. GREC does not specify a minimum course-completion pace or mandatory live-instruction hours for pre-licensing education.
Sources: Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. R. 520-1-.04 (via Cornell Legal Information Institute).
Idaho requires 90 hours of pre-license education, divided into two 45-hour modules covering fundamental real estate concepts and applied transaction skills. Courses may be taken live in a classroom, through remote delivery, or as self-paced online study, and the state sets no minimum course-completion pace for self-paced online courses. All coursework must be completed within 3 years preceding the application date, and students must attend 100% of each course and pass a final exam with a score of 70% or higher.
Sources: Idaho DOPL — REC FAQs & Consumer Info.
Illinois requires 75 hours of pre-licensing coursework, divided into a 60-hour topics course and a 15-hour interactive applied principles course. The 60-hour portion may be completed in any format, including self-paced online study, while the 15-hour portion must be delivered in a classroom, live interactive webinar, or online distance education format. Most people finish the coursework within a few months, though the pace depends on the format and the student's schedule.
Sources: IDFPR – Real Estate Broker 75-Hour Pre-License Curriculum (Official Document).
Indiana requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education from a commission-approved provider, but the state does not set a maximum or minimum completion timeframe. Instructor-led courses typically run over several weeks, while self-paced online students can finish more quickly depending on their weekly study hours. Provider access windows vary by school, so the total time to complete the course depends on the chosen format and the student's individual schedule.
Sources: Indiana PLA — Real Estate Licensing Information.
The 60-hour online pre-license course must be completed within 6 months, and Iowa law does not allow extensions. In-person courses can take several weeks depending on the format and schedule. The three 12-hour live courses (Buying Practices, Listing Practices, and Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices) can be taken in any order, and only the 60-hour course must be completed before sitting for the licensing exam.
Sources: Iowa DIAL — Real Estate Salesperson and Brokers License by Exam; Iowa DIAL — Out-of-State RE Licensees (Rule 5.3).
Kansas requires 60 hours of pre-license education, consisting of two 30-hour courses that can be taken in either classroom or distance (online) format. The state does not mandate a specific completion timeframe, so the pace depends on the format and the student's schedule. Course certificates have their own validity periods that create practical deadlines: the Principles of Real Estate course expires 12 months from the course date, and the Kansas Practice Course certificate must be received by the Commission within 6 months of the course date.
Sources: KREC — Broker Requirements; KREC — Pre-License Education; KREC — Kansas Real Estate Commission FAQ.
Kentucky requires 96 classroom hours of Commission-approved pre-license education, and the time to complete the course depends on individual study pace. Most people finish the coursework within a few months, though the pace varies depending on whether they study full-time or part-time. Pre-license education does not expire, so there is no time limit between completing the course and taking the licensing exam.
Sources: KREC — Continuing Education; KREC — License Renewals (Maintain a License).
The Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC) requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education for a salesperson license, and the completion time depends on the course format and pace. In-person courses can be completed in a matter of weeks of evening classes, while online self-paced courses typically allow several months of access. Most candidates complete all licensing steps, including education, application processing, and exam scheduling, within four to six months.
Sources: LREC — Broker Pre-Licensing Education.
The Maine Sales Agent pre-licensing course is 55 hours. Most students complete the coursework within a few weeks to several months, depending on the format and study pace. The Course Completion Certificate is valid for 1 year, and you must pass both portions of the Pearson VUE licensing exam within that 1-year window.
Sources: Maine JobLink — ETP Program Listing (Central Maine Community College); Maine RE Commission — Individual Licenses (Reciprocal Licensing Section).
The Maryland Real Estate Commission requires 60 hours of pre-licensing education for a salesperson license but does not specify a completion time. Based on education providers' estimates, the 60-hour course typically takes about 2 weeks at a full-time pace of 30 to 40 hours per week and 4 to 8 weeks at a part-time pace of 15 to 20 hours per week. Online courses generally allow several months for completion.
Sources: Maryland Real Estate Commission (MREC) FAQs + secondary education provider estimates.
Massachusetts requires 40 hours of pre-licensing education for a salesperson license, offered through Board-approved schools in online, hybrid, or in-person formats. Most students complete the 40-hour course within a few weeks, though the timeframe depends on whether study is full-time or part-time. More than half of the 40 hours must include live instructor interaction, with the remaining hours available as self-paced content.
Sources: Mass.gov — RE License Exam Guide.
Michigan sets no mandated completion timeframe for pre-licensing courses. The salesperson requirement is 40 clock hours and the broker requirement is 90 clock hours. A full-time student studying 20 to 40 hours per week can finish the 40-hour salesperson course in about one week, while typical part-time study at 10 to 15 hours per week takes about 3 to 4 weeks. Slower pacing can extend completion to 6 weeks or more.
Sources: Michigan Legislature — MCL 339.2504; PSI — Test-Taker Resources.
