How do I get my real estate salesperson license?

All states have specific requirements when it comes to getting a real estate license. You will have to be 18 years or older and satisfy the education requirements and license applications steps.

Please click on one of the state below so you see exactly what you will need to do to get your license.

Alabama

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Alabama?

General Requirements

A salesperson applicant in Alabama must:

• Be at least 19 years of age
• Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or legally present in the U.S.
• Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.
• Show proof of high school graduation or its equivalent
• Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude
• Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years

If you meet these qualifications, you can earn your Alabama real estate salesperson's license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Complete the 60-Hour Alabama Pre-license Education Course

Alabama salesperson license applicants must complete an approved 60-hour pre-license course before taking the state licensing examination.

Applicants can take the course as classroom learning or as a distance learning course. Many choose to do the pre-license course online so they can work at their own pace.

The 60-hour pre-license course will cover national and state topics pertinent to real estate. It will cover topics such as property ownership, land use regulations, financing, principles of agency, Alabama laws and regulations, licensing requirements, and disciplinary procedures.

You must complete your salesperson pre-license course within one year from the date you start it, including taking and passing its final exam. The state requires candidates to take regular incremental assessments plus the final exam and earn a minimum course grade of 70% to pass.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

Once you successfully pass the 60-hour course with at least a 70%, the course administrator will submit the course credit to the Alabama Real Estate Commission (AREC). You must wait for your exam eligibility to be submitted before scheduling the course.

Upon receiving your confirmation of exam eligibility and your identification number, you'll get a confirmation notice from the state's exam administrator PSI to schedule your test.

You must schedule and pass the state exam within six months of completing the 60-hour licensing course.

To schedule an exam online with PSI, go to https://schedule.psiexams.com. Otherwise, you can schedule over the telephone by calling PSI at 888-818-5824 between the hours from 7 am-9 pm Monday-Thursday, 7 am-7 pm on Friday, and 8:30 am-5 pm on Saturday. PSI accepts credit cards for online and phone scheduling.

You have the third option to mail in a registration form included in PSI's Candidate Handbook. If you choose this option, you can pay with a cashier's check or money order. You must wait two weeks for the application to be processed before calling PSI to schedule the exam.

The exam cost of $77 is paid to PSI.

If you must cancel or change your exam reservation, you must do so two business days before the exam by calling 888-818-5824. If you fail to call and change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Bring with you to the exam two forms of signature identification. Primary identification must be government-issued and have your photo, such as a state driver's license, military ID, or U.S. passport. A secondary ID card must have your printed name and signature, like a U.S. Social Security card, debit or credit card, or another form of primary ID.

Refer to theAlabama Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Alabama state exam has a National portion and a State portion. The questions are mixed and will not appear as separate sections. The total time allowed is 3.5 hours.

About the salesperson real estate exam:

1) The state portion has 40 multiple-choice questions and may include five "pretested" questions that will not count towards your score. These questions are not identified.
2) The national portion is based on 11 content areas and has 100 multiple-choice questions. There may be five "pretested" questions that will not count towards your score. These questions are not identified.

You can see the specific breakdown of the number of questions asked in each topic area in the Candidate Handbook.

Immediately upon exam completion, you will report to the testing supervisor for the score report. Due to the differences in difficulty with the different forms of the exam, Alabama's state exam reports a scaled score. The scaled score reported to candidates is not the number of questions answered correctly nor the percentage of questions you answered correctly. To pass the salesperson exam, you need a scaled score of at least 70.

If you pass the exam, you will receive instruction for applying for an Alabama Temporary Real Estate License.

If you fail, your score report will have diagnostic scoring information and information on reapplying.

Step 4: Apply for a Temporary Alabama Real Estate License

Once you pass your state exam, you have 90 days to apply for the Temporary Salesperson's License, starting with the day you pass the exam.

You need the following to complete the application:

• Proof of age
• Proof of high school education or its equivalent
• Proof of state residency
• Submit fingerprints for federal and state criminal background check (see details in next step)
• Alabama non-residents must submit Consent to Jurisdiction Form

The fee for the temporary real estate salesperson license totals $210. It includes a $150 license fee, $30 research and recovery fee, and $30 recovery fund fee.

Once your active license is issued to your qualifying broker, you can begin to engage in real estate business.

Step 5: Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check

Alabama requires all applicants to submit fingerprints for a federal and state background check. The Commission exclusively uses the processing company Gemalto.

The applicant must coordinate their application submission with their fingerprint submission as the Commission will only have access to the background check information for 30 days. Therefore, the Commission strongly recommends applicants submit their application on the same day as they submit their fingerprints.

Find full fingerprint scanning and processing instructions at www.aps.gemalto.com. Make sure the name you submit is the same as the one as your driver's license. The fingerprinting fee is $48.25, payable online with a credit or debit card during registration. You can pay at the fingerprint site with a money order or cashier's check.

Step 6: Take a 30-hour Post-Licensing Course

After the Alabama Real Estate Commission receives your application and background check results, it will issue a temporary license good for one year. To receive a permanent active license, you must complete an additional 30 hours of post-licensing education. The 30-hour Post Licensing Education focuses on the operations involved in a real estate practice.

Note: your active temporary license is only good for six months; after that, it will be classified as inactive.

Step 7: Apply for Permanent License

Once your post-licensing hours are completed, you must submit an Application for Real Estate Salesperson's Original License by logging into Online Services or printing one from the commission website. Your permanent license will be issued directly to your supervising qualifying broker.

Congratulations! You are now able to practice as a real estate salesperson in Alabama.

Alaska

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Alaska?

General requirements

Anyone who wants to hold an Alaska real estate license must be at least 19 years of age and not be under indictment for a felony or crime that could impact their ability to competently practice real estate.

If you meet this basic qualification, you can earn an Alaska salesperson license in (6) steps.

Step 1: Take the 40-hour Pre-licensing Education

All new salesperson candidates must take 40 hours of pre-licensing education from an approved education provider. During your course, you will learn about real estate practice, federal and state real estate regulations, real estate financing, and other essential topics for working as a salesperson. An online course is the fastest and easiest way to complete your pre-licensing education requirement.

Upon completion, you will receive a course completion certificate that is good for 18 months.

Step 2: Schedule the Licensing Exam

Pearson VUE administers Alaska's Real Estate Salesperson License Exam. You can schedule your exam directly by visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling (800) 274-5592. All applicants must make an exam appointment.

The non-refundable exam fee is $100. Any changes to your exam appointment day must be made 48 hours in advance, or you will forfeit the fee. You directly pay Pearson VUE the exam fee. Pearson VUE accepts credit card, money order, company check, voucher, or electronic check.

Bring to the test center two forms of identification in English. One form of identification must be a photo-bearing government-issued ID. Test centers are available in Juneau, Anchorage, Bethel, Fairbanks, Homer, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Palmer, Seward, and Sitka.

Refer to the Alaska Candidate Bulletin for more information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Pass the Licensing Exam

The Alaska state salesperson exam is divided into two sections: general and state law. Both sections are multiple-choice.

The Alaska Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

• National section of 80 questions.
• State section of 40 questions.
• Up to 5 experimental questions per section that do not count for your score.
• You have four hours in total to complete both parts of the exam.

Alaska uses a scaled score on its licensing exam. Scaled scores are intended to compensate for variations in exam difficulty and run from 1 to 100. The number does not reflect the actual number of questions asked or passed. A passing score on the salesperson exam is 75.

You will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail” before leaving the center. Any failed scores will include diagnostic information. If you fail one section and not the other, you still must retake the entire exam. Your exam results are valid for six months.

Step 4: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance

All real estate salespersons are required to carry errors and omissions insurance in Alaska. The policy must meet the minimum standards of coverage as detailed in Article 4 of these centralized licensing regulations.

Alaska does offer a group policy through RISC. Their policies vary by the kind of coverage in its limits. The fee you pay also varies depending on when you enroll. For example, the residential sales coverage only policy starting in January 2021 cost $450. Again, you can select a private carrier as long as the policy meets the required minimum standards.

Step 5: Be hired by an Alaska broker

All Alaska salespersons must work under the supervision of a licensed Alaska broker. A broker must agree to hire you before submitting your license application, as their information is required on your application form.

Step 6: Apply for an Alaska Salesperson Real Estate License

After passing the exam, you have six months to apply for your salesperson license. Alaska gives salespersons the option to use an online application or a paper application. For online applications, follow the instructions to create an account and start the process.

The initial application fee is $200. Your initial licensure also charges a $140.00 license fee and a $50 recovery fund fee, for a total of $390.00. You can pay your fees using a credit card.

Submit with your Alaska salesperson application your:

• Original exam score showing a passing score within the last six months
• Certificate of completion for pre-licensing education
• Proof of errors and omissions insurance
• Any documentation as required to any positive answers in Part IV of the application

It can take the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development several weeks to process your salesperson application. Once the application has been reviewed and you have paid the license fee, the license will be issued and sent to you. Congratulations, you are now an Alaska real estate salesperson!

Step 7: Post-licensing education

Be aware that all new licensees must take 30-hour post-licensing education within one year of licensure to maintain an Alaska salesperson license. These 30 hours are in addition to the 20 hours of continuing education required for your first renewal.

Your deadline for completing this education is listed on your individual license. If you fail to submit proof that you have taken the post-licensing education, you will be required to pay a license reinstatement fee.

Arizona

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Arizona?

General Requirements:

All applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Arizona has no other general requirements.

There are (7) steps to accomplish to get your Arizona real estate salesperson's license.

Step 1: Complete the 90-Hour AZ Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Courses

The Arizona Real Estate Commission requires applicants to complete a 90-hour pre-license education course. The course may be taken in person or online, as long as an approved course provider administers it.

In Arizona, your course completion certificate is good for ten years.

You'll earn your Pre-licensure Education Certificate as soon as you pass each final exam.

Step 2: Submit an Exam Application For Real Estate and Schedule Your State Exam

Once you complete the 90-hour Arizona Pre-licensure course, you can then apply to take the state exam.

Arizona has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the exam. The exams must be done in-person and are given in Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson, and Yuma by appointment only.

To schedule your exam, visit www.pearsonvue.com/az/realestate. First-time users will need to create an account.

You can also opt to schedule your exam by calling (888) 405-5776.

All exam reservations must be made at least 24 hours in advance. You will need to supply your full legal name, Social Security number, payment method, and pre-licensure school name and approval number.

The Arizona Real Estate Salesperson exam fee is $75 per attempt. PearsonVUE accepts debit cards, credit cards, electronic checks, or vouchers.

Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam

The Arizona state licensing exam is a single comprehensive exam specific to real estate in Arizona.

The exam is 180 questions with 15 pretest questions, for a total of 195 questions. You will have 300 minutes, or five hours, to complete the test.

You must answer 75% of the 180 questions correctly to pass the exam. You will receive your exam results at the testing center immediately after you complete the exam. A passing score means you will also be given instructions for applying for your license.

Exam sites are located in Chandler, Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson, and Yuma on varying days throughout the week.

Step 4: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

All applicants must get their fingerprints taken and secure a Fingerprint Clearance Card (FCC) before applying for their license.

The Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) manages the Fingerprint Clearance Card process. The DPS fee runs $69, is non-refundable, and must be paid by cashier's check, money order, or business check with a pre-printed business address. Electronic applications also charge an additional $7.95 "convenience fee." Some fingerprinting centers may also charge a separate fee, not controlled by DPS.

According to their site, the processing time for an applicant with no criminal history can be less than ten days, depending on the current application volume. Otherwise, the process to receive your FCC could take 8-10 weeks.

You can begin the FCC application process anytime after completing your pre-license course.

Step 5: Attend and Pass a 6-hour Contract Writing Class

Before you can apply for your salesperson license, you need to take and pass a required 6-hour Contract Writing Course. The course covers three hours of Contract Law and three hours of Legal Issues.

An approved course provider must administer the course. You will receive a course completion certificate immediately upon completing the course exam.

Step 6: Apply for Your Arizona Real Estate salesperson's License

After passing the state exam, you will receive Arizona real estate license application instructions from PearsonVUE. You have one year from the date of passing your exam to apply for your license.

Online filing is the fastest way to apply for your Arizona real estate salesperson license.

Your application process will include submitting Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244). All applicants must complete it and, depending on answers, may be required to submit additional information.

The ADRE will not issue a license to a person convicted of a felony who is incarcerated, paroled or under community supervision, or on probation. The ADRE may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony or convicted of a misdemeanor offense, such as theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude.

Submitting documents disclosing disciplinary actions or criminal conviction requires the additional Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400).

In addition, your application documents must include:

• Proof of a lawful presence in the United States
• License Application
• Arizona State Exam score report
• Pre-licensure course completion certificate
• Contract Writing Course Certificate
• DPS-issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card

Include the $60 license application fee, payable to the Department with a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover card, checks, or money order.

Once all the application documents are submitted and the fee paid, the application is considered complete and is approved on inactive status.

Step 7: Find an Arizona Real Estate Broker and Activate Your License

Your last step is to be associated with an Arizona-licensed real estate broker. Once a real estate broker hires you, they must access the ADRE online system to approve your hiring. Follow the directions on your personal online home page to initiate the activation of the license pending the broker's acceptance. You can also follow instructions in Arizona's New Licensee Brochure.

Once the Arizona Real Estate Commission approves your application, your license will change to active, which will allow you to start practicing as an Arizona real estate salesperson! Congratulations!

Arkansas

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Arkansas?

General Requirements

All Arkansas salesperson applicants must have reached 18 years old to apply for a real estate license. There are no other basic requirements. If you meet this basic standard, you can receive your salesperson license by following these six steps.

Step 1: Take 60-hour Pre-licensing Course

All salesperson applicants must take a 60-hour pre-license real estate education. At least 30 of these classroom hours must be in the basic principles of Real Estate. Your coursework must be taken from an Arkansas Real Estate Commission approved school or organization or from an accredited post-secondary school, such as a college or university.

Your 60 hours certificate has no expiration date for salesperson applicants.

Step 2: Submit your Arkansas Salesperson Application

After you have successfully completed your pre-licensing course, you must submit an application to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. The AREC will approve your application so that you can schedule your salesperson exam.

Your application documents must include:

• Proof of age, such as a copy of your driver's license or birth certificate
• Proof of education requirements, such as original course completion certificate or other documentation
• FBI fingerprint card

Your application document must be notarized.

All real estate salesperson applicants are required to complete a state and federal criminal background check. The federal criminal background check will require fingerprints on fingerprint cards approved by the AREC. You must get your fingerprints and background check done before the Commission will issue an active real estate license.

There is a $22 Arkansas criminal background check fee and a $14.25 FBI criminal background check fee. The Commission advises you to pay all fees, including your $50 application fee, for a total of $86.25 payable to the AREC in a cashier's check or money order. Personal checks will not be accepted.

As long as there are no delays in the completion of your application, the AREC says the usual turnaround time to receive your Certificate of Eligibility is 5 to 10 business work days.

Step 3: Schedule the state licensing exam

The Arkansas Real Estate Commission has contracted with Pearson VUE to administer the state licensing exam. You will receive a Certificate of Examination Eligibility in the mail from the Commission. You must have this before you schedule your exam. The certificate is good for only one year.

Online scheduling is the fastest and easiest way to schedule your state exam. The exam fee is $75 and must be paid at reservation using a credit card, debit card, voucher, electronic check.

Find the test center nearest you by going to the Pearson VUE test center locator or by looking at the back of the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Step 4: Pass the exam

On exam day, remember to bring with you two forms of identification. One ID must be a government-issued with your photo and signature. In addition, bring your Certificate of Examination Eligibility. Without these, you will not be able to take your exam.

About your Arkansas salesperson licensing exam:

1) You must pass both sections of the exam with a scaled score of 70.
2) The general or national portion of the exam has 80 questions.
3)The state portion of the exam has 30 scored questions.
4)The exam can have up to 10 pretest questions that are unscored and not identified. Your answers to these questions do not impact your score.
5) You have a total of (4) hours to complete the exam.
Refer to the Candidate Information Handbook for specific content outlines and information on the number of questions under each section.

The exam uses a scaled score, which takes into account variations in question difficulty on the exam. The scores do not represent the number of questions asked or how close you came to passing.

When you pass, you receive a score report and information on how to apply for your license. If you fail, your score report will have a numeric score and diagnostic information about the general section of the exam and how to apply to retake the test. You have six months to retake any failed portion of the exam.

Step 5: Send licensing fee and additional documents

You will have 90 days after passing your state licensing exam to send your licensing fee and other forms to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission. The licensing fee is $50 and the Recovery Fund fee is $25, for a total of $75 made payable to the AREC. You must also submit all pages of your score report and a signed post-license requirement notice.

If you fail to send your fees and paperwork within 90 days, you will be required to start the application process.

Step 6: Post-license education

Once you are an approved new salesperson, you must take 18 classroom hours of post-licensing education within six months of your licensing date. This post-license education requirement is independent of any continuing education requirements. You must take your course hours with EC approved course provider.

Congratulations, you are now a licensed Arkansas real estate salesperson!

California

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in California?

In order to obtain your California real estate salespersons license, you will have to complete the following steps:

Step 1: Complete 3, 45-hour courses (135 hours in total).
These courses must be approved by the California Department of Real Estate.

