How do I get my MLO license?

There are 6 steps you need to take to get your Mortgage Loan Originator license:

  • Step 1: Apply for your NMLS Unique ID Number
  • Step 2: Complete the 20-hour MLO Pre-License Course and any additional pre-licensing training that may be required by your state
  • Step 3: Pass the SAFE Mortgage Loan Originator Test
  • Step 4: Complete Background Checks and Pay All Fees
  • Step 5: Apply for a Mortgage License Through the NMLS
  • Step 6: Associate Your NMLS Account with Your Sponsoring Broker or Lender

Find out more information about getting you MLO license in the following states:

  • California
  • New York
  • Texas
  • Florida

Related FAQs