Minnesota requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education across three 30-hour courses (Course I, Course II, and Course III). Course I must be completed before taking the salesperson exam, while Courses II and III must be completed before applying for the license. Most people complete the coursework within a few weeks to a few months, depending on study pace and whether courses are taken online or in a classroom. Approved providers and course offerings can be found on the Pulse Portal at pulseportal.com.
Sources: MN Commerce — Licensing Education.
The 60-hour salesperson pre-licensing course requires a minimum of 8 calendar days to complete, because Mississippi law caps pre-license education at 8 hours per day. Full-time students attending weekday classes can finish in approximately 2 weeks. Part-time and weekend schedules take longer depending on the number of class hours per week. Online self-paced courses let students set their own pace within the 8-hour daily cap, with access periods varying by provider.
Sources: Mississippi Real Estate Commission (MREC) Pre-Licensing Course Application, Rev. 7-2025.
Missouri requires 72 hours of pre-licensing education for a salesperson license: a 48-hour Salesperson Pre-Examination Course plus a 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course. Online, self-paced courses allow students to move through the material at their own pace, and most people complete the educational portion in two to four months. Students who study full-time can finish more quickly, while those studying a few hours per week may take several months. The 48-hour course must be completed before the 24-hour course, and both must be finished before submitting a license application.
Sources: MO DPR — Approved RE Education Providers; MO Prof. Registration — RE How-To; MO RE Commission — Application PDF.
Montana requires 70 hours of approved pre-licensing education for salesperson applicants and 60 hours for broker applicants. The time to finish depends on individual pace and schedule, with most people completing the salesperson coursework within a few weeks to several months. Online self-paced courses allow faster completion for full-time students, while in-person classes follow a fixed schedule. Salesperson applicants must complete the education within 24 months and broker applicants within 18 months preceding the application date.
Sources: MT DLI BSD — RE Salesperson Licensing; Montana DLI — RE Broker Licensing.
Nebraska requires 96 hours of pre-licensing education, and the state mandates that distance education courses be completed within 1 year of the enrollment date. Most people finish the coursework within a few months, though online self-paced courses allow faster completion. The typical application process takes approximately 4 to 8 weeks after all materials are submitted, and the criminal background check takes 4 to 6 weeks on average after fingerprint submission.
Sources: Nebraska Real Estate Commission — License Information (Applicant Information, Nebraska Resident); Nebraska Real Estate Commission — Salesperson Licensing (Resident Salesperson Information PDF); Nebraska Real Estate Commission (NREC) — Application Process page.
Nevada requires 120 hours of pre-licensing education, and completion time varies depending on study pace and whether the course is taken online or in a classroom. Students studying at a full-time pace can finish more quickly, while those balancing other commitments may need several months. The full licensing process, including exam scheduling, fingerprinting, and application processing, adds additional time beyond the coursework itself.
Sources: Nevada RED — Salesperson License Requirements.
New Hampshire requires 40 hours of pre-licensing education for a salesperson license, and the state sets a maximum time limit for completing the course from the start date. Candidates can move through the coursework at varying paces depending on their schedule and the provider's format. Online courses are permitted but must be delivered as live-streaming webinars with real-time instruction, not as self-paced study.
Sources: N.H. Admin. Code § Rea 301.03 (via Cornell LII), corroborated by PSI NH Real Estate Candidate Bulletin.
Most students complete the 75-hour New Jersey salesperson pre-licensing course within a few weeks to a few months, depending on the format and pace of study. Full-time learners can finish in as little as a few weeks, while part-time evening or weekend schedules take longer. Self-paced online learners typically finish within several weeks when dedicating consistent study time.
Sources: NJ DOBI — Requirements for Licensure as a NJ Real Estate Salesperson or Broker.
New Mexico requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education across three 30-hour courses, and the completion time depends on the student's study pace. Full-time students can finish the coursework in a few weeks, while those studying a few hours per week may take several months. The courses must be completed within three years prior to applying for the broker's examination.
Sources: NM RLD — RE Commission Licensing (Apply for License).
The New York Department of State requires 77 hours of approved qualifying education covering 19 subject areas, plus a 3-hour school-administered examination, for a total of 80 hours of course time. Completion time depends on study pace and course format. Online self-paced courses allow students to progress at their own rate, while classroom-based courses follow a set schedule that typically spans several months.
Sources: NY DOS — Become a Real Estate Salesperson; NY DOS — Real Estate Salesperson Syllabus (2022).
North Carolina requires a minimum of 75 instructional hours for the Broker Prelicensing Course, and Commission rules require the course, including the proctored end-of-course exam, to be completed within 180 days. The course is offered in-person, via synchronous distance learning (live online), or as self-paced online instruction, so the actual completion time depends on the format and the student's pace. Most people finish the coursework within a few weeks to a couple of months depending on the delivery method and schedule.
Sources: North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC) — Real Estate Licensing in North Carolina (RELINC booklet, April 2026 edition).
North Dakota requires 90 hours of NDREC-certified pre-licensure education for salesperson applicants and 60 hours for broker applicants. Approved providers may offer these courses in online, classroom, or hybrid formats, and most students complete the coursework within a few months depending on their pace. Applicants must apply for licensure within 2 years of completing the pre-licensure course.