The 3 courses include the following:
1) Real Estate Principles - 45-hours
2) Real Estate Practice - 45-hours
3) One Elective Course - 45-hours

The courses can be taken in a classroom setting or online.

Many students prefer to take the course online, since it offers them the flexibility to take the course on their own time.
If you take the course in a classroom, you will have to abide by the school’s pre-set schedule.

At the end of each of the 3 courses is a final exam that must be passed in order to get your Course Completion Certificate.

Step 2: Apply for the State Salesperson Exam
You will need to complete and submit either a Salesperson Examination Application or a Combined Salesperson Examination and License Application using the Real Estate eLicensing System..

We recommend that you submit the Combined application if you have a sponsoring broker. This will allow you to save time, as you will be submitting both your exam application and your license application upfront.
If you do not have a sponsoring broker when it comes time to apply for the State exam, you will have to complete the Salesperson Examination Application. After you pass the State exam, you will then have to submit a separate License Application.
The State exam costs $60 per attempt, which must be included with your application.
You must also include copies of your 3 Course Completion Certificates, which the DRE will use as evidence that you have completed the education requirement.

Once your application is received and processed by the DRE, you will receive an Examination Schedule Notice, which includes the location, date and time of your State exam.


Step 3: Pass the State Exam
The State exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions with a passing grade of 70%


Step 4: Get Fingerprinted
You will have to get fingerprinted through the State Department of Justice Live Scan Program and pay the required $49 fingerprinting fee.

Step 5: Submit Your Salesperson License Application
If you did not previously submit a Combined Salesperson Examination and License Application, the DRE will notify you to submit the Salesperson License Application using the eLicense System.
You will have to complete the Salesperson License Application and pay the required $245 licensing fee within one year of passing the State exam.
If you have a sponsoring broker, your active real estate license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker.
If you do not have a sponsoring broker, your license will be mailed to you as a non-working status.

Colorado

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Colorado?

General Requirements

An applicant must be at least 18 years of age before applying for a license. Colorado has no other general requirements.

If you meet the basic qualification, you can earn a real estate associate broker's license in (6) steps.

Step 1: Complete pre-license education

Colorado offers two pathways to completing your pre-licensure education. You can earn a degree from an accredited university or college with a major course of study in real estate. Or, you can complete 168 hours of instruction from an accredited college, university, or approved Real Estate school.

If you choose to do 168 hours of instruction, you can opt for in-classroom instruction or distance learning. Online courses are the most convenient way to complete your 168 hours.

Colorado breaks down the 168 hours of instruction, requiring you to take the following amount of instructional hours covering:

• Real Estate Law and Real Estate Practice: 48 hours
• Colorado Real Estate Contracts: 48 hours
• Real Estate Closings: at least 24 hours
• Trust Accounts and Record-Keeping: at least 8 hours
• Current Legal Issues: at least 8 hours
• Practical Application: at least 32 hours
The pre-license course can be taken online or in-person.

The Colorado broker course will have examinations of varying lengths spaced throughout the course. A final exam will cap the entire program.

You will receive the REC-33 Course Completion Certificate immediately after passing the final exam.

You will submit a copy of the Course Completion Certificate to the Colorado Division of Real Estate as evidence you completed the required pre-license education as part of your broker application.

Step 2: Applying for the State Exam

Apply to take the Colorado state exam after completing your pre-license education.

PSI administers Colorado's Real Estate Broker Licensure Exam. Schedule your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com or calling 1-855-744-0313. Exam centers are located throughout the state; search the website or see the Colorado Candidate Bulletin for a list of addresses.

The exam costs $44.95. You will directly pay PSI for the exam. PSI accepts credit card, money order, company check, or cashier's check.

Bring your course completion certificate with you to the exam, along with two forms of identification. One form of identification must be government-issued.

Refer to the Colorado Candidate Bulletin for more information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Colorado state broker exam is divided into two sections: general and state law.

The Colorado Broker Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1) National section of 80 questions. You must answer 60 correct to pass. The time allowed is 120 minutes.
2) State section of 74 questions. You must answer 53 correct to pass. The time allowed is 110 minutes.
The exam includes multiple-choice questions.

You will receive a score report on-screen and emailed to you immediately upon completion of the exam. The exam report will also be reported to the Colorado Division of Real Estate.

You must pass both portions of the exam before you can apply for your license. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed part. Your exam results are valid for (1) year; you must apply for your license within a year of passing both broker exam sections.

Step 4: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

All applicants must get their fingerprints taken and have a background check run through the Colorado Bureau of Investigation before applying for their license.

The state has three approved vendors to schedule and submit your fingerprints.

Note that the Division of Real Estate will not notify you of the receipt of your background check. It will be matched to your broker license application once you submit it.

Step 5: Acquire Errors & Omissions Insurance

Colorado requires all real estate brokers to have a current E&O policy before getting an active license. The state mandates an E&O policy for all real estate acts that require a license. You must submit proof of insurance with your broker license application. Learn more about the broker insurance requirements.

Step 6: Apply for Your License

You have one year after successfully passing both portions of the state license exam to apply for a broker's license with the Colorado Division of Real Estate. The state offers an online application for your real estate license.

In your application, you will:

• Show proof of your education, either through the REC-33 certificate from the 168-hour course or a transcript from a major course of study in real estate.
• Answer (4) background screening questions. If applicable, you will be asked to submit any court documentation and sworn statements regarding any positive responses.
• Verification of any license held in any regulated profession in any other state
• Provided detailed proof of insurance information
• Pay the $200 broker application fee
See the full instructions for completing your broker application.

You must have an employing broker to transact real estate in the state. Once you are hired, congratulations! You are now a Colorado real estate broker.

Congratulations, you are now a licensed Colorado real estate broker!

Connecticut

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Connecticut?

General requirements

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection will not issue a license to anyone under 18 years of age. If this applies to you, earn your license and start practicing real estate in five steps.

Step 1: Take 60-hour Pre-license Course

Your first step in the journey towards earning your license is to take 60 hours of classroom instruction in Real Estate Principles and Practices. The real estate course must be from a state approved school. Many candidates opt to take the course online for its affordability and flexibility with their schedule.

After you pass the course final exam, you will earn your course completion certificate essential for the application process.

Step 2: Submit the License Application

The Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection has contracted with PSI to manage the licensing process. Your next step will be to submit a notarized license application with all documents, including course completion certificate, to PSI. The Candidate Information Handbook has the Real Estate License Application.

Connecticut requires all applicants to disclose their Social Security Number. If you do not, your application may not be processed.

Documents to include in your application include:

• Original Real Estate Principles & Practices Course Completion Certificate
• Check or money order for $80.00 made payable to PSI Examination Services

Completed applications are to be mailed to:

PSI Examination Services
3210 East Tropicana Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89121

Step 3: Be Approved and Schedule the Exam

After your application is processed and approved, you will receive an examination eligibility postcard with scheduling instructions. Your eligibility to take the exam lasts for one year.

The licensing exam fee is $65 made payable to PSI. All registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

PSI highly recommends online scheduling as the fastest and most convenient way to scheduling your exam. Visit www.psiexams.com to register. You can call (800)-733-9267 for telephone scheduling. You’ll need a valid credit card. Another option is to do a standard mail registration. Details are in the Candidate Information Handbook.

Exam locations are in West Hartford, Milford, Auburn, Charlestown, Fall River, and West Springfield. Full addresses are in the Candidate Handbook.

Step 4: Take and Pass the Licensing Exam

You must pass both parts of the state exam within one year of your testing eligibility. Otherwise, you must reapply with PSI.

Bring with you on test day two forms of identification. One must be government-issued and have your photo and signature, such as driver’s license, passport, or military ID card.

The state licensing exam has two portions. About the exam:

1) You must score at least 70% to pass.
2) The general or national section has 80 questions and you have 120 minutes to complete.
3) The state section has 30 questions, and you have 45 minutes to complete it.
4) There may be 5-10 experimental questions that do not count against your score or allotted time.
The Candidate Information Handbook has a breakdown of content for each section and the percentage of questions asked in each area.

Your score will be given to you immediately on the computer screen. You’ll also be given an unofficial score report. If you do not pass, you will get a diagnostic report showing strengths and weaknesses.

Once you pass, you have two years from the most recently passed portion to activate your license. Keep in mind all real estate salesperson licenses annually expire on May 31. If you activate from March 1-May 31, your license will be given an expiration date for the following year.

Step 5: Activate your license

After passing the state licensing exam, you have up to (2) years to activate your salesperson license. You'll need a sponsoring broker and to pay the licensing fee of $285. Once you do that, you'll be able to practice as a Connecticut real estate agent. Congratulations!

Delaware

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Delaware?

General requirements

Delaware requires salesperson applicants to be at least 18 years of age. They must also be of good character, with no criminal conviction records related to their ability to practice real estate.

It takes four steps to earn your Delaware real estate salesperson license if you meet this qualification.

Step 1: Take the 99-hour salesperson pre-license course

All new salesperson candidates begin with a 99-hour salesperson pre-license course intended to provide the essential background for real estate work in Delaware. A state-approved education provider must administer the course.

The salesperson course will cover general topics like real property definitions, property valuation, contracts, and financing. It will also teach Delaware-specific real estate topics on licensing requirements, Delaware laws on real estate, and the Commission. The topic and hour break downs are as follows:

• Real Estate Orientation (3 hours)
• Real Estate Sales (36 hours)
• Real Estate Law (33 hours)
• Real Estate Mathematics (24 hours)
• Review for Sales, Law, Mathematics (3 hours)
• Total minimum: 99 hours

Each central topic area (real estate sales, law, and mathematics) will wrap with an examination. You must pass each exam with a minimum score of 70%. You can retake each exam once.

Step 2: Schedule the state exam

PearsonVUE administers the state licensing exam for Delaware. The fastest and easiest way to schedule an exam appointment is online at www.pearsonvue.com/de/realestate. New users will create an account. All exams must be scheduled at least 24 hours in advance. For alternative scheduling, call (800) 274-2604. You'll need your certificate of pre-licensing education, contact information, and date of examination to register.

The examination fee is $85, paid directly to PearsonVUE at the time of reservation. PearsonVUE accepts credit cards, debit cards, vouchers, or electronic checks. All exam fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. Any changes must be made 48 hours in advance.

Refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin or search online for test centers closest to you.

Step 3: Pass the state licensing exam

On test day, bring two forms of valid signature identification to the test center. The primary ID must be issued by the government and have your photo. All IDs must be in English. An example would be a state driver's license, US passport, or military ID card.

Your Delaware salesperson licensing exam has:

1. A national section with 80 questions.
2. A state section with 40 questions.
3. Around 5-10 experimental questions per section that do not impact your score.
4. You have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

PearsonVUE publishes content outlines that reveal what you'll see on each section of the exam.

Immediately upon finishing your exam, you'll get a score report. Passing candidates will receive information on applying for a license. Failing candidates will see diagnostic information and details on retaking the exam. You have up to three attempts in one year to pass both exam sections.

PearsonVUE uses a scaled score from 0 to 100 to determine a passing score. The scaled score accounts for variations in difficulty across various exam forms. A scaled passing score is 70 and above.

Step 4: Apply for your Delaware salesperson license

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing only accepts online applications. You must first create a DELPROS account. When you go to the website, click on the "register" button to start an account for new users. Existing users can enter log-in information on the right.

The DELPROS system will save your incomplete application for six months. After that, you'll need to start the application process again. The online system enables you to check your application's status using the "View Application Status" feature.

For your online application, you'll need to upload:

• A Statement of Broker of Record signed by the broker of record for the office you will work under.
• Any legal documents showing a name change if any other documents show a different name from your application.
• The pre-license course completion certificate
• The original exam score report from PearsonVUE.

Your initial salesperson application fee is $131, paid online with a credit or debit card.

Once your application is approved, congratulations! You are qualified to practice real estate as a Delaware salesperson.

Florida

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Florida?

Before applying for your real estate sales associate license in Florida, you must meet the following requirements:

• At least 18 years of age

• Able to provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent

• Possess a Social Security number

If you meet these three requirements, you will need to take the following steps to get your Florida real estate sales associate license:

Step 1: Complete the 63-Hour Pre-License Course

First, you must complete the 63-hour Florida pre-license course.

At the end of the course is a final exam, which you must pass in order to get credit for the course. The course final exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. You must answer at least 70 out of the 100 questions correctly in order to pass.

Step 2: Apply to take the Florida State Licensing Exam

After you complete the 63-hour pre-license course, you must apply to the Florida Division of Real Estate (DRE) for authorization to take the state licensing exam.

Once your application is approved, you will receive an Authorization Letter from PearsonVUE, the state testing center which administers the exam.

Once you receive your Authorization Letter, you can then schedule your state exam by calling Pearson VUE at (888)204-6289, or go online at https://home.pearsonvue.com/fl/realestate.

Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam

The state licensing exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with a passing grade of 75%.

There is a 3.5-hour time limit for the exam.

The state licensing exam fee is $36.75 per attempt.

Step 4: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

You must get your fingerprints taken at an approved LiveScan Service Provider.

Your fingerprints will be used to conduct a background check for any prior criminal activity.

The cost to get your fingerprints taken ranges from $50 - $80, depending on which LiveScan location you use.

Step 5: Apply for Your Active Florida Real Estate Sales Associate License

Once you pass the state licensing exam and complete your background check, you will be able to download and print your inactive Florida real estate sales associate license online through the DBPR website.

In order to be eligible to receive an active Florida real estate sales associate license, you must have an employing Florida real estate broker.

You can apply for your active Florida real estate sales associate license online using the DBPR’s Online Services, or by submitting a paper application.

The application fee is $83.75.

Georgia

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Georgia?

In order to obtain your Georgia real estate salesperson license, you will have to complete the following 3 steps:

Step #1:
Complete the 75-hour Georgia pre-license course.

• The course must be approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
• The course can be taken online or in-person.
• At the end of the course is a proctored final exam. The final exam consists of at least 100 questions.
• After you pass the final exam, you will earn your Certificate of Completion for the course.
• The school will notify the Georgia Real Estate Commission that you have completed the course, which will allow you to schedule your State exam.

Step #2:
Schedule and pass the State exam.

• You can apply to take the State real estate salespersons exam online using the REAL computer application system at www.goAMP.com
• You will schedule your exam date, time, and location, and pay the required exam fee.
• The State exam must be taken at one of the four PSI testing centers in Marietta, Liburn, Macon, or Savannah.
• The State exam consists of 152 total questions, and includes a National portion and a State portion (also known as the Georgia Salesperson Supplement portion).
• Qualified Veterans may be allowed to receive preference points for the exam.
• You will receive your exam results at the PSI testing center, right after completing the exam.

Step #3:
Apply For Your License

• You can apply for your license at the PSI testing center.
• After passing the State exam, you will receive a Certificate of Accuracy Statement, which will be used when you apply for your license.
• You have the option to apply for an active or inactive license, depending on if you have a sponsoring broker.
• If you apply for a active license, you must submit the following 5 documents:
- A valid ID along with a Certificate of Accuracy Statement.
- A completed Sponsoring Broker Statement Form.
- A non-refundable license fee of $170.
- A criminal history report or Georgia Crime Information Report.
- A signed and notarized Lawful Presence Affidavit.

Once your documents are reviewed and approved you will receive your Georgia Real Estate Salespersons license!

Hawaii

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Hawaii?

General Requirements

A Hawaii salesperson applicant must meet the following criteria before applying for a real estate license:

• Be at least 18 years of age by the exam date
• Have a high school diploma or its equivalent by the exam date
• Be a US citizen or an alien authorized to work in the US by the exam date
• A Social Security Number
• Have a reputation for honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and competency.

If you meet the basic qualification, earn your Hawaii real estate salesperson’s license in (4) steps.

Step 1: Complete A 60-hour Hawaii Pre-License Education Course or Equivalent

Hawaii requires you to have pre-licensing education. This can be in the form of:

• A Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science Majoring in Real Estate or Business from an accredited college or university in the United States.
• A United States Law School Graduate
• Hold an active license within (1) year of application date from a state with similar or superior pre-licensing education requirements
• A Hawaii Pre-licensing Course from an Approved Vendor

If you decide to fulfill your pre-licensing education outside an accredited college or university, you must take the courses from Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs- Real Estate Branch approved education providers. Taking a course from a pre-approved provider is more affordable and faster than receiving a real estate degree.

The pre-license course is 60 hours of instruction covering real estate topics such as:

• An introduction to Hawaiian History
• Laws and Land Use Controls
• Hawai’i Licensing Law
• Agency
• Real Estate Contracts
• Valuation and Market Analysis
• Property Management and Leasing

See the full course curriculum and content outline, updated January 2021.

You can take the courses online or through in-person classes. Once you pass the final exam, you will receive a course completion certificate that is good for two years.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

According to Hawaii Statutes, an applicant for a salesperson's license must successfully complete the pre-licensing education and be at least 18 years of age before taking the exam. You will need to present the original pre-licensing education equivalency certificate or course completion certificate at the exam site.

PSI administers the exam on behalf of the Hawaii DCCA-Real Estate Branch. Find a testing center near you by searching the PSI website or referring to the back of the candidate handbook given to all candidates who finish the pre-licensing course.

