The fastest and most affordable way to get your real estate salesperson license in Rhode Island! Here you'll learn:
Course Approval Number: TBD
Education Provider Number: TBD
Students have taken RealEstateU’s Real Estate License Courses
Rhode Island does not list any general requirements. State residents can proceed directly to the (7) steps to earn a real estate salesperson license.
Step 1: Complete a 45-hour pre-licensing education
New Rhode Island salesperson applicants must take 45 hours of sales education including three hours of a New Agency Law course. The course must be a live course, even when taken remotely, and with an approved real estate pre-licensing vendor. Your course completion certificate is valid for two years.
Step 2: Take the Lead Paint/Lead Hazard Mitigation Course
Rhode Island requires all real estate salespersons to have three hours of education in a Lead Paint/Lead Hazard Mitigation course. It’s advised to take this course with or soon after your pre-licensing education.
Step 3: Schedule the Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Rhode Island’s Department of Business Regulation (DBR) uses PearsonVUE to administer the salesperson exam. Go to www.pearsonvue.com to schedule an exam online. You can also schedule by calling (800) 274-8922.
The exam fee is $70 paid to PearsonVUE by credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. Your payment is non-refundable.
Bring to the exam center two forms of valid signature identification. Primary identification must have your photo and signature, like a state driver's license, military ID, or US passport. A secondary ID card must have your printed name and signature. You’ll also need the pre-licensing course completion certificate.
Refer to the Rhode Island Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.
Step 4: Pass the Real Estate Salesperson Exam
The Rhode Island state salesperson exam is divided into a national and state section.
The Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:
Content outlines and the number of questions for each topic are available in the Candidate Information Bulletin.
Rhode Island DBR uses a scaled score to account for variances in exam difficulty. A passing score on both sections is a minimum of 70.
You’ll be given an official score report before leaving the exam center. Passing candidates also get instructions for applying for their license. Failed scores receive diagnostic information and retake information.
You have one year from passing both sections to submit your application to the State of Rhode Island.
Step 5: Get Your Criminal History Record
All Rhode Island residents need a Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General. These background checks are conducted in person at the Attorney General’s office at 4 Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400.
Step 6: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance
All Rhode Island real estate professionals are required to carry Errors and Omissions insurance. You must carry this insurance independently. The coverage must meet the minimum limits set by the Department of Business Regulation.
Step 7: Apply for your License
Following your passing score on the state licensing exam, you have up to one year to apply for your salesperson real estate license. The Department of Business Regulation, Real Estate Section highly recommends that you apply online for your license. You can print and mail in a paper application, although it will take 7 to 10 business days for processing.
Your license application must include documentation of:
The salesperson application asks for three recommendations from Rhode Island residents who have known you for at least three years and are not related to you. Another section needs to be completed by your hiring Principal Broker.
Your license application will include two separate checks or money orders. The first check must be for $140.00 payable to the “RI General Treasurer.” The second check must be $25 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account.”
Total processing takes at least three weeks. Once the Rhode Island DBR approves your application, congratulations! You are a licensed real estate salesperson.
The RealEstateU 45-Hour Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson’s Course teaches in the following way:
You can purchase a PDF version of the course textbook for only $29!
The course textbook contains all the content covered in the course, including all the audio transcripts, infographics, and supporting documents.
Please note that the PDF textbook is sold separately and not included in the course tuition. The textbook is designed to supplement the online course and not replace it.
The textbook enables you to review the course content offline. You can also print course textbook individual lessons as needed.
My husband spotted the Real Estate U Groupon deal and he said I should look into it. Honestly at first I thought it had to be too good to be true. But after reading reviews and doing some research I said: “What the heck?!” For the price I really didn’t have much to lose.
I’m so happy I took the leap of faith! I loved the audible learning and that I could literally bring it with me wherever I went! I finished in 3 months! Trust me when I say if I can do it you can do it. I’m a very busy mother of 3 and they all have extracurricular activities, but somehow I buckled down and finished.