Sources: NDREC — How to Apply.
Most students complete the 100 hours of required pre-licensing education within a few weeks to a few months, depending on study pace. Accelerated schedules can finish in as little as two weeks through intensive full-time study, while self-paced online students typically take one to three months. The total process from enrollment to license in hand generally takes two to six months including application processing, background checks, and exam scheduling.
Sources: Ohio COM — Salesperson License Requirements.
Oklahoma requires 90 hours of approved pre-license coursework, and most people finish the coursework within a few months. Online self-paced courses allow faster completion than traditional classroom schedules. The course completion is valid for three years from the date of completion.
Sources: OREC — Licensing & Exam FAQs.
Oregon requires 150 hours of broker pre-license education from an Agency-approved school. Online self-paced courses let students progress at their own speed, and most people complete the coursework within a few months. Structured classroom or hybrid programs typically follow a set schedule over several weeks.
Sources: Oregon REA — Get Broker License.
Pennsylvania requires 75 hours of pre-licensing education, consisting of Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours) and Real Estate Practice (45 hours). Most people finish the coursework within a few months, though the timeline varies by format and pace. Courses must be completed within 5 years prior to passing the licensing examination.
Sources: PA Real Estate Commission — Salesperson Licensure Snapshot; PA Real Estate Commission — Education Information; PA DOS — Real Estate Commission Licensure Guide.
Rhode Island's 45-hour salesperson pre-licensing course can be completed in as little as a month and a half when taken through a standard schedule of 15 sessions meeting twice a week for three hours each. Accelerated weekend in-person sessions are also available, condensing the coursework into 8 classes. In addition to the 45-hour course, a separate 3-hour Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation course is required.
Sources: RI DBR — RE Salesperson Application; 230 R.I. Code R. § 230-RICR-30-20-2.30 (Continuing Education), Rhode Island Code of Regulations.
South Carolina requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education for an associate license: Unit I (60 hours) and Unit II (30 hours). Most candidates complete the coursework within a few months, though the timeline varies based on study pace and whether courses are taken online or in a classroom setting. Unit I must be completed before sitting for the licensing exam, and Unit II must be completed before a license is issued.
Sources: SC LLR — Real Estate FAQ.
South Dakota requires 116 hours of prelicensing education for the broker associate license. Completion time varies by course format and study pace; most people finish the coursework within a few weeks to a few months. The SD DLR approved-education list includes both classroom and distance learning options, allowing students to choose a format that fits their schedule.
Sources: SD DLR — RE License Types & Requirements.
The 90-hour pre-licensing requirement consists of a 60-hour Basic Principles course and a 30-hour Course for New Affiliates. Most people complete the coursework within a few months, though some online self-paced formats can be finished more quickly. Course access periods vary by provider, and candidates should confirm the access window when enrolling.
Sources: Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC) — Worksheet A (IN2061, May 2023).
Texas requires 180 classroom hours of qualifying education across six 30-hour courses. TREC rules cap daily course instruction at 12 hours, so each 30-hour course requires multiple days to complete. Most students balancing other commitments finish the full 180 hours within a few months, depending on their study pace and schedule.
Sources: TREC — Become a Sales Agent; TRERC — Getting a Texas Real Estate License.
The Utah Division of Real Estate requires 120 hours of approved pre-licensing education but does not publish a completion-time estimate. Most candidates complete the coursework within a few weeks to a few months, depending on whether they study full time or part time. The state allows up to one year from the education completion date to pass the licensing exam and submit the license application.
Sources: Utah Division of Real Estate — Sales Agent Licensing.
Vermont requires 40 hours of prelicensing instruction for both salesperson and broker licensure. The state does not mandate a minimum completion pace or mandatory live-instruction hours, so online self-paced courses can be completed according to the student's own schedule. Most students finish the coursework within a few weeks, though the timeframe depends on individual availability and pace.
Sources: Vermont Statutes, Title 26, Chapter 41, § 2292 (Eligibility) — Vermont General Assembly.
The Virginia salesperson pre-licensing course is 60 hours, and completion time varies by study pace and schedule. Most part-time candidates complete the coursework within a few weeks, while those studying full-time can finish more quickly. Online self-paced formats allow students to progress at their own rate.
Sources: VA DPOR — Real Estate Board.
Washington requires 90 hours of pre-licensing education: a 60-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and a 30-hour Real Estate Practices course. Instructor-led courses typically take several weeks, while self-paced online courses can be finished more quickly by disciplined students. Education must be completed within 2 years before applying for the exam.
Sources: WA DOL — Managing Broker License; WA DOL — Get RE Broker License.
West Virginia requires 90 clock hours of pre-licensing education for salesperson applicants, equivalent to 6 college credit hours. The completion time depends on the study pace and course format chosen. Most people finish the coursework within a few months, with online self-paced courses offering the most flexibility. The course must be completed within the 3-year period preceding the application date.
Sources: WV REC — Pre-Licensing Education.