Visit the PSI website to make an online reservation. First-time users are required to make an account. Online reservations must be made at least 24-hours before the examination date. You may also call (1-855-579-4640) to schedule your exam. Please note if you are taking the exam on the mainland, you’ll need to contact PSI to pay and schedule the exam.

The exam will cost $61 paid to PSI by major credit card.

If you must cancel or change your exam reservation, you must do so 48 hours before the exam by calling (855) 579-4640. If you do not call to change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit your exam fee. Registrars are available Monday-Friday 1:30am-4pm and Saturday & Sunday 3:30am-11:30am HST.

Bring with you to the exam two forms of signature identification. Primary identification must be government-issued, such as a state driver’s license, military ID, or US passport. A secondary ID card can be a US Social Security card, debit or credit card, or another form of primary ID. All identification must be in English.

In addition, bring a valid course completion certificate or equivalency certificate for your proof of pre-licensing education.

Refer to the Hawaii Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.


Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Hawaii state exam is divided into two sections: a general section and a state section. You must take and pass both parts of the exam.

About the salesperson real estate exam sections:

1. The general section allows 150 minutes to answer 80 questions.
2. The State section allows 90 minutes to answer 50 questions.
3. There may be 5-10 experiential questions that will not count towards your score.
You will need to pass both sections with a minimum 70% score. Immediately upon exam completion, your score will display on screen, and a report will be emailed to you. You must pass both exam sections to pass the overall exam and receive your license application.

There is not a limit to the number of retakes for the Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Exam. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed portion as long as it is within two years of passing your course completion certificate date. You must wait 24 hours before rescheduling. You will pay the $61 fee each time you retest.

Step 4: Apply for Your License

Hawaii requires real estate salespersons to apply for your salesperson license within two years of passing your exam. Applications are handed out to candidates at the testing center upon successfully passing the exam.

You may need the following to complete the application:

• Social Security Number
• An official Certification of Licensure less than 90 days old from each state outside Hawaii where you may have been licensed as a real estate broker or salesperson.
• Original "School Completion Certificate," or original "Prelicensing Education Equivalency Certificate for Real Estate License Exam."
• Any background documentation explaining any criminal convictions, charges, or deferred judgments, such as a written explanation of the incident, charging documents, and a sentencing order.

Your specific licensing fee will be printed on your score report. Hawaii renews licenses on a two-year period (biennial), so your fee could vary depending on when you pass the exam. Charges may include:

• Application fee: $25
• License fee $42
• Original license fee: $74 in first year of biennial/ $42 in second year of biennial
• Education fund: $68
• Recovery fund: $84

The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs-Real Estate Commission reviews applications at its meetings. Once approved, you are able to practice as a real estate salesperson in Hawaii. Congratulations!

Idaho

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Idaho?

General Requirements

An Idaho salesperson applicant must:

• Be at least 18 years of age
• Hold a high school diploma or equivalent
• Be legally present in the United States

If you meet these basic qualifications, you can earn a real estate salesperson’s license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Complete pre-license education

Idaho salesperson candidates must first take pre-licensing education which is broken down into two modules. You must take these courses from an approved education provider.

Module 1 is a 45-hour course on the fundamental real estate concepts. Module 2 is a 45-hour course on the study of the knowledge and applied skills involved in listing, selling, buying, and closing property.

The pre-license course can be taken online or in person. Your pre-license education is valid for three years.

Step 2: Applying for the State Exam

PearsonVUE administers Idaho's Real Estate Salesperson License Exam. Schedule your exam directly by visiting www.pearsonvue.com or calling 1-(877)-540-5833. Exam centers are located throughout the state and surrounding states; search the website or see the Idaho Candidate Bulletin for a list of addresses.

The non-refundable exam fee is $80. You will directly pay PearsonVUE for the exam. PearsonVUE accepts credit card, money order, company check, voucher, or electronic check.

Bring your course completion certificate with you to the exam, along with two forms of identification. One form of identification must be government-issued.

Refer to the Idaho Candidate Bulletin for more information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Idaho state salesperson exam is divided into two sections, general and state law, and uses multiple-choice questions.

The Idaho Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. National section of 80 questions and 150 minutes to complete.
2. State section of 40 questions and 90 minutes to complete.
3. You have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

Idaho uses a scaled score for the state licensing exam. Scaled scores run from 1 to 100, and are intended to compensate for variations in exam difficulty. It is not a reflection of the actual number of questions asked or passed. A passing score on the salesperson exam is 70.

You will receive a score report on-screen and an official score report will be printed for you at the test center. Any failed scores will include diagnostic information.

You must pass both portions of the exam before you can apply for your license. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed part within (1) year of the date you passed the other section. Your exam results are valid for (1) year.

Step 4: Get Fingerprinted For Background

All applicants must get their fingerprints taken and have a background check run before applying for their license. The Idaho Real Estate Commission highly recommends scheduling your fingerprinting to be done through PearsonVUE in conjunction with your licensing exam.

Background checks can take anywhere from one week to 12 weeks to process, with electronic fingerprint cards being the fastest.

PearsonVUE will allow you to make your fingerprint appointment reservation once your exam appointment is confirmed. The fingerprinting fee is $61.25. It must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, or electronic check.

Make the fingerprint appointment online at https://pearsonwest.ibtfingerprint.com. You can also contact IdentoGo® by Idemia at (866) 761-8069. Make sure you select the correct license type to avoid any delays in receiving your fingerprint results.

Your fingerprint and background check results are only good for six months.

Step 5: Sign up for IREC online services

Create an account with the Idaho Real Estate Commission for their online services. Here you will be able to track your license history and education records. Creating your account will be essential for checking your fingerprint status. When you see the message, “RES-OK,” your fingerprints have cleared. You cannot submit your license application until your background check clears.

Step 6: Acquire Errors & Omissions Insurance

Idaho requires all real estate salespersons to have a current E&O policy before getting an active license. The state mandates an E&O policy for all real estate acts that require a license. The IREC has a group policy held with Rice Insurance Services, or you may be covered under a firm policy at your brokerage.

Step 7: Apply for Your License

Once you have completed all steps above, you are ready to submit the license application. The fee is $160. IREC will not process an application that is missing any documentation.

In your application, you will need:

• Show proof of your pre-licensing education
• High school diploma, equivalency certificate, or transcripts
• Proof of legal U.S. presence

You must affiliate with a broker to transact real estate in the state. Give the IREC at least ten business days to process your application. Go to IREC online services to track your status. Once the license is approved, your license will be issued on inactive status. Your designated broker must add you to your brokerage to activate the license. After that final step, you are now an Idaho real estate salesperson. Congratulations!

Illinois

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Illinois?

General Requirements

1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Have a high school diploma or general education development (GED) diploma.
3. Have a Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer ID number.

If you meet these qualifications, earn your Illinois real estate broker's license in five easy steps.

Step 1: Complete the pre-license course

Sign up for the Illinois 75-hour Pre-license Broker Course. Select one from the state's list of approved education providers.

The curriculum is broken into two courses: Broker Pre-License Topics (60 hours) and Broker Pre-License Applied Real Estate Principles (15 hours). The course has a required final exam with a minimum passing score of 75% to complete the pre-license education course.

Step 2: Applying for the State Exam

You have up to two years after completing your pre-license course to apply to take the Illinois state exam.

PSI administers Illinois's Real Estate Broker Licensure Exam. Schedule your exam directly by visiting http://www.psiexams.com/ or calling 855-340-3893. The broker exam fee is $55. You will directly pay PSI for the exam.

Refer to the Illinois Real Estate Commission License Examination Candidate Bulletin for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Illinois broker licensure exam is divided into two sections. These include:

1. National section of 100 items. A passing score is a scaled score of 75 points.
2. State section of 40 multiple-choice items. A passing score is a scaled score of 75 points.

The total time allowed is 3.5 hours.

Students must pass both portions to pass the overall exam. When you pass, the score report will include license application instructions.

Step 4: Find a Sponsoring Managing Broker

In Illinois, all brokers must work under the supervision of a Managing Broker. You will need to be sponsored by a Managing Broker to submit your license application.

Step 5: Apply for Your License

You have one year after successfully passing the state license exam to apply for a broker's license with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) using the Online Services Portal.

Your application must include:

• If applicable, any court documentation and sworn statements regarding any positive responses on the screening form
• Verification of any license held in any regulated profession in any other state
• Information about your sponsoring broker
• Your official score report from PSI
• The initial application fee of $125

Once IDFPR approves your applications, you’re ready to practice real estate in Illinois. Congratulations!

Indiana

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Indiana?

General Requirements

1. You must be at least 18 years old to apply.

2. Earn a high school diploma or GED.

3. Have not been convicted of any crime that impacts your potential to practice competently, shows potential for public endangerment, or would be cause for disciplinary sanctions under Chapter 11 Professional Licensing Standards of Practice, section IC25-1-11-5 of the Indiana Code.

Step 1: Complete the 90-Hour Indiana Pre-License Broker Course

Take and complete the 90-Hour Indiana Pre-License Broker course from one of the Indiana Real Estate Commission’s approved education providers. The pre-license course can be taken online or in-person.

Spaced throughout the course are three exams. You must pass these with at least a 75% to successfully complete the broker pre-licensure course.

After passing the third course exam, you will earn your course completion certificate necessary for the State Exam and license.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

Schedule your Indiana state licensing exam within one year after completing your 90-hour pre-license course.

PSI conducts Indiana's Real Estate Broker Licensure Exam. Visit http://www.psiexams.com/INRE or call 1-800-733-9267 to schedule your exam. Each exam attempt costs $53. Note that you must pass the exam within one year of completing your course.

For more about schedules, exam security, preparation, and reporting, see the Indiana Real Estate Commission License Examination Candidate Bulletin.

Step 3: Pass the State Exam

The exam is divided into two sections: the National portion and the State portion. You must pass both sections within (1) year of the date on the course completion certificate.

The Indiana Broker Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. National section with 75 multiple-choice questions, worth 80 points. A passing score is 60 points. The time allowed is 150 minutes.
2. State section with 50 multiple-choice questions, worth 50 points. A passing score is 38 points. The time allowed is 90 minutes.

Once the exam is done, a score report will appear immediately on-screen. Results will also be emailed to you.

You can take the state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass.If you fail just one section, you can retake that section.Just remember, you must pass both sections within one year of completing the 90-hour IN pre-license course.

Step 4: Apply for Your License

Apply for a broker's license with the Indiana Real Estate Commission within a year of successfully passing the exam. For this, you will mail a paper application to the Commission.

The application requires:

• A $60.00 check or money order payable to the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency or "IPLA"
• The Course Completion Certificate from the 90-hour IN Pre-License Broker Course as proof you met the education requirements.
• The score report from the PSI state licensing exam as proof you passed the pre-licensing exam.
• Any positive responses on the screening form may require additional documents, like court records and sworn statements.
• Verification of any license held in any regulated profession in any other state.
• Information about your sponsoring broker.

Refer to the full instructions about completing your broker application.

Indiana offers active, inactive, referral, and unassigned licenses.

You’ll need a sponsoring broker to receive an active broker’s license. Without an active broker’s license, you can’t legally practice as a real estate broker in Indiana.

If you lack a sponsoring broker when you apply, your license will be given an "Unassigned" status. To change to "Active," use the online transfer system or submit the reassignment form.

Indiana won’t send you a printed license. Get your free copy by logging into the state’s website.You can also purchase a permanent license card, a wall certificate, or a digital certification for $10 each.

Congratulations, you are now a licensed Indiana real estate broker!

Iowa

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Iowa?

General Requirements

To apply for a real estate salesperson license in Iowa, you must be 18 years or older within six months of taking the licensing exam and before applying for a license.

If you meet this qualification, you can earn an Iowa real estate salesperson's license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Complete Your Pre-license Education

Iowa requires salespersons to complete 60 hours of instruction from an approved pre-license school. Online courses are the most convenient way to meet your 60-hour course requirement, although you can take them in a classroom environment.

Your pre-license course completion certificate is good for one year.

After the initial 60 hours, you also need to take three 12-hour classroom courses in the following:

• Listing Practices

• Buying Practices

• Developing Professional & Ethical Practices

The course completion certificate for these courses is good for one year.

Step 2: Complete a Background Check

Every Iowa salesperson candidate must complete a criminal records check at the state and federal levels. To start the process, create an account on My Iowa PLB. Next, follow the steps to make a background check packet request.

The Iowa Real Estate Commission will mail you a fingerprinting packet within 3-10 business days. The fee is $51 and can be paid by check or money order when submitting the packet to the IREC. You can also pay online after sending the packet; you will be notified on My Iowa PLB to make payment.

Your background check results are valid for 210 days. Aim to complete the application process within that time frame.

Step 3: Scheduling Your Salesperson Exam

Once you have completed your 60-hour pre-license course, you are eligible to take the salesperson licensing exam within one year of your course completion date.

Iowa uses PSI for the licensing exam. PSI recommends registering and scheduling your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com or calling 1-800-733-9267. The exam fee is $95.00, payable to PSI. PSI accepts credit card, money order, company check, or cashier's check. Note that cash and personal checks are not accepted.

Exam centers are located in West Des Moines, Cedar Rapids, and Council Bluffs. Search the website or see the Iowa Candidate Bulletin for a list of addresses.

Step 4: Take and Pass the State Exam

Bring your Pre-license Course Completion Certificate to the PSI test center and two forms of identification with your signature.

The Iowa state salesperson exam is divided into two sections: national and state law. You must pass both sections to be issued your salesperson license.

The Iowa salesperson exam breaks into:

1. National section with 80 questions and a passing score of 56. The time allowed is 120 minutes.
2. State section of 40 questions and a passing score of 26. The time allowed is 60 minutes.
3. There may be 5-10 experimental questions that are not scored and do not count against your score. These questions are not identified.

The Iowa Candidate Bulletin breaks down the number of questions in each section and their topics.

You will see a score report on-screen immediately upon exam completion. You’ll also leave with a printed score report. Passing candidates receive real estate license application instructions with their report. You have six months from passing to submit the required information. If you fail, you must schedule a retake with PSI.

Step 5: Buy Errors & Omissions Insurance

Proof of E&O coverage must be provided with all new license applications. A group insurance policy is available with the IREC through Rice Insurance Services Company (RISC). A basic policy cost $144 in 2021.

You are not required to use RISC, but any coverage through a private carrier requires your policy to meet the requirements of coverage in Chapter 19 of Administrative Rules 193-E.

Step 6: Find a Sponsoring Broker

All Iowa salespersons work under the supervision of a sponsoring broker. You will need an Iowa licensed broker to finish your application for the salesperson license as they must sign the Broker Certification section and your original license. No inactive licenses are issued to new candidates.

Step 7: Applying for the Salesperson License

Once you are ready to submit an application, you’ll create an account with My Iowa PLB if you have not done so yet.

You will need to submit your proof of meeting all the education requirements, from the 60-hour pre-license course to the three 12-hour courses in Listing Practices, Buying Practices, and Ethics. All of the course certificates must be dated within a year prior to your application date.

You’ll also need your passing score report for the national and state portions of the exam taken and passed within the prior six months. Additional requirements are proof of E&O insurance in Iowa, and you must have started or completed the criminal background check.

The licensing fee is $125.

The application requires a notarized signature from your sponsoring broker and yourself.

Once the Iowa Professional Licensing Bureau approves your application, congratulations! You are an official Iowa real estate salesperson!

Kansas

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Kansas?

General Requirements

In Kansas, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or equivalency certificate before applying for a salesperson license.

If you have been convicted of four or more misdemeanors or a felony, you'll need to fill out the offense report form and be reviewed by the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC.)

Otherwise, you can earn your Kansas salesperson's license in (6) steps if you meet these two basic requirements.

Step 1: Complete Pre-license Education

Kansas requires salesperson applicants to take 60 hours of pre-licensing education. You must take the 60-hour pre-licensing course from an approved real estate school.

KREC breaks the hours into two 30-hour courses, the Principles of Real Estate and the Kansas Practice Course. The first covers basic real estate, while the second is state-specific information on the daily practice of a real estate agent. The pre-license course can be taken online or in a classroom setting.

The Kansas 60-hour pre-licensing course will have a final exam to cap the coursework. You must pass the final to receive your certificate of completion. Note that you will have (6) months after completing the 30-hour Kansas Practice Course to send your license application to the KREC.

Step 2: Schedule Your State Exam

KREC has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the salesperson exam. To schedule an exam online, go to www.pearsonvue.com at least 24 hours before your desired test date. You can also schedule over the telephone by calling (800) 274-4971.

The exam fee for first-time test takers is $82 paid to PearsonVUE via credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. Any future retake exams have a $75 fee. Your payment is non-refundable.

If you must cancel or change your exam reservation, you must do so two business days before the exam by calling (800) 274-4971. If you fail to call and change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Bring with you to the exam two forms of signature identification. Primary identification must be government-issued and have your photo, such as a state driver's license, military ID, or US passport. A secondary ID card must have your printed name and signature, like a US Social Security card, debit or credit card, or another form of primary ID. You’ll also need the course completion certificate from the Principles of Real Estate Course.