I did take a live test prep class at a local real estate school just to cover all bases. I reviewed all the quizzes from all the chapters to prepare. My advice would be to take your time when you test. I was so nervous but I took my time because I knew the material I just had to take my time!
Passing on my first try felt amazing!
I would not be here had I not had the amazing opportunity to complete the real estate licensing course via Real Estate U! I highly recommend the Real Estate U course. In fact my oldest son has decided to take the course as well!
Jennifer Carlman-Leising - Real Estate Agent in Texas - Keller Williams Plano, TX
I am currently working as a part time real estate agent for Century 21 APD Associates, in the beautiful city of El Paso, Texas. I wanted to get into real estate to become my own boss and I am looking forward to building a 6 figure income. I closed my first deal in October and looking to close on my second this December.
To obtain my license I chose RealEstateU. The courses were extremely helpful in passing state and national exam on my first try. I like the fact that I could study at my pace and I was able use my mobile to access my courses when on the road or when waiting on doctor appointments with my children.
I was able to go back and listen again and again to the parts that I did not get from the beginning. This is something that wouldn't have been provided by being in a classroom setting. If you are looking to obtain your license just be persistent and don't give up on your dream! I was able to invest in this course and more than tripled my return on the first home which I sold short after I obtained my real estate license.
If this is something you think you'll enjoy try it out and take the risk. Why not risk on something that has the potential to double or triple your income on the side. Jump on the opportunity of getting your license, which honestly is the easy part. And then go all in on the process helping clients and customers get what they want, which is a great home buying/selling experience.
Frank Contreras - Real Estate Agent in Texas - Century 21 APD Associates, El Paso, TX
I (still am) a licensed auto insurance claims adjuster for a major insurance company. I held that position for 7.5 years. My family dynamic was changing and myself or my husband needed to be home more for our blended family of 5 children.
Real Estate allows me to regulate my schedule so I can dedicate time to my children and their activities. I will be working for LIV Realty in Frisco, TX and will be working full-time. My goals moving forward are to continue learning, networking and growing towards my own business. I plan on becoming a broker one day.
I loved the ease of the course. I was able to navigate easily and picked up where I left off each day. If I had any questions I received a response back very quickly from the RealEstateU support team. I was able to study and retain information easily. The workbook and the glossary were easy to follow and allowed me to print them to take with me in the event that I was not able to use my laptop. I loved that the course was accessible from a cell phone as well. We had a planned trip across the United States and I was able to study on my cell phone as we travelled 9 states. I have already recommended the course to a few of my friends!
Candice Jackson Tate - Real Estate Agent in Texas - LIV Realty in Frisco, TX
Thank you so much for your help over the last few weeks. I rushed to get through the course because I am so excited to start working in the field as a NYS realtor. I thought this would have a negative impact on me toward the end when I was ready to test, but I feel I retained a lot of the info and am happy with the results.
Melissa Colletti - Real Estate Salesperson New York - Keller Williams Realty Lancaster, NY
Real estate salespersons can make unlimited income. Your take-home pay depends on how many deals you handle; the more you source and close, the more you earn!
Stop spinning your wheels in a dead-end 9-5 job. Be your own boss, choose your schedule and set your hours. Your Principal Broker can’t tell you when and where to work.
Use a license to earn side income. Or, slowly build a real estate business as you move from your current career. You can always go straight to full-time and realize the full earnings potential of real estate.
Holding a Rhode Island real estate license enables you to sell or lease real estate throughout the state.
All students have 12 months from the time of purchase to complete the RealEstateU 45-hour Rhode Island Real Estate Salesperson Course (including the course exams).
All courses are eligible for a refund within 30 days of purchase if the student has not completed more than 50% of the course. All refunds issued are subjected to a $20 admin charge. Please read our Terms and Conditions for more details.