PearsonVUE offers testing at locations in Hays, Overland Park, Topeka, Wichita, and Kansas City several days a week. It also occasionally offers testing in Salina, Pittsburg, Emporia, Fort Riley, and Garden City. Refer to the Kansas Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Kansas state salesperson exam is divided into a national and state section.

The Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. National section of 80 questions. The time allowed is 2.5 hours.
2. State section of 30 questions. The time allowed is 1.5 hours.

The exam includes multiple-choice questions. You are notified on-screen immediately upon completion of the exam if you have passed or failed. KREC uses a scaled score, which is neither the number nor the percentage of questions answered correctly. The scaled score is a way to account for variances in exam difficulty. A passing score on both sections is at least a 70.

You’ll also be given an official score report with your score and any diagnostic information. Passing candidates also get a copy of the license application and instructions for applying.

You must pass both portions of the exam before moving onto next steps with your license. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed part. You have six months from passing your first section to pass both sections and submit your application to the KREC.

Step 4: Order Your Background Check

All applicants must order a fingerprint and background check with a payment authorization form. Your prints will need to be done at a local police/sheriff’s department or an authorized print vendor. The non-refundable fee paid is $60 for the criminal background check and $15 for the salesperson application fee. You can pay by credit card or electronic check.

Your background check is only good for 180 days or six months. You can send the criminal history report to the KREC before or at the same time you submit the license application. The Commission advises you to time your submission carefully.

Step 5: Be Affiliated with a Kansas Real Estate Broker

All Kansas salespersons must be managed by a supervising or branch broker. You’ll need to find a broker before submitting your license application, as your supervising broker must sign your license application. An original salesperson license cannot be issued on inactive status in Kansas.

Step 6: Apply for Your KS Salesperson License

Once you have completed the steps above, prepare your license application. The license fee is $125. You have six months from the date you pass the exam to submit the application to the KREC. Certain documents are valid only for six months, such as:

• Kansas Practice Course completion certificate
• Passing score on the license exam
• KBI and FBI background reports

Be aware of these dates and submit your license application before these documents expire.

Once the Kansas Real Estate Commission approves your application, congratulations! You are now a Kansas real estate salesperson.

Kentucky

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Kentucky?

General Requirements

A real estate sales associate applicant in Kentucky must:

• Be at least 18 years of age
• Show proof of high school graduation or its equivalent

If you meet these qualifications, you can earn your Kentucky real estate sales agent license in 6 steps.

Step 1: Complete the 96-Hour Kentucky Pre-license Education Course

Kentucky sales associate license applicants must complete pre-licensing education before taking the exam. The education can be six credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college or a 96-hour pre-license course from an approved proprietary school.

Applicants can take the course as a classroom or online learning course. Many choose to do the pre-license course online because of its flexibility with their schedule.

The 96-hour pre-license course content covers national and state topics concerning real estate practice. It will cover topics such as real estate financing, contracts, property management, valuation, Kentucky real estate laws, licensing requirements, and disciplinary procedures.

Once you pass the course final, you will be issued a course completion certificate. Your education hours do not expire; there is no time limit between when you finish the education and when you can take your exam.

Step 2: Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check

Kentucky requires all applicants to request a copy of their national criminal history before registering for the real estate exam or submitting their activation paperwork. You have two choices for receiving your federal criminal history.

Contact the FBI at www.edo.cjis.gov. The report will cost $18 and will be mailed to you, usually within a week.

Contact the Kentucky State Police for fingerprinting. Visit Uenroll.identogo.com and use the service code 27GJR5. The report will cost $51.25 and be sent directly to the KREC.

Note that all national criminal history checks expire 90 days after the report date of issuance. Time your exam and national criminal history check accordingly. KREC won’t issue a license without a valid report.

Step 3: Apply for the State Exam

The KREC has contracted with PSI to administer the state licensing exam. You must have finished your course hours and initiated your FBI background check before scheduling the exam.

The Kentucky Salesperson Exam costs $100 and is payable directly to PSI. The company accepts credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover) for payment.

You’ll need your pre-license school code to schedule the exam. Codes are available from your school and also in the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin. Find the testing schedule on the PSI website or the state Candidate Handbook.

Online registration is the easiest and fastest way to set up your state licensing exam. You can also call 855-746-8176 for registration assistance. Another option is to submit a standard mail or a fax registration.

PSI runs testing centers in Bowling Green, Lexington, Louisville, Maysville, Paducah, Somerset, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Knoxville, and Nashville. You can see the testing location addresses in the Candidate Handbook.

Step 4: Take and Pass the State Exam

On exam day, you’ll need to bring two forms of identification. One must be a government-issued ID with your signature and photograph. You’ll also need a non-programmable calculator that is battery-operated, silent, and does not have an alphabetic keyboard.

The Kentucky state exam has a national portion and a state portion. A passing score is 75%. The question numbers vary according to each exam form.

About the sales associate real estate exam:

1. The national section is allocated 150 minutes to answer 80 questions.
2. The state section is allocated 90 minutes to answer 50 questions.
3. There may be five to ten "pretested" questions that will not count towards your score. These questions are not identified.

You can see the specific breakdown of the number of questions asked in each topic area in the Candidate Handbook.

Immediately upon exam completion, you will see a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” You’ll also receive an unofficial printed score report. If you don’t pass, you’ll see a diagnostic report with your strengths and weaknesses.

If you pass the exam, you will receive your license application at the PSI testing center.

If you fail, your score report will have information on reapplying. You must retake the failed portion(s) within (4) months.

Step 5: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance

Kentucky real estate licensees have the option to participate in the Kentucky Real Estate Commission’s group Errors & Omissions Insurance Policy which is carried by RISC Insurance Company. Basic plans start at $106 plus a KY and municipal surcharge. Or, you can carry E&O through a private carrier. Consult with your principal broker about which policy to obtain. You will need to submit the “Private Carrier Certification of Coverage” form. No matter where you purchase your E&O coverage, the KREC charges a $10 processing fee.

Step 6: Apply for a Kentucky Sales Associate Real Estate License

Once you pass your state exam, you have 60 days to apply for your sales associate license, starting with the day you pass the exam. The licensing fee is $130 for an active license made payable to the Kentucky Real Estate Commission via credit card, debit card, or electronic check.

You will receive your license application at the PSI Testing Center once you pass the exam. You will also get an email from the KREC within 36-48 hours of passing with application instructions for online submission.

The documentation you’ll need for your submission includes:

• Proof of high school diploma, GED, or equivalent
• Real estate education documentation via official college transcript or course completion certificate
• Background check record and fingerprint card
• Proof of E&O Insurance

KREC requires you to send all the documentation as a complete package with its 60-day timeline. It will review your application and make a decision. Once you’re approved, congratulations! You are a licensed Kentucky Sales Associate.

Louisiana

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Louisiana?

General Requirements

In Louisiana, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or equivalency certificate before applying for a salesperson license.

If you have been convicted of a felony, you’ll need to complete the felony applicant process first.

Otherwise, if you meet these two basic requirements, you can earn your Louisiana salesperson’s license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Complete Pre-license Education

Louisiana requires salesperson applicants to take 90 hours of pre-licensing education. The 90-hour pre-licensing course must be taken from an approved and state-certified real estate school.

The Louisiana Real Estate Commission may give partial credit for any courses completed five years prior to the application date depending on its completion date and relevance to the current educational requirements.

LREC may also give credit for real estate courses completed at a college or university. Applicants with college credits must submit an original transcript to the LREC with a written request to review. It may take up to 30 days for a response.

Otherwise, the pre-license course can be taken online or in person.

The Louisiana 90-hour pre-licensing course will have a final exam to cap the coursework. You must pass the final to receive your certificate of completion.

Step 2: Submit the Salesperson License Application A

Once your 90-hour course is done, you’ll need to send your completion certificate to the LREC with your Initial Real Estate Salesperson License Application – Part A. The total fees for this application are $90.

The LREC will process your application and send its approval to its testing provider, PSI.

Step 3: Schedule Your State Exam

PSI will receive your contact information from the LREC once Part A of your licensing application is approved. You’ll receive an email from PSI with the Examination Authorization Form and instructions on how to schedule your state exam. Your Examination Authorization entitles you to take the exam one time.

PSI runs testing centers in Baton Rouge, Lafayette, Lake Charles, Metairie, New Orleans, and Shreveport. The Louisiana salesperson exam may also be given at some test centers in Texas. You can see the testing locations in the Candidate Handbook or by scheduling on PSI’s website. You can also call (855) 579-4644 for registration assistance.

The Louisiana Salesperson Exam costs $85 and is payable directly to PSI. The company accepts credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover) for payment.

Step 4: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Louisiana state salesperson exam is divided into a national and state section with a total of 135 questions worth 135 points.

The Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. National section of 80 questions. A passing score is 56. The time allowed is 105 minutes.
2. State section of 55 questions. A passing score is 40. The time allowed is 75 minutes.

The exam includes multiple-choice questions.

You are notified on-screen immediately upon completion of the exam if you have passed or failed. You’ll also be given an official score report with your score and any diagnostic information. The exam report will also be reported to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.

You must pass both portions of the exam before moving onto next steps with your license. You’ll need to apply for a new examination eligibility from the LREC in the MyLREC Portal and pay a $15 re-eligibility fee before you can reschedule. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed part. You have one year from your initial exam to pass both sections before the LREC closes your application.

Step 5: Order Your Background Check

Now that you’ve passed the exam, all applicants must order the background check through Clearbox on the LREC website. Payment is accepted via credit or debit card. The name on the card must match the name on your application. The nonrefundable fee paid to Clearbox is $49 when paid online or $75 when mailed by check.

Your background check is only good for 180 days. The Commission advises you to wait to pass your real estate exam before ordering your background check. Your license must also be issued within the 180-day time frame, so time your submission with the next steps.

Step 6: Acquire Errors & Omissions Insurance

Louisiana requires all real estate salespersons to have a current E&O policy before receiving an active license. See R.S. 37:1466 for real estate licensees.

You must submit proof of insurance with your salesperson license application part B. You can either choose the LREC group policy serviced by RISC or pick an independent plan. The group policy has a $136 premium plus a $7 LREC transaction fee.

If you choose an independent E&O policy, turn in the Independent Errors & Omissions Coverage form and your declaration page.

Step 7: Submit Part B of Your License Application

As you work through Steps 5 & 6, you’ll simultaneously be working to submit your Initial Real Estate License Application - Part B. In addition to E&O insurance information, this step requires you to have a sponsoring broker who will sign and acknowledge you on the application form.

After LREC approves your initial license, you will have 180 days to complete a required 45-hour post-license education course.

Following this final step, congratulations! You are now a Louisiana real estate salesperson.

Maine

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Maine?

General Requirements

To conduct real estate services and receive compensation in Maine, you must have a real estate license. You can qualify for a sales agent license if you:

• Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
• Be a minimum of 18 years of age when applying for the license

If you meet this basic qualification, follow these (4) steps to earn your Maine real estate sales agent license.

Step 1: Take the 55-hour Sales Agent Course

All new sales agents must take a 55-hour sales agent qualifying course from an approved course provider. The course will give you an industry overview, Maine Real Estate Commission information, education about agency relationships, product knowledge, property valuation and appraisal, financing, contracts, closings, and laws governing real estate activities. See the specifics in the minimum guidelines for the Sales Agent Course.

During the course, you will take three quizzes and one final exam. You must finish the course with an overall grade of at least 75%. Passing earns you the course completion certificate essential for the next steps. You have one year after finishing the course to take your state licensing exam.

Step 2: Schedule your state exam

Maine Real Estate Commission has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the state licensing exam. The fastest and most convenient way to schedule your licensing exam is by visiting https://home.pearsonvue.com/me/realestate. You can also call 877-543-5220 for telephone scheduling.

You must make your reservation at least 24 hours before your intended test date. Test centers are available in Bangor, Presque Isle, Westbrook, Boston, Concord, and Woburn. Refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin or the website for specific addresses and test center schedules.

Your exam fee is $85 paid directly to PearsonVUE using a credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. Payment is not accepted at the test center. All testing fees are nonrefundable. If you need to change your exam date, you must do so at least 48 hours before the exam.

Step 3: Pass the state licensing exam

Bring your Course Completion Certificate from the Sales Agent course and two forms of identification to the testing center. One form must be government-issued, photo-bearing, and have your signature. The second ID must have a signature. All ID must be in English.

The Maine Sales Agent Licensing Exam has:

1. General (or national) portion. You have 2.5 hours to answer 80 questions.
2. A state or Maine Law portion. You have 1.5 hours to answer 40 questions.
3. Up to five “pre-test” questions that do not count for your score.

The Candidate Information Bulletin contains content outlines for the exam. It will also provide you with the number of questions in each topic area.

You will receive your score report at the test center. Passing candidates receive a report marked “pass” and information on the application process. Failing candidates receive a numeric score, diagnostic information for the general section of the exam, and retake information. You can retake as many times as you need as long as your Course Completion Certificate is still valid.

Maine uses a scaled score to evaluate the exams. Scaled scores are not a reflection of the number of questions or the percentage answered correctly. They are used to accommodate variations in difficulty between the various exam forms. A passing score is a scaled score of 75 and above.

Step 4: Apply for the sales agent license

You have one year after passing the Maine licensing exam to apply for your license. Maine has the option to apply online or to submit a paper application.

For your Sales Agent license application, you will need:

• Your agency affiliation information and broker authorization
• Sales Agent Course Completion Certificate
• Sales Agent Exam Score Report

The application asks for your education information, past licensing history, and authorization for a criminal record check.

The license application fee is $121 and includes your criminal records check fee. Make any checks payable to the “Maine State Treasurer.”

Please note that an approved sales agent license is valid for two years and is nonrenewable. You must work towards earning your renewable associate broker’s license during your first two years as a practicing sales agent.

Once the MREC approves your application, you are licensed as a practicing sales agent. Congratulations!

Maryland

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Maryland?

General Requirements

In Maryland, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age and have demonstrated good character and reputation.

If you meet these basic requirements, you can earn your Maryland salesperson’s license in (5) steps.

Step 1: Complete Pre-license Education

Maryland requires salesperson applicants to take 60 hours of pre-licensing education. The 60-hour pre-licensing course must be taken from an approved and state-certified real estate school.

The pre-license course can be taken online or in person.

The Maryland 60-hour pre-licensing salesperson course will have a final exam to cap the coursework. Your course provider will send your testing eligibility to PSI upon successful completion of the course. Your testing eligibility is good for (1) year after passing the course.

Step 2: Schedule Your State Exam

The MREC has contracted with PSI to administer the state licensing exam. After PSI receives your eligibility from your course provider, you will receive an email with scheduling instructions.

You’ll need to contact them to schedule your exam. Find the testing schedule on the PSI website or the state Candidate Handbook.

Online registration is the easiest and fastest way to set up your state licensing exam. You can also call (855) 744-0318 for registration assistance, submit a standard mail or an email registration.

PSI runs testing centers in Baltimore, College Park Center, Crofton Center, Hagerstown Center, Lanham Center, and Salisbury. You can see the testing location addresses in the Candidate Handbook.

The Maryland Salesperson Exam costs $44 and is payable directly to PSI. The company accepts credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover) for payment.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Maryland state salesperson exam is divided into a national and state section with a total of 110 questions worth 135 points.

The Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. National section of 80 questions The time allowed is 90 minutes and a passing score is 56.
2. State section of 30 questions. The time allowed is 30 minutes and a passing score is 21.

The exam includes multiple-choice questions.

You are notified on-screen immediately upon completion of the exam if you have passed or failed. You’ll also be given an official score report with your score and any diagnostic information. The exam report will also be sent to the Maryland Real Estate Commission.

You must pass both portions of the exam before applying for your license. You have one year from the date on your course completion certificate to pass both sections of the state licensing exam.

Step 4: Choose a Sponsoring Broker

To receive an active real estate license in Maryland, you’ll need a sponsoring licensed real estate broker. The application will require you to submit the intended broker’s registration number and branch office location, if applicable.

You can opt for an inactive license, but you won’t be able to practice real estate and earn a commission for your efforts.

Step 5: Submit Your License Application

You have one year from passing the state licensing exam to submit your licensing application before it expires. The Maryland Real Estate Commission uses an online application process. However, if you have been convicted of a criminal offense or have a previous real estate disciplinary action, you’ll need to submit a manual application.

You’ll receive an email 3-5 business days after passing the state exam with your registration number and application instructions. The original license application fee is $90 and includes the $20 Guaranty Fund payment.

Once your application is approved, and you appear in the state database, congratulations! You are now a Maryland real estate salesperson.

Massachusetts

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Massachusetts?

General Requirements

A salesperson applicant in Massachusetts must be at least 18 years of age and have a valid social security number or tax identification number. There are no other general requirements.

If you are at least 18, you can earn your Massachusetts real estate salesperson license in (6) steps.

Step 1: Complete the 40-Hour Massachusetts Pre-license Education Course

Massachusetts salesperson license applicants must take an approved 40-hour pre-license course before being approved for the state licensing examination. A board-approved real estate school must administer the course.

Applicants have the choice to complete the course as a classroom or online learning course. Many choose to do the pre-license course online because of its flexibility and affordability.

The 40-hour pre-license course content covers national and state topics concerning real estate practice. It will cover topics such as brokerage and law of agency, contracts, valuation, federal and Massachusetts laws, licensing requirements, and disciplinary procedures.

Once you pass the course final, you will be issued a Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form essential for your application. Your education is valid for two years from the certificate date.

Step 2: Obtain (3) Character Endorsements

Massachusetts requires all candidates to submit three candidate endorsements from people not related to the applicant. The endorsements also cannot be submitted from classmates in the real estate course.

Step 3: Send in Your License Application

Massachusetts requires all applicants to be approved by the Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salesperson. First you must mail in all applicable documents to the state’s testing vendor, PSI.

The documents you need are listed and found in the Candidate Information Bulletin. All documents must be included in your application when you mail it in. PSI will not process incomplete documents. Make sure to include:

• Current picture
• The $85 application fee
• Three character endorsements
• Notarized CORI acknowledgment form
• School education form

Mail your application to:
PSI Examination Services
ATTN: Examination Registration MA RE 3210 E Tropicana Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89121

Step 4: Schedule the State Exam

Once your license application is approved, you can schedule the exam. To schedule an exam online, go to http://www.psiexams.com. Online scheduling is the easiest and fastest way to book your exam. Otherwise, you can schedule over the telephone by calling (800) 733-9267 or through email at [email protected] For standard mail and fax registration options, see the Candidate Information Bulletin.

The exam fee is $85 paid to PSI via credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. If you are an active duty military or veteran, the fee is $54.

If you must cancel or change your exam reservation, you must do so two business days before the exam by calling (800) 274-7292. If you fail to call and change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Bring with you to the exam two forms of signature identification. Primary identification must be government-issued and have your photo, such as a state driver's license, military ID, or US passport. A secondary ID card must have your printed name and signature, like a US Social Security card, debit or credit card, or another form of primary ID.

Refer to the Massachusetts Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 5: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Massachusetts state exam has a general portion and a State portion. The question numbers vary according to each exam form.

About the salesperson real estate exam:

1. You must pass the state portion with a minimum score of 70%. The exam is 40 questions and you have 90 minutes.
2. You must pass the general portion with a minimum score of 70%. The exam asks 80 questions and you have 150 minutes.
3. The exam may include 5-10 "pretested" questions that will not count towards your score. These questions are not identified.

You can see the specific breakdown of the number of questions asked in each topic area in the Candidate Handbook.

Immediately upon exam completion, you will receive a score report marked “pass” or “fail.” To pass the salesperson licensing exam, you need at least a 70%.

Step 6: Receiving Your License

If you pass the exam, you will receive your Massachusetts Salesperson License immediately at the test center, as long as you’ve met the licensing requirements and paid the licensing fee. All candidates must be prepared to get their license at the testing center.

Licensing fees are prorated based on Massachusetts General Law Chapter 112, Sections 87XX and 87ZZ, and are calculated at the test center. Salesperson fees typically range from $103-150. PSI also charges a $12 licensing fee.

Cash is not accepted. License fees can be paid by credit card, personal check, cashier’s check, or money order made payable to “PSI.”

If you do not receive your license at the center for whatever reason, you will be given a License Application Instruction Form that must be mailed within 30 days.

Once you leave the test center with your license in hand, congratulations! You are a Massachusetts real estate salesperson!

Michigan

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Michigan?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Michigan real estate salespersons license.

Step #1: Complete the 40-hour pre-license course
First, you must complete the 40-hour Michigan salespersons course (pre-license course).
The course must be approved by the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA).
At the end of the course is a final exam. Once you pass the final exam, you will earn your Certificate of Completion for the course.
Your school will then notify LARA that you have completed the pre-license course.

Step #2: Apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license through MiPLUS.
First, you must setup your free MiPLUS account through the Michigan.gov website.
Once your MiPLUS account is setup, you can apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license and pay the application fee.
If you have a sponsoring broker, they can then log in to their MiPLUS account and confirm that you will work under them after you pass the state exam.
Once your application is approved, you will receive an email from PSI (the state's testing center) with your Exam Candidate ID number.

Step #3: Schedule your state exam
You must take the state exam at a PSI testing center.
You can schedule your state exam by calling PSI at (855)579-4635.

Step #4: Pass the state exam
The Michigan state licensing exam consists of 115 multiple-choice questions. You must answer at least 80 questions correctly in order to pass (70%).
If your sponsoring broker confirmed your sponsorship through MiPLUS, you will receive a pocket license at the PSI testing site right after you pass the state exam. This will allow you to start working as a real estate salesperson immediately.
If you passed the state exam, your exam information will be imported into your MiPLUS account within 48 business hours. Once LARA receives your passing exam score from PSI, they will mail your sponsoring broker a state-issued paper wall license and a pocket card. This process can take up to two weeks.
If you do not have a sponsoring broker, or your broker still did not confirm your sponsorship through MiPLUS, you will have up to one year to have your broker submit a Employing Broker Notification form, otherwise, you will have to submit a new license application and pay another license application fee.

Minnesota

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Minnesota?

General Requirements

To apply for a Minnesotareal estate salesperson license, an applicant must be at least 18 years of age. Minnesota has no other general requirements for salesperson applicants.

Follow these four steps to earn your Minnesota real estate salesperson license.

Step 1: Complete (3) 30-Hour Minnesota Salesperson Pre-license Courses

Take and pass three 30-hour education courses known as Course I, Course II, and Course III. These courses cover the real estate industry, real estate law, contracts, financing, property classification, and more.

You can take the courses online or through in-person classes, as long you take the courses from Minnesota Department of Commerce approved education providers.

You receive your course completion certificate for each course after passing its final exam.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

After completing the 30 hours of Course I, you are eligible to apply for the Minnesota Real Estate Salesperson Exam.

Visit the Pearson VUE website to find a testing center near you and to make an online exam reservation. The exam will cost $63 paid to Pearson VUE by credit card, electronic check, or voucher. You may also call (833) 273-1946 to schedule your exam.

Refer to the candidate handbook for more testing information.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Minnesota state exam is divided into two sections. The general section covers national topics and is allotted 2.5 hours to complete. The state portion covers Minnesota-specific topics and is allotted 1.5 hours to complete. You must take and pass both parts of the exam with a score of 75 or higher.

Immediately upon exam completion, candidates receive a score report marked as “pass” or “fail.” You must pass both exam sections to pass the overall exam.If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed portion.

There is not a limit to the number of retakes for the Minnesota Real Estate Salesperson Exam.

Step 4: Find a Sponsoring Licensed Real Estate Broker

You must be associated with a licensed real estate broker to qualify for a Minnesota real estate salesperson license. Find a real estate broker who will sponsor you and submit your real estate license application on your behalf. You must apply for your license within one year of passing the state exam. Some application questions may require further documentation from you.

The initial real estate salesperson license fee totals $110.

The Department of Commerce will notify your real estate broker once your application has been approved. Congratulations! You are now a Minnesota real estate salesperson.

Mississippi

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Mississippi?

General requirements

Before you can begin pursuing a Mississippi real estate salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age.

Mississippi offers resident and non-resident licenses; you must also be a bona fide state resident to earn your resident's salesperson license. For simplicity, the remaining steps assume you are a Mississippi resident seeking a resident salesperson's license.

You can earn your Mississippi real estate salesperson license (5) steps if you meet this qualification.

Step #1: Take the MS 60-hour Pre-License Course

All new real estate salesperson applicants must take 60 hours of real estate education from a college, community college, or a Mississippi-approved pre-license education provider.

If you choose to use an accredited higher education institution, you must have (2) three-credit-hour college courses specifically in real estate that could be used as part of a degree program.

Online classes are the fastest, most flexible, and affordable way to meet the 60-hour pre-licensing requirement. At the end of the course, you will take a final exam. Passing the final earns the official certificate of completion essential for a salesperson license application.

Step #2: Submit Salesperson License Application

Your next step is to submit your resident salesperson license application. The Mississippi Real Estate Commission reviews the application and will approve you to take the state licensing exam. Once approved, you have two months to take and pass the national and state-specific portion of the licensing exam. If you do not take and pass the exam within this two-month window, your forfeit licensing fee and your file will be closed.

The salesperson licensing fee is $120. The fees are made payable to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission by personal check, cash, cashier's check, or money order.

As part of the application process, Mississippi requires you to have three recommendations from real estate property owners. They should live in the state of Mississippi, but it is not required. It is required that the recommendations come from people who have owned the property for at least three years. You cannot use the same individuals that you used in section 12 of the application.

The resident's salesperson license application must also include:

• Two photos of the applicant. One photo must be a full face and one a face side profile.
• Your qualifying education certificates or original college transcript showing real estate education
• A notarization date within the last 60 days
• Information completed by your Mississippi-licensed employing broker
• Any supporting documentation related to answers to questions 13-21.

Once your application has been approved, you will receive a letter from the Commission.

Step #3: Schedule the Licensing Exam

After receiving your letter of approval from the MREC, it is your responsibility to schedule your State Licensing examination with PSI. You only have a two-month window to schedule and pass your licensing exam, or you'll have to reapply for your eligibility.

The examination fee is $75 for both portions of the test. Your registration fee is not refundable. Payment is made directly to PSI using a valid credit card.

PSI recommends online registration and scheduling as the fastest way to book your exam appointment. Visit www.psiexams.com to set your appointment and pay the exam fee. You can also take advantage of telephone registration and scheduling by calling 855-557-0620. PSI offers fax and standard mail registration. Refer to the Candidate Information Bulletin for information.

Testing centers are available in Jackson, Metairie, Baton Rouge, Mobile, and Memphis. Search on the PSI website or see the Candidate Information Bulletin for specific addresses and directions.

Step #4: Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check

All individuals licensed by the Mississippi Real Estate Commission must have a criminal history records check based on their fingerprints.

The MREC sends a fingerprint kit with a fingerprint card and the MREC authorization code along with your application approval letter. There will be instructions on how to complete the fingerprinting, a consent form, and an envelope to return the cards to the MREC. You'll need to pay a $50 processing fee to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for your background check.

Step #5: Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam

Bring to the testing center two forms of identification. One ID must be government-issued with your photo and signature. All of your identification must match the name on the approval letter from the Commission. You must bring your letter of approval from the MREC.

About the Mississippi Licensing Exam:

1. The general, or national, portion asks 80 questions. The time allowed is 2.5 hours. You must pass the national portion of the salesperson exam with at least a 70% score.
2. The state portion asks 40 questions. The time allowed is 1.5 hours. You must pass the Mississippi state-specific portion of the exam with at least a 75% score.
3. There may be 5-10 experimental questions asked during the exam. These questions are not scored and do not count against your time.

The Candidate Information Bulletin contains content outlines that list the topics on the exam and the number of questions under each topic.

You will know your score immediately after finishing the exam. You will also be given a printed unofficial score report. Anyone who fails will receive a diagnostic report showing their strengths and weaknesses by the exam type.

If you fail the state portion of the exam, you can only take this section of the exam one more time during the two months immediately following your application approval. If you fail again and need to retake it, you must wait for three months before reapplying for exam eligibility. Anyone failing the national portion can retake on an unlimited basis within the two-month window of your letter of approval.

PSI will report your passing score directly to the Mississippi Real Estate Commission. Once your background check clears and your passing score is confirmed, your real estate license will be mailed directly to your employing broker. Congratulations, you are now a Mississippi real estate salesperson.

Missouri

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Missouri?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Missouri real estate salesperson license.

Step 1: Complete the 72-Hour Pre-License Courses

The 72-hour pre-license education requirement includes two courses:

1) 48-hour Salesperson Pre-Examination course

2) 24-hour Real Estate Practice course

You must complete the 48-hour Salesperson Pre-Examination course before you can apply to take the state licensing exam.

The 24-hour course must be completed before you apply for your license.

The Missouri Real Estate Commission requires a final exam for each course (two final exams in total). You must pass the final exam before you can earn your Certificate of Completion for the course. Each final exam includes 50 multiple-choice questions with a passing grade of 75%.

Step 2: Schedule and Pass the State Licensing Exam

The State licensing exam must be taken in-person at a PSI testing center.

The State licensing exam includes a National portion and a State portion. The National portion includes 100 multiple-choice questions, while the State portion includes 40 multiple-choice questions. The National and State questions are intermixed within one exam with a time limit of four hours.

You must answer at least 70 of the 100 National questions and 30 of the 40 State questions in order to pass.

You must pass both portions of the exam in order to pass the overall exam.

Step 3: Get Fingerprinted

Before you can apply for your Missouri real estate salesperson license, you must get fingerprinted at an IDEMIA location. Prior to getting fingerprinted, you must register with the Missouri Automated Criminal History Site (MACHS).

Step 4: Apply for a License

You must apply for your Missouri real estate salesperson license within six months of completing the 48-hour Salesperson Pre-Examination course.

Montana

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Montana?

General requirements

To qualify for a real estate salesperson license in Montana, first, you must be at least 18 years of age. You must have received credit for completing two years of a full curriculum of study at an accredited high school or its equivalent.

If you meet these basic requirements, proceed through the following (6) steps to earn your license.

Step 1: Complete 70 hours of pre-licensing education

All new salespersons must take 70 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-approved course provider. The course of study must include the topics outlined in Rule 24.210.660. Generally, these cover real estate practice, real estate law and ethics, real estate finance, and other related topics. The course will have an exam on the taught material. Your course completion certificate is valid for two years.

Step 2: Schedule the state licensing exam

Montana has contracted with PSI Services to administer the state licensing exam. PSI recommends online scheduling as the easiest and fastest way to schedule your state licensing exam. All you need to do is go online to www.psiexams.com and create an account. When you enter your zip code, you'll see a list of the closest examination sites to you.

You do have the option of telephone scheduling by calling 855-898-0716.

The exam fee is $106. The fee is nonrefundable.

PSI test centers are available in Billings, Helena, Kalispell, and Missoula. A full list of addresses, directions, and more testing information is found in the Candidate Information Handbook.

Step 3: Pass the state licensing exam

All test takers must bring to the test center two forms of identification. One ID must be a valid, government-issued identification such as a driver's license, state ID, or passport. The government-issued ID must have your signature and photograph. The second ID must have your signature and preprinted legal name.

Your Montana salesperson exam contains:

1. A general or national section with 80 items worth one point each. A passing score is 56 points. You have 120 minutes for this section of the test.
2. A state portion with 33 questions worth one point each. A passing score is 23 points. You have 90 minutes to complete this section of the test.
3. You may have up to five experimental questions that do not count towards your score.

The Candidate Information Handbook has an outline of the content tested and the percentage of questions asked in each topic area.

Immediately upon the completion of your exam, you will receive a score report. Your passing score is good for one year. If you do not pass, PSI will provide you with a diagnostic report containing information about your test strengths and weaknesses.

Step 4: Be hired by a Montana licensed broker with a supervising broker endorsement

All salespersons must work under the supervision of a Montana licensed real estate broker that has a supervising broker endorsement. The supervising broker will endorse your application and attest that they will be responsible for your work and education.

Step 5: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance

Licensed salespersons are required to carry Errors & Omissions insurance. You must continuously maintain this professional liability coverage. The Montana Board of Realty Regulation (MBRR) offers a group professional policy through Rice Insurance Services Company (RISC) that costs as low as $168.

You may purchase professional liability coverage outside of the group program as long as your coverage meets the state requirements. You need to provide proof of coverage to the Board. All new licensees must have insurance before their license can be activated.

Step 6: Apply for your Montana real estate salesperson license

Your real estate salesperson application requires documentation of:

• Completion of 70 hours of pre-licensing education
• Passing exam results from the salesperson exam
• Any official license verification from states or jurisdictions where you held the license
• Additional documentation as noted to any "yes" answers to application discipline questions

The license application fee is $150. Online applicants can pay with a credit card or a bank account. Any paper applications must include a check or money order.

The MBRR communicates primarily by email. Once they review and approve your application, congratulations! You are a Montana real estate salesperson.

Nebraska

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Nebraska?

General requirements

All Nebraska salesperson applicants must:

• Be at least 19 years old
• Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
• Be a legal resident of the United States or a citizen

To receive a Nebraska real estate license. If you meet this basic qualification, you can move through the following seven steps to earn your license.

Step 1: Take the 66-hour pre-license education

All new Nebraska salespersons must take (2) 30-hour Nebraska Real Estate Commission approved courses. These courses must be taught by an approved school or provider in real estate subjects that are not less than 30 hours of study. Applicants must also take six hours in professional practice and standards, known as course 0003.

Anyone who takes the required education at a college or university will need their course completion documented in the form of official transcripts mailed directly from the college or university to the Commission office as part of the application package.

All the required real estate education programs are required to have at least one test, including a final exam.

Step 2: Submit salesperson license application

Nebraska's Real Estate Commission recommends your real estate license application be submitted online. You do have the option to download the application and mail it in.

The license application submission must include:

1. A passport type photograph showing your head and shoulders that is at least 2x2 inches in size and taken within the last year. Snapshots are fine as long as they meet these criteria. You can submit the photographs separately or as an attachment in an email to [email protected] in a Word, JPEG, or PDF file.
2. Proof of your high school education or its equivalent. Individuals with a foreign high school education can either submit a transcript from my United States college that shows their education was sufficient for admittance or a document-by-document evaluation report verifying the equivalence of the high school education.
3. Proof of your pre-licensing education in the form of transcripts or certificates of completion. These can be emailed or uploaded as word, JPEG, or PDF files. They can also be mailed separately or personally delivered to the real estate commission.

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission highly recommends that you review the paper version of its application before you decide to submit the online application. Your application requires information such as your prior residences and employment history for the last three years, any other real estate or licenses that you have applied for or been issued, in any lawsuits or criminal offense information.

Your license application and all its associated fees, including the exam fees, are only valid for one year from the date the NREC receives your application in its office. Your exam fee is valid until it is taken or until one year of the application date.

The Nebraska fees are:

• $135 for the license application fee
• $150 for the license examination fee

Step 3: Undergo a criminal background check

All real estate salespersons must submit their fingerprints for a criminal background check. Your license application must be on file at the NREC office before the fingerprint cards are released to you.

Your application will not be complete without the criminal background report. The NREC says that it takes four to six weeks on average after submitting the fingerprints for the Commission to receive your criminal background check report.

Follow all the procedures attached to the fingerprint cards. Otherwise, you could experience a delay in your processing.

Step 4: Schedule your state licensing exam

The NREC will notify you that it has received your completed application. PSI will send an email once you are approved to schedule and take the salesperson exam. It is up to the candidate to make an appointment for the exam. You will be required to provide your name and Social Security number to find your record and set the appointment.

The fastest and easiest way to schedule the licensing exam is to go online to www.psiexams.com. Create an account using the same name and email address used on your licensing application. PSI will search for your record and enable you to schedule the test. You can enter you zip code to see which testing centers are nearest to you and their available dates.

Telephone scheduling is also available by calling (855)-834-8748.

If you miss your exam appointment or late cancel, you'll lose your examination fee and need to reapply to take the test.

Step 5: Take and pass the licensing exam

Bring with you to the testing center two forms of identification. One must be in unexpired driver's license, passport, military identification, or official state identification with a photograph. The second identification must show your name and signature.

The Nebraska Salesperson Licensing Exam has:

1. National section with 80 items worth one point each. You must earn 60 points to pass and have 150 minutes to take the test.
2. State section with 50 items worth one point. You must earn 38 points to pass and have 90 minutes to take the test.
3. There may be 5-10 experimental questions that do not count against your score.

The Candidate Information Bulletin has exam content outlines and the percentage of questions asked in each topic area.

Immediately upon finishing the exam, a score report will appear on the screen. You will also get an official score report essential for your license issuance.

If you fail the exam, you must reapply to take the test through the NREC.

All passing candidates will have 30 days to finish the licensing process.

Step 6: Submit the License Issuance Forms

After passing the Nebraska licensing exam, all licensing candidates must submit to the NREC the License Issuance Form signed by your employing broker and you indicating you agree to be employed by the broker. The issuance fee for a salesperson license is $80.

Step 7: Obtain Errors & Omission Coverage

All real estate salespersons need to have Errors & Omission insurance. You may obtain insurance from any company authorized by the State of Nebraska Department of Insurance. For this option, submit a Certificate of Coverage to the NREC.

The NREC also offers a group plan underwritten by Williams Underwriting Group. The fee varies by the limits of liability you choose and the month you apply for coverage, but the maximum amount for the year is $235. If you use the group plan, the insurer will send verification to the NREC once your application and payment have been processed.

Nebraska Real Estate Commission will issue you an active real estate license after it verifies your insurance coverage.

Step 8: Take 12-hour post-licensing course

After your license is issued, you have 180 days to take and submit to the NREC proof of completion of a 12-hour post-licensing course. This course has required knowledge related to real estate practice, like how to handle client funds, listing agreements, and contracts. NREC course number is 7000. Failure to submit proof of completion will result in the license moving to inactive status.

Congratulations, you now can enjoy the benefits of being a Nebraska real estate salesperson!

Nevada

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Nevada?

General Requirements:

All applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Nevada has no other general requirements.

There are (6) steps to accomplish to get your Nevada real estate salesperson's license.

Step 1: Complete the 120-Hour NV Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Courses

The Nevada Real Estate Commission requires applicants to complete a 120-hour pre-license education course. The course may be taken in person or online, as long as an approved course provider administers it.

The course requires you to take:

• 21 hours in brokerage and laws of agency,
• 12 hours in valuation and economics
• 12 hours in finance
• 25 hours in ownership, transfer, and use of property
• 18 hours in specific state real-estate legislation
• 2 hours in applied practice and statutory disclosures
• 15 hours in real estate contracts
• 15 hours in real estate agency with 3 hours in risk reduction and 3 hours in broker-agent relationship

Some college coursework may be accepted for your education. If you have 3 credits in real estate principles, 3 credits in real estate law (with 18 hours in Nevada law), 1 credit in real estate contracts, and 1 credit in agency, you can receive pre-license course credit.

You'll earn a pre-licensure education certificate as soon as you pass the final exam.

Step 2: Schedule Your State Exam

Once you pass the 120-hour Nevada pre-licensure course, your next step is to apply to take the state exam.

Nevada has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the exam. The exams must be done in person and are given in Las Vegas, Elko, and Reno by appointment only.

To schedule your exam, visit https://home.pearsonvue.com/nv/realestate. First-time users will need to create an account.

You can also opt to schedule your exam by calling (888) 248-8055.

All exam reservations must be made at least 24 hours in advance. You will need to supply your full legal name, Social Security number, and payment method.

The Nevada Real Estate Salesperson exam fee is $100 per attempt. PearsonVUE accepts debit cards, credit cards, electronic checks, or vouchers.

Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam

The Nevada state licensing exam is a comprehensive exam with a national real estate section and a Nevada state section.

The salesperson exam is 120 questions with 5-10 pretest questions, for a total of 130 questions. You will have 240 minutes, or four hours, to complete the test. The sections break down as:

1. National: A total of 80 questions allotted 150 minutes.
2. State: A total of 40 questions allotted 90 minutes.

You must answer 75% of the questions in each section correctly to pass the exam. You will receive your exam results at the testing center immediately after you complete the exam. Passing candidates will receive application instructions.

Now that you have passed your exam, your results are good for one year.

Step 4: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

All Nevada salesperson applicants must get their fingerprints taken before applying for their license. The fingerprint card must be processed by a government or law enforcement agency within the last year. You must submit the fingerprint card with a cashier’s check or money order for $40.25 made payable to the “Department of Public Safety” or a verification form issued by an approved Fingerprint Vendor.

PearsonVUE offers digital fingerprinting to candidates at its test centers in Las Vegas (Flamingo) and Reno. These fingerprints will be transmitted to law enforcement. To be fingerprinted here, you must make a reservation ahead of time.

Vendors may charge an additional fee for their fingerprinting services.

Step 5: Get Hired By a Company

Nevada salespersons must work under the supervision of a licensed broker. You’ll need to be hired by a broker and/or real estate company with a licensed broker before you can submit your salesperson license application.

Step 6: Apply for Your Nevada Real Estate Salespersons License

After passing the state exam, PearsonVUE will give you application information. You have one year from the date of passing your exam to apply for your license.

You’ll need Form 549 to apply for a Real Estate Salesperson License.

The application will ask you to submit:

• Original fingerprint verification form or form 619
• Non-residents need a notarized “Consent to service of process) form 656
• Proof of pre-license education
• Original passing national and state exam results from PearsonVUE dated within the last 12 months.

Include the $125 license application fee, payable to the Nevada Real Estate Division check or money order. Any in-person credit card transactions will have a 2% convenience fee.

Once the Nevada Real Estate Division approves your application, you can start practicing as a Nevada real estate salesperson! Congratulations!

New Hampshire

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in New Hampshire?

General Requirements

New Hampshire's Office of Professional Licensure and Certification requires all salesperson applicants to be at least 18 years of age. If you meet this basic qualification, earn your New Hampshire salesperson license in five steps.

Step 1: Take the 40-hour Pre-license course

All New Hampshire salesperson applicants must take a 40-hour pre-licensing course before taking the exam. A pre-approved school must teach your course.

You'll learn about real estate topics pertinent to New Hampshire practice during the course, like New Hampshire RSA 331-A, Administrative rules, state-specific practices such as environmental issues, the Condominium Act, and Property Management. The course will also cover practices like listing property, selling property, property management, transfer of ownership, financing, and professional responsibilities.

Your course completion certificate is good for six months.

Step 2: Submit your Criminal Records Check

All New Hampshire real estate salespersons must submit a notarized criminal record release and the required fee of $25 to the Department of Safety, Division of State Police. Fill out the release form, which is already pre-filled in Section 2 by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. Your criminal record report is valid for six months. If you fail to apply for your license application while your record report is still valid, you will need to request and pay for a new report.

If you have a criminal record from any other jurisdiction showing a misdemeanor or felony offense, you must also provide a criminal record report.

Step 3: Schedule your state licensing exam

New Hampshire has contracted with PSI to administer the state licensing exam. New Hampshire's Real Estate Commission must approve you to take the exam. You will need to submit the exam registration form, proof of completing the pre-licensing course, and the examination fee. You have to take the exam within three months from the receipt of your exam registration (new rule 2021). If you do not take the exam inside this window, you must submit and pay for a new exam registration.

The exam fee is $155 paid to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire, by check or money order.

PSI will notify you by email once the Real Estate Commission has approved your examination. Online scheduling is the fastest way to register for the exam. After you create an online account, you will be able to find your testing approval, search for testing centers, and select your date.

Telephone registration is also available by calling 855-340-3711.

If you have to cancel the exam, You must do so two days before your scheduled test, or you will forfeit your examination fee. Note that a voice mail is not an acceptable form of cancellation.

Step 4: Take and pass the real estate licensing exam

Bring to the PSI examination center two forms of identification. One of these must be a valid government-issued ID that has your signature and photograph like a driver's license, state ID, or a passport. The other must have at least your signature.

The New Hampshire real estate licensing exam has:

1. A national section with 80 questions worth one point each. The time allowed is 150 minutes. A passing score is 56 points.
2. A state section with 40 questions worth one point each. The time allowed is 90 minutes. A passing score is 28 points.
3. Possibly 5 to 10 experimental questions which are not identified and not counted against your test score.

The Candidate Information Bulletin has content outlines and the percentage of questions asked in each topic area.

Immediately upon finishing the test, you will receive a score report on screen. Anyone with a failing score will also get a diagnostic report revealing their strengths and weaknesses by the exam type.

If you pass only one section of the test, you can have up to eight attempts within six months to pass the second portion. If you cannot pass the exam within that time, you'll have to complete an accredited pre-licensing course in addition to the previously submitted course. Each partial or full retake requires you to resubmit an exam registration and the total fee to the NHREC.

Step 5: Submit the real estate salesperson license application

Now that you have completed the steps above, it's time to fill out your real estate salesperson application. The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission gives candidates six months to submit and earn their license.

Before completing this application, you will need to be hired by a principal broker. They must sign part of your application attesting to your character. You also need three character affidavits signed by people who are not related to you and who can attest to moral character.

Include in your license application:

1. Your original passing exam score sheet
2. Any additional documentation as required for answers to questions 1-6 in part 4


The license application fee is $90, made payable by check to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.

Once your license application is approved, the NHREC will issue your license to the managing broker. Congratulations, you are now a New Hampshire real estate salesperson!

New Jersey

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in New Jersey?

General Requirements

To be licensed as a real estate salesperson in New Jersey, you must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Have a high school diploma or general education development (GED) diploma.
3. Be of good character and integrity

If you meet these qualifications, earn your New Jersey real estate Salesperson's license in five easy steps.

Step 1: Complete the pre-license course

Start by signing up for the New Jersey 75-hour Pre-license Salesperson Course. Select a course from the state's list of approved education providers.

You will learn about license law, contracts, appraisals, fair housing, financing, New Jersey real estate practice, commission rules, agency and brokerage, and more during the course. Your course will end with a final exam.

Step 2: Applying for the State Exam

You have one year after completing your pre-license course to schedule your New Jersey state licensing exam.

PSI administers New Jersey's Real Estate Salesperson Licensure Exam. Once your course provider has sent your eligibility to PSI, you can schedule your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com/njre or calling 855-579-4624. Online scheduling is the fastest way to register for your exam.

The salesperson exam fee is $45. You will directly pay PSI for the exam. Online they accept major credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover) or a JCB card.

Examination centers are available in Brick, Cherry Hill, Hamilton Square Area, Linwood, New Brunswick, New Providence, North Brunswick, Northfield Area, Rochelle Park, and Secaucus. New Jersey also offers a remote proctored examination.

Refer to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission License Examination Candidate Bulletin for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The New Jersey Salesperson licensure exam is a comprehensive exam of 110 questions worth 110 points. You will have four hours to complete the exam. There may also be 5-10 experimental questions that will not be scored; you will not be told which questions these are.

The candidate handbook breaks down the percentage of questions in each tested real estate topic area.

Students must pass the exam with at least a 70% score (77 questions) to pass the overall exam. Your score will immediately show on screen and be emailed to you. If you fail, the emailed score report will include diagnostic information.

Step 4: Get Fingerprinted for a Background Check

All New Jersey salesperson applicants must be fingerprinted using the LiveScan process. You must get fingerprinted within a year of passing the state exam to make a timely filing for your license.

Start by filling out the required Universal Form. Next, online scheduling is highly recommended for booking your fingerprint location and time. You will directly pay IDEMIA a $66.05 fee for the background check. They accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, prepaid debit cards, and ACH.

Bring a government-issued ID with you to the fingerprinting vendor along with the completed Universal Form.

Try to time your fingerprinting with your application submission.

Step 5: Find a Sponsoring Broker to Apply for Your License

In New Jersey, all Salespersons must work under the supervision of a Managing Broker. Your Managing Broker will submit your license application.

You must provide your broker with your Applicant ID number. This ID number is found on your testing scorecard that proves you successfully passed the state exam. The broker will go to the Online Licensing Services portal to submit the application.

When you submit, have all your paperwork ready to go. The NJREC does not accept partial submission of materials. These materials include:

• PSI state exam passing score report, both completed and signed by the employing broker
• Employment date indicated by employing broker
• Completed Sagem-Morpho Universal Form and receipt (provided when fingerprinting is done)
• License fee as a certified or cashier’s check, money order, or broker’s business account check. The initial salesperson application fee is $160. Note: personal checks are not accepted

Once the New Jersey Real Estate Commission approves your application, you and your broker will receive an email confirmation. Congratulations, now you’re legal to practice real estate in New Jersey!

New Mexico

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in New Mexico?

General requirements

To be eligible for a New Mexico real estate broker license, you must be a legal resident of the United States and have reached the age of majority in New Mexico (18 years of age) or the state in which the applicant resides.

If you meet this qualification, you can earn your New Mexico real estate license in (6) steps.

Step 1: Take the 90-hour Pre-license education courses

All New Mexico real estate broker candidates must take a Commission-approved total of 90 hours of pre-licensing courses. The pre-license education requirements break into (3) 30-hour sections:

• Real estate Principles and Practice
• Real estate law
• Broker basics

You will receive a certificate of completion for each of the three courses. These courses must be completed within three years of the application to take the broker's examination. Find an approved pre-licensing education provider for your courses.

Step 2: Apply to take the state licensing exam

After completing your 90 hours of education, you must apply to take the brokers examination to the state examination contractor, PSI. Find the examination registration form at the end of the Candidate Information Bulletin on PSI. You will have to submit your certificates of completion from the three pre-licensing courses with your application form.

Once PSI approves your examination eligibility, you will be sent an eligibility postcard with instructions on scheduling your state exam.

PSI recommends online scheduling as the quickest way to schedule your exam. Telephone scheduling is available by calling (855) 557-0621 Monday-Friday from 5:30 am-6 pm MST, and weekends 7 am-3:30 pm MST. You also have options for standard mail, fax, and email registration with the details available in the Candidate Information Bulletin. The examination fee is $95, made payable to PSI via credit card.

New Mexico has test centers in Albuquerque, Farmington, Las Cruces, Roswell, Santa Fe, as well as some locations in Colorado and Texas. Specific addresses and directions are in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Step 3: Take the state licensing exam

Bring to the testing center two forms of identification. One of these forms of identification must be a government-issued ID with your photograph or physical description and your signature. All of your identification must match the name on your testing eligibility letter.

About the New Mexico Broker Exam:

1. The national section has 75 questions worth 80 points. You must answer 60 correctly. The time allowed is 120 minutes.
2. The state section has 50 questions. A passing score is 38 correct, and you have 60 minutes to answer.
3. Your test may have 5 to 10 unscored experimental questions. These questions will not be marked.

The Candidate Information Bulletin contains content outlines and the percentage of questions asked and each topic area.

You must pass the New Mexico broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. Immediately upon finishing your exam, your score will appear on the screen. You also receive a printed score report.

If you fail one or both sections of the exam, you have 90 days to pass the failed section of the test. Your score report will include diagnostic information on your strengths and weaknesses.

Step 4: Purchase E&O insurance

All the real estate professionals must carry an Errors & Omissions Insurance policy that meets the requirements for such insurance as described in 16.61.5 NMAC of the commission rules.

The New Mexico Real Estate Commission has a contracted insurance carrier, Rice Insurance Services. You can receive enrollment information from the Commission offices or Rice Insurance Services by calling 800.637.7319. Your brokerage may also have a group insurance policy other than Rice Insurance Services. Please ask your qualifying broker to provide you with a certificate of insurance verifying your current coverage.

Step 5: Submit fingerprints for a background check

All New Mexico broker license applicants are required to submit fingerprints for a state and national background check. New Mexico no longer accepts hard copy fingerprint cards unless you live outside of the state.

Before you can be fingerprinted, you must first register on the state vendor website Gemalto.

You'll need the NMRC identifier number "M920263Z" to register. The fingerprint processing fee is $44 and can be paid online using a credit or debit card. You can also pay the fee by money order or cashier's check at the Live Scan's site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks are accepted. Licensees may also register by phone at 1-877-996-6277.

After registering on Gemalto, you will need to contact Cogent ID for Live Scan locations. Your fingerprints will be transmitted electronically. Make sure to have your Live Scan vendor complete the fingerprint certification form that is part of the broker license application. You'll need to submit this along with your application to show proof that you have submitted fingerprints.

Step 6: Apply for your NM broker's license

Once you have passed the state exam, you have six months to apply for your broker's license. Otherwise, you must retake the state exam.

The license application form can be found at the end of the Candidate Information Bulletin. The license fee is $270, payable to the NMREC by cashier's check, money order, or personal check.

Submit with your broker license application:

• The written score report showing you have passed both sections of the state licensing exam
• Fingerprinting documentation
• Certificate of E&O insurance policy coverage
• The non-refundable license application fee of $270
• Any supporting documents to answers as detailed in Section D

If you wish to have an active license, there is a section on the associate broker license application that your supervisory qualifying broker must fill out. The license will be mailed directly to your real estate brokerage firm.

Once your license is received by your New Mexico brokerage firm, congratulations! You are now a practicing New Mexico associate broker.

New York

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in New York?

In order to obtain your NYS real estate salesperson license, you will have to complete the following 4 steps:

1. Complete the NYS 75-hour Real Estate License Course online.
Here at RealEstateU, we offer the 75-hour course for just $99!

2. Pass the school's proctored final exam.
The State requires a proctored final exam at the end of the NYS 75-hour real estate license course.

3. Pass the proctored state exam.
Once you complete the 75-hour NYS license course, you can then schedule your state exam through eAccessNY.
Please note, this exam is separate from the 75-hour real estate license course final exam.

4. Complete your NYS real estate salesperson application online via your eAccessNY account. You will need the help of a sponsoring broker in order to complete the application. After your application is approved by the NYS Department of State, your license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker.

For more detailed information regarding the state and course requirements please visit the following link:
New York Real Estate License Requirements

North Dakota

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in North Dakota?

General requirements

• Real estate is a great profession to have a career in North Dakota! To qualify for a real estate salesperson license, you must:
• Be at least 18 years of age
• Have a reputation for competency, honesty, and financial integrity

If you fit the bill, earn your North Dakota salesperson’s license in 8 steps.

Step 1: Complete 90-hour Pre-license Course
Start the process with your real estate education. As of 2021, North Dakota requires all salesperson applicants to take a 90-hour pre-license course. You can take the course online, in a classroom, or with a hybrid model, but your provider must be a state-approved education vendor. Your course will teach you about real estate law and regulations, practice, contracts, financing, and more pertinent topics to real estate business.

While you can take the North Dakota licensing exam before finishing your education course, you must complete the education hours to be issued an active license.

Step 2: Submit the ND license application
Next, you must submit the salesperson application. You’ll need to list your address, last five years’ employment history, professional licensing, and criminal or litigation history. Depending on your answers, you may need to include additional documentation.

The license application fee is $150. North Dakota also requires $8 for a credit report. You can write a single check for $158 payable to the NDREC. Another option is to pay the fee online at https://www.realestatend.org/pay-bill, referencing “salesperson application.”

Step 3: Submit the Criminal History Record Check form
All new salesperson licensees must submit the Criminal History Record form (SFN 60688) with their license application. The fee for a North Dakota and FBI record check is $41.25, paid by check or money order to the ND Attorney General. Do not get fingerprinted before sending this form and fee to the Commission. They will mail you a fingerprinting kit with the necessary cards, verification forms, and a list of fingerprinting locations.

Step 4: Schedule the state licensing exam
Once the license application is approved, the NDREC will send you a letter of approval with a test ID number. It’s your responsibility to schedule a test through PSI.

The non-refundable exam fee is $131 paid directly to PSI using credit, money order, or cashier’s check. Any checks are made payable to PSI Services, Inc.

Online scheduling is the fastest way to make an exam appointment. Visit the PSI website, create an account, and use your test ID number in the approval letter to book the exam. You may call PSI at 855-834-8747 or use the mail-in registration form to reserve a test appointment.

PSI offers four test centers in North Dakota: Bismarck, Fargo, Minot, and Williston. Refer to the Candidate Handbook for specific addresses and testing directions.

Step 5: Pass the state licensing exam
Bring to the test center two forms of identification that have your signature. One ID must be government-issued and have your photograph. Arrive no later than 15 minutes before the scheduled appointment.

Your North Dakota salesperson exam has two parts:
• National examination with 100 questions.
• State examination with 40 questions.
• The total time allowed is 3.5 hours.

The questions will be intermixed if you take the national and state exam portions the same day. There may be 5-10 experimental questions that don't count in your score.

The Candidate Information Handbook contains information about the number of questions per topic area on each exam section.

You will receive a score report at the test center when you finish the exam. To pass the national portion, you must answer 70 questions correctly. The state portion requires 30 correct questions. If you pass, it's your responsibility to send the official score report to the NDREC for your license activation. If you did not pass, the score report will have diagnostic information. You have 12 months to pass the exam.

Step 6: Provide E&O Insurance Information
To be issued an active license, you must carry errors and omission insurance. You must send proof of coverage to the Commission. You can get insurance from any qualified carrier as long your policy is the equivalent of what is offered by the NDREC. The North Dakota Insurance Department must also authorize the carrier.

The NDREC group plan is available through Rice Insurance Service. Pricing varies by the month you enroll. See the current fees and available coverage.

Step 7: Pay the Education, Research & Recovery Fund Fee
All new licensees are required to make a one-time $20 payment into the Education, Research & Recovery Fund. You can submit the recovery fund form and payment to NDREC by check or pay online at https://www.realestatend.org/pay-bill, reference “Recovery Fund.”

Step 8: Submit license activation request
To hold a North Dakota salesperson license, you must send in the Application to Issue Real Estate License. This section will require information from your hiring broker, who must also sign the application. You’ll need to have provided the NDREC with your official score report from the state licensing exam, your proof of insurance coverage, and the recovery fund fee.

Once the NDREC receives these documents, it will issue an active North Dakota salesperson license. Congratulations! You are now a practicing real estate salesperson.

Ohio

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Ohio?

General Requirements

To apply for a real estate salesperson license in Ohio, you must:

1. Be at least 18 years of age.
2. Have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent if you were born after 1950.
3. Be of good character and reputation.
4. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude; not violated any civil rights laws in real estate within the past two years.

If you meet these two qualifications, you can earn a real estate salesperson's license in (6) steps.

Step 1: Complete Your Pre-license Education

Ohio requires salespersons to complete 120 hours of instruction from an approved pre-license school. Online courses are the most convenient way to complete your 120 hours.

The required hours break down into four courses necessary for your Ohio salesperson license:

• Ohio Real Estate Principles Practices (40 hours)
• Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
• Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
• Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)

Step 2: Find a Sponsoring Broker

All Ohio salespersons work under the supervision of a sponsoring broker. You will need to be sponsored by an Ohio licensed broker to submit your application for the salesperson exam as you’ll need their brokerage information and signature on the form.

Step 3: Applying for the State Exam

Your application for the salesperson exam also serves your Ohio state license application. You can’t apply until after completing your pre-license education because you will need proof of completing the education requirements.

The application fee is $81. You will need to submit your proof of meeting the education requirements, such as official transcripts or course completion certificates.

If you answer “yes” to any character questions, you will need to provide explanations and potentially additional documentation.

Once you are ready to submit, mail the completed application and the $81 check or money order to the Ohio Division of Real Estate at:

Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing
77 South High Street, 20th floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Once the ODRE approves your application, your information will be sent to the testing vendor. You’ll receive a Candidate Information Bulletin from PSI and information on scheduling your exam.

Step 4: Complete a Background Check

Every Ohio salesperson candidate must complete a criminal records check at the state and federal levels. You must apply for a background check within 10 days of submitting your salesperson examination application.

Ohio requires you to use a Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) approved Webcheck® user. You must schedule with a Webcheck® user to have your fingerprints taken and submitted to the system. When you take your fingerprints, it’s vital to provide the center with the right reason codes:

BCI&I Reason Code: 4735 05 and/or 121 08
FBI Reason Code: 121 08

You must also provide the center with the address to send the results.

Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing
77 S High St., 20th Fl.
Columbus, OH 43215-6133

The fees for your fingerprinting and background check will vary by the center, but some locations have posted their prices on the approved Webcheck® location list. A typical cost for state and FBI checks ranges from $58-71.

The Ohio Division of Real Estate should receive your background check results within 30 days.

Step 5: Scheduling Your Salesperson Exam

The first step upon receiving your information from PSI is to complete the exam registration form. This registration is good for one examination attempt. You’ll need to pass both exam portions – state and national– within one year of the date on the sticker of your Candidate Handbook.

PSI recommends you register and schedule your exam by visiting https://www.psiexams.com or calling (855) 834-8749. For online registration, select the examination and enter the OH RE _ID# that was provided to you.

Exam centers are located in Akron, Cambridge, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, and Troy. Search the website or see the Ohio Candidate Bulletin for a list of addresses.

The exam fee for both sections is $61, and you'll directly pay PSI for the exam. PSI accepts credit cards, money orders, company checks, or cashier's checks. Note that cash and personal checks are not accepted.

Note that if you do not pass one or both sections of the exam, you’ll need to apply for a retake with the ODRE. PSI will provide you with an application at the testing site.

Step 6: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Ohio state salesperson exam is divided into two sections: national and state law. You must pass both sections to be issued your salesperson license.

The Ohio salesperson exam breaks into:

1. National section of 80 questions and a passing score is 70%. The time allowed is 120 minutes.
2. State section of 40 questions and a passing score is 70%. The time allowed is 60 minutes.

You will receive a score report on-screen immediately upon completion of the exam. If you fail, your information will include a diagnostic report. You’ll also leave with a printed unofficial score report.

Passing both portions is required for the ODRE to issue you a license.

Once the Ohio Division of Real Estate receives the passing result from PSI, it will process the result and issue you a salesperson license. Congratulations, you are an official Ohio real estate salesperson!

Oklahoma

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Oklahoma?

General Requirements

To apply for an Oklahoma real estate salesperson license, an applicant must be a United States citizen. There are no other general requirements.

If you meet this qualification, it takes six steps to earn your real estate broker's license.

Step 1: Complete the pre-license course

Start the process with the Oklahoma 90 Hour Pre-license Salesperson Course. Select one from the state's list of approved education providers.

The course is known as “The Basic Course of Real Estate,” Part I. The provisional sales associate candidate will learn about a range of topics such as real estate economics, legal descriptions, transfer of rights, value and appraisal, marketing activities, fair housing, financing, regulations affecting real estate, and law of agency. You will take Part II after passing your licensing exam.

You will receive the Course Completion Certificate immediately after passing the final exam with at least an 80%.

You will submit a copy of the Certificate of Completion to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission for your provisional salesperson application as proof you completed the required education.

Step 2: Apply for Your Provisional Salesperson License

You have up to three years after successfully completing your 90-hour pre-license education to submit the provisional salesperson license application. The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission uses an online application portal.

You’ll need to upload proof of citizenship as a birth certificate or a passport. A copy of your driver’s license will not be accepted.

The application fee is $35. An approved Provisional Salesperson Application is good for up to (1) year.

Step 3: Complete a background check

Oklahoma requires all applicants pass a background check. The state uses IdentiGO for Fingerprinting services. You will need to visit the website at https://ok.ibtfingerprint.com to schedule your fingerprinting appointment. You will need the service code 2B7NR3 to complete your fingerprinting registration. The fee is $60.

Step 4: Schedule your exam

Your Provisional Salesperson Application is also your application for the state exam. The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission will review your application within five business days and notify you via email about your next steps.

PSI administers Oklahoma's Real Estate Salesperson Licensure Exam. You will need the Candidate ID number sent in the approved application email to schedule your exam. PSI will email you within 48 hours of your application approval with a direct link to schedule your exam.

You can also call the PSI helpline at 855-746-8169 or contact PSI by email at [email protected]

The exam fee is $60. You will directly pay PSI for the exam.

PSI Test Centers are located in Oklahoma City, Tulsa, McAlester, and Woodward. Refer to the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission License Examination Candidate Bulletin for information on site location addresses, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 5: Take and Pass the State Exam

The exam is divided into two sections: national and state real estate. The total number of questions on the exam is 130, with each question worth one point. A passing score is 70% and you have three total hours to complete the exam.

The Candidate Handbook has outlines for the national and state portions of the exam.

Your score will appear immediately on-screen with a diagnostic report showing your strengths and weaknesses. A passing score is valid for one year.

Step 6: Issue Your Provisional Sales Associate License

Once you pass the exam, the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission will email you within 48 hours to issue your license online. You’ll log into the application portal to start the process.

To get an active license, you’ll need the brokerage number of the brokerage you’ll be working under. The Managing Broker will need to approve you before you can resume the steps. Once they do, you’ll log in and make the final license payment of $100.

Congratulations! Your Provisional Sales Associate license has been issued, and you can practice real estate in Oklahoma. Note that you’ll have one year to complete the 45-hour post-licensing course and apply for a renewable Sales Associate license. A Provisional Sales Associate license is nonrenewable.

Oregon

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Oregon?

General Requirements

To apply for a real estate broker license in Oregon, you must:

1.Be at least 18 years of age

2.Have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent

If you meet these two qualifications, you can earn a real estate broker's license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Register for an eLicense account

You will begin the process by registering for an account in the Oregon Real Estate Agency's eLicense management system. Only register if you have never held a broker, property management, or escrow license in Oregon.

Step 2: Apply for Your License

You will apply for your broker license through the eLicense system. The nonrefundable application fee is $300. You'll receive an applicant ID number by email. Keep this number as it is necessary for completing the remaining steps.

In your application, you'll need to provide proof of:

• Your age
• Your high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent
• Any other required documents as indicated by answers to screening questions

Step 3: Complete Your Pre-license Education

Oregon requires brokers to complete 150 hours of instruction from an approved pre-license Real Estate school. The schools are either licensed private career schools or accredited community colleges, colleges, or universities. Online courses are the most convenient way to complete your 150 hours.

You'll need to provide your chosen school with your Applicant ID number and full name. Completing your education qualifies you to take the state exam. Your course provider will electronically send your examination eligibility to the exam provider, PSI.

The required hours break down into seven courses necessary for your Oregon broker license:

• Real Estate Practices
• Contracts
• Agency Law
• Real Estate Finance
• Real Estate Brokerage
• Property Management
• Real Estate Practice

Step 4: Applying for the State Exam

Apply to take the Oregon state license exam after completing your pre-license education. Your course provider will send your eligibility to PSI, the company that administers Oregon's Real Estate Broker Licensure Exam.

Schedule your exam directly by visiting https://www.psiexams.com or calling (833) 892-5441. Exam centers are located in Baker City, Bend, Eugene, Independence, Medford, Portland, and Wilsonville. Search the website or see the Oregon Candidate Bulletin for a list of addresses.

The exam costs $75, and you'll directly pay PSI for the exam. PSI accepts credit card, money order, company check, or cashier's check.

Step 5: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Oregon state pre-license broker exam is divided into two sections: general and state law. You must pass both sections to qualify for a broker license. The exam is made up of multiple-choice questions.

The Oregon Broker Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1.National section of 80 questions. You must score a 75% to pass. The time allowed is 150 minutes.

2.State section of 50 questions. You must score a 75% to pass. The time allowed is 90 minutes.

You will receive a score report on-screen and emailed to you immediately upon completion of the exam. If you fail, the email will include a diagnostic report.

Passing both portions is required for your license application. If you fail one section, you can retake only the failed section. A passing score is valid for 12 months; you must complete your license requirements within a year.

Step 6: Get Your Fingerprints Taken

When you pass the Oregon Broker Pre-license Exam, all new license candidates are required to be fingerprinted for a national and state criminal history search.

PSI will conduct the fingerprints at the exam center. The fee is $56.25, which includes the Oregon State Police and PSI processing fees. PSI accepts Visa, MasterCard, money orders, cashier's checks, and company checks.

The fingerprints will be electronically forwarded to the review agencies. The processing could take up to 4 weeks.

Step 7: Get Hired by a Principal Broker

You have one year after successfully passing both portions of the state license exam to be hired by an Oregon Principal Broker. Your broker must add your pending license into their registered business. The eLicense system will flag your application for final review, which usually takes 1-2 days.

Once you receive final notification from the Oregon Real Estate Agency and are viewable in the public licensee search, you are an official Oregon real estate broker. Congratulations!

Pennsylvania

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Pennsylvania?

In order to obtain your Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license, you must complete the following steps:

Step 1: Complete the 75-hour Pennsylvania Pre-license Course
The 75-hour pre-license course actually consists of two courses:
1) 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course
2) 45-hour Real Estate Practice course

The courses can be completed online or in a classroom. Most students prefer to take the courses online since they can typically complete the courses more quickly.
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission may waive the 75-hour education requirement if you meet one of the following:
1) Successfully completed at least 75-hours of pre-license real estate education in another state.
2) Hold a bachelor's degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university.
3) Hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, having completed coursework equivalent to a major in real estate.
4) Hold a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school.

Step 2: Schedule and Pass the State Exam
The state licensing exam is an in-person proctored exam that must be taken through PSI.
You can schedule your state exam by submitting PSI's Examination Registration Form along with your two Certificates of Completion (one from the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and another from the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course).
Once your state exam application is reviewed and approved, PSI will send you an eligibility notice.
At this point, you can schedule your exam date and location with PSI.
The state exam consists of a national portion and a state portion.
You must pass both portions in order to pass the overall exam.

Step 3: Complete a Criminal Record Check
The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires all applicants to complete a criminal record check.

Step 4: Apply For Your License With the Help of Your Employing Broker
You must apply for your license online through Pennsylvania's PALS system.
State law requires all real estate salespersons to work under an employing broker.
Once you complete your license application and upload the required documents, your employing broker will have to log in and complete their portion of the application.
Once your application is approved, you will receive your license in the mail (at your broker's main office) within 7-10 business days.

Congratulations, you are now a licensed Pennsylvania real estate salesperson!

Rhode Island

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Rhode Island?

General requirements

Rhode Island does not list any general requirements. You can proceed directly to the (7) steps to earn your Rhode Island resident real estate salesperson license. Non-resident applications have a slightly different process.

Step 1: Complete a 45-hour pre-licensing education

New Rhode Island salesperson applicants must take 45 hours of sales education. These 45 hours must include three hours of a New Agency Law course. An approved real estate pre-licensing vendor must teach the courses.

The course completion certificate for your pre-licensing education is valid for two years.

Step 2: Take the Lead Paint/Lead Hazard Mitigation Course

Rhode Island requires all real estate salespersons to have three hours of education in a Lead Paint/Lead Hazard Mitigation course. While you don’t need to complete this course before step three, you do need the course completion certificate from this class for your licensing application. It’s advised to take it with or soon after your pre-licensing education.

Step 3: Schedule the Real Estate Salesperson Exam

Rhode Island’s Department of Business Regulation (DBR), Real Estate Commission contracts with PearsonVUE to administer the salesperson exam. Go to www.pearsonvue.com to schedule an exam online. You can also schedule the test by calling (800) 274-8922. All exams must have a reservation made at least 24 hours in advance.

The exam fee is $70 paid to PearsonVUE via credit card, debit card, voucher, or check. Your payment is nonrefundable. Any future retake exams also cost $70.

If you must cancel or modify your exam reservation, you must do so two business days before the exam by calling (800)-274-8922. If you fail to call and change 48 hours before the exam, you will forfeit the exam fee.

Bring to the exam center two forms of valid signature identification. Primary identification must have your photo and signature, like a government-issued state driver's license, military ID, or US passport. A secondary ID card must have your printed name and signature, like a US Social Security card, debit or credit card, or

another form of primary ID. You’ll also need to show the pre-licensing course completion certificate.

Refer to the Rhode Island Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 4: Pass the Real Estate Salesperson Exam

The Rhode Island state salesperson exam is divided into a national and state section.

The Salesperson Pre-licensure Exam includes:

1. General, or national, section of 80 questions. The time allowed is 2.5 hours.
2. State section of 50 questions. The time allowed is 1.5 hours.
3. Up to 5 “pre-test” questions per section that are not scored.

The exam includes multiple-choice questions. Content outlines and the number of questions for each section are available in the Candidate Information Bulletin.

Rhode Island DBR uses a scaled score, which does not reflect the number or the percentage of questions answered correctly. The scaled score is a way to account for variances in exam difficulty. A passing score on both sections is a minimum of 70.

You’ll receive an official score report before you leave the exam center. Passing candidates also get instructions for applying for their license. Failed scores receive diagnostic information on the general section of the exam and retake information. If you fail one section, you can retake just the failed portion. You must schedule any partial or full retakes within one year.

You must pass both portions of the exam before continuing with your license application. You have one year from passing both sections to submit your application to the State of Rhode Island.

Step 5: Get Your Criminal History Record

All Rhode Island resident applications need a Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General. These state and federal background checks are conducted in-person at the Attorney General’s office at 4 Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400. The state (or BCI) check costs $5, and the federal check is $35. Accepted payment is credit card, money order, or check made payable to “BCI.”

Step 6: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance

All Rhode Island real estate professionals are required to carry errors and omissions insurance. You must carry this insurance independently. The coverage must meet the minimum limits set by the Department of Business Regulation. Errors and Omissions insurance covers negligence, wrongful acts, and errors and omissions committed by the licensee. For salespersons, the insurance must be in an amount for each claim of at least $50,000 and in an aggregate amount of at least $150,000.

Step 7: Apply for your License

Following your passing score on the state licensing exam, you have up to one year to apply for your salesperson real estate license. The Department of Business Regulation (DBR) highly recommends that you apply online for your license. You can print and mail in a paper application, although it will take more business days for processing.

Your license application must include documentation of:

• The original test score report from PearsonVUE
• Certificate of completion for the 45 hours of pre-licensing education
• A criminal history record from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General
• A Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation course completion certificate for three hours
• A certificate of Errors and Omissions insurance

The salesperson application asks for three recommendations from Rhode Island residents who have known you for at least three years and are not related to you. These recommendations attest to your reputation for honesty and trustworthiness.

The license application will also have a section that needs to be completed by your hiring Principal Broker.

Your license application will include two separate checks or money orders. The first check must be for $140.00 payable to the “RI General Treasurer.” The second check must be $25 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account.”

Total processing takes at least three weeks. Once the Rhode Island DBR approves your application, congratulations! You are a licensed real estate salesperson.

South Dakota

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in South Dakota?

General requirements
To qualify for a South Dakota real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age, a United States citizen or a South Dakota resident, and meet the statutory requirements as explained in South Dakota law chapter 36-21A.

If you meet these qualifications, earn a South Dakota broker associate license in (7) steps.

Step 1: Take 116-hour Pre-Licensing Course
The broker associate pre-licensing course is at least 116 hours. You must take your course from an approved education provider.

During the course, you will learn about South Dakota real estate license law and rules, real property characteristics, agency, listing and selling property, contracts, property management, finance, and federal real estate laws. The course will also have practical exercises on the content. You will have to take a test in each subject area of study.

Your pre-licensing course ends with a final exam. After passing this exam, you will receive your course completion certificate.

Step 2: Schedule the South Dakota Licensing Exam
The South Dakota Real Estate Commission contracted with PSI to administer the broker associate licensing exam. The easiest way to schedule your exam appointment is to go to the PSI website. Registrants can also set an appointment by calling 855-557-0623 or using the mail-in registration found in the Candidate Handbook.

The examination fee is $98 if you opt to take the national, state, and simulation exams in the same session. If you take the national and state sections separately, it is $98 per exam session. The simulation exam is $98. The fee is paid by credit card, cashier's check, or money order at the time of registration.

Test centers are available in Madison, Sioux Falls, Tea, and Rapid City. See the Candidate Handbook for specific addresses.

Step 3: Pass the South Dakota Licensing exam
Bring to the test center two forms of identification. One of your IDs must be government-issued, current, and have your photo with signature.

The broker associate licensing exam consists of:
1. State multiple-choice examination of 57 questions allotted 1.5 hours
2. National multiple-choice examination of 100 questions allotted 2.5 hours
3. Broker simulation exam with 11 problems allotted 3 hours
4. Up to five experimental questions per exam section that are not counted against your final score.

The Candidate Information Handbook details the tested topics and the number of questions per topic. It also explains how the broker simulation examination works.

The multiple-choice sections and simulation portion of the exam used a scaled score. These scaled scores are used to adjust your score based on variations in exam difficulty. Scaled scores run from 0 to 100. You need a minimum scaled score of 75 on each exam to pass.

Once candidates have a passing score on all three tests, they have 60 days to submit their license application. You will need the original score reports from all portions of the test.

If you do not pass a section of the exam, you can register to retake the exam. You will need to pay for a new test session.

Step 4: Get fingerprints for background check
All applicants must send a set of fingerprints for a state and federal criminal background check. You must request cards from the SDREC. The Commission recommends scheduling the fingerprints at a local law enforcement agency or a fingerprint office. These may charge their own fee.

Return the cards to the Commission with the completed broker associate application and a separate check for $43.25 made payable to DCI.

Step 5: Purchase E&O Insurance
You'll need errors and omissions insurance to be issued an active license. South Dakota offers a group policy through RISC underwritten by Continental Casualty Company. The fee varies based on which month you enroll, with January charging $187 in 2021. You have the option to find a private carrier, but you need to provide the SDREC with a certificate of coverage.

Step 6: Submit Broker Associate Application
You have 60 days after passing the last portion of your state licensing exam to submit your broker associate license application.

The non-refundable application fee is $225.

Include in your application the following documentation:
• Original pre-licensing education certification
• Errors and omissions certificate of coverage
• Original exam score reports
• Completed SD and FBI fingerprint cards with a separate check (see below)

The application will ask about your professional licensing, litigation, and criminal history. Once your application is filled out and you have all your paperwork, you will mail it to the South Dakota Real Estate Commission.

Step 7: Wait for application approval
The SDREC estimates 2-4 weeks to process your application. Once your license application is approved, it will be issued on an inactive status unless your responsible broker completes the Qualifying Broker section of the license application. Otherwise, your responsible broker will need to request your license for it to become active.

Once you are associated with a responsible South Dakota license broker, you can conduct real estate business in South Dakota. Congratulations!

Tennessee

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Tennessee?

Before applying for your affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must meet the following requirements:

1) At least 18 years of age.

2) Able to provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent.

3) If you have a prior conviction, and are currently on parole or probation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires that at least two years must have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction or release from incarceration, whichever is latest, before you can be scheduled for the state licensing exam.

If you meet these three requirements, you will need to follow six steps to get your Tennessee Affiliate Broker real estate license:

1. Complete your 90-hour pre-license education requirement. The 90-hour pre-license education requirement consists of two courses:

• 60-Hour Basic Principles of Real Estate

• 30-Hour Course for New Affiliates

Applicants have the option of taking these courses online or in-person. Most applicants prefer the convenience of online courses and also find they can complete the courses more quickly than if they attended class in-person.

The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate coursework must be completed before applying to take the state licensing exam. However, you can complete the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates any time prior to applying for your Tennessee affiliate broker license.

Each course concludes with a closed-book, non-proctored exam. You must achieve a passing grade of at least 70% on both of the exams. The 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate consists of a 60-question multiple-choice final exam, while the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates final exam consists of 50 multiple-choice questions.

Once you pass the final exam for a course, you will receive its certificate of completion.

2. Schedule your state exam. RealEstateU will submit your course completion information to PSI, the state’s testing center, once you have passed the final exam for the 60-hour Basic Principles of Real Estate course. This information is required before you will be allowed to schedule your state exam. When you log into the PSI website to schedule your exam, you will be inputting your social security number and other identifying information that will allow the system to locate your course completion information.

You can schedule your state exam date and location once your course completion information is processed by PSI. Exams may be scheduled by calling 1-800-733-9267 or through PSI’s website. Cost of the state exam is $39 per attempt, paid directly to PSI. You will need to provide payment via Visa or Mastercard at the time of scheduling. Payment by personal check is not permitted.

3. Pass the state exam. The next step to getting your affiliate broker’s license is to pass the state exam. You’ll find that the Tennessee Affiliate Broker’s state licensing exam includes two distinct parts: a national section and a state section.

The national portion of the test is made up of 80 multiple-choice questions. You will have a time limit of 160 minutes and must achieve a passing grade of 70%, or 56 out of 80 questions correct.

There are 40 multiple-choice questions on the state portion of the exam. You will have 80 minutes to complete the 40 multiple-choice questions and must get a passing grade of at least 70%, or 28 out of 40 questions correct.

Your grade will be available to you immediately after completing the exam. Once you have passed, your picture will be taken by the PSI testing center for use as part of your license application.

4. Get fingerprinted. Your next step in getting your affiliate broker’s license is to get fingerprinted. The Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires all applicants to get fingerprinted. Fingerprinting can be completed at an IdentoGO location.

If you live outside of Tennessee or are physically unable to go to an IdentoGO location in-person, you can make use of IdentoGO’s card scan service. The cost of fingerprinting is about $35, depending on location and whether you need to use the card scan service. It is paid directly to IdentoGO. Once complete, your fingerprints will be digitally transmitted to the FBI and the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation (TBI) for conducting a criminal history background check.

5. Aquire errors and omissions insurance. Once you have gotten fingerprinted, it’s time to get your errors and omissions insurance. The Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires that all candidates for an affiliate broker license obtain an errors and omissions insurance policy before applying for a license.

6. Apply for Your Affiliate Broker’s License. Now that you’ve met all requirements and completed all steps, it’s time to apply for your Tennessee affiliated broker’s license. You will need to apply within 6 months of passing the state licensing exam, including the national and state portions. The Tennessee Real Estate Commission charges an application fee of $91. You will need to apply for your license online.

In making your affiliate broker’s license application, you will need to include the following:

• License application with your photo. This is the photo that was taken at the PSI testing center after passing the state licensing exam.

• Diploma or other proof of high school graduation (or equivalent).

• Proof that you have satisfactorily completed the 30-hour Course for New Affiliates. You will need to download your certificate of completion from your RealEstateU account as soon as you pass the final course exam. This information is not automatically reported for this course.

• Proof of your errors and omissions insurance policy.

• Eligibility verification, if applicable.

• Proof that you have had your fingerprints taken (submitted through IndentoGO).

Texas

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Texas?

There are 5 steps you need to take in order to get your Texas real estate salespersons license:

Step #1: File Your Real Estate Agent License Application
First, you have to submit a Sales Agent License application and pay the required application fee.
This can be done online, which is the preferred method, or via mail by submitting a paper application.

Once you file your application, you can track its status, which can prove to be a very useful tool.

Please note, that you have 12 months from the date your application is filed to complete the 180-hour education requirement, get fingerprinted, and pass the State exam, otherwise you will have to resubmit your license application.
For this reason, we recommend that you wait to file your license application until you are close to completing the 180-hour education requirement (see Step #2 below).

Step #2: Complete Your Qualifying Education
You must complete 6, 30-hour courses (180 hours in total). These courses must be approved by the Texas Real Estate Commission.
The 6 courses include the following:
1) Principles of Real Estate 1 - 30-hours
2) Principles of Real Estate 2 - 30-hours
3) Law of Contracts - 30-hours
4) Promulgated Contract Forms - 30-hours
5) Law of Agency - 30-hours
6) Real Estate Finance - 30-hours

The courses can be taken in a classroom setting or online.

Most students prefer to take the course online, since they can complete it faster and it offers them the flexibility to take the course on their own time.
If you take the course in a classroom, you will have to abide by the school’s pre-set schedule.

At the end of each of the 6 courses is a proctored final exam.
Another benefit of taking the courses online is that you can also take the proctored final exams online, rather than having to drive to a school or proctoring location.

After you pass the 6, 30-hour courses, you must submit copies of the 6 Course Completion Certificates to the Texas Real Estate Commission. TREC will use the Certificates as evidence that you have completed their education requirements.

Step #3: Get Your Fingerprints Taken and Pass Your Background Check
Next, you will have to get fingerprinted and file them with the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Your fingerprints will then be used by TREC to perform a background check.

Step #4: Take and Pass the State Exam
Once your license application and 6 Course Completion Certificates are filed and approved by TREC, you will receive an eligibility letter, which includes your TREC ID number that you will use to register to take the State exam.

The State exam is proctored through PearsonVUE, a testing service company.

Prior to registering for the State exam, we recommend that you read through the Texas Real Estate Candidate Handbook.

The State exam is divided into two parts, a national portion and a state law portion.
The nation portion consists of 85 multiple-choice questions.

The state law portion consists of 40 multiple-choice questions.

You must answer at least 56 questions correctly on the national portion in order to pass, and 21 questions correctly on the state law portion.

You must pass both the national and state law portions in order to pass the overall exam.

Step #5: Find a Sponsoring Broker
Once you pass the State exam and have completed the other steps above, you will be issued an inactive license. You must have a sponsoring broker in order to receive an active real estate license. If you wish to change your license from inactive to active, you must complete a sponsorship request using TREC’s Online Licensing Service, or by submitting a Sponsorship Form.

Utah

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Utah?

Follow these steps to earn a sales agent license in Utah:

Step 1: Complete the 120-Hour Utah Pre-license Education Course

Utah salesperson license applicants must complete an approved 120-hour pre-license course before taking the state licensing examination. The course must be taken at an approved real estate school.

The 120-hour pre-license course content covers national and state topics concerning real estate practice. Once you pass the course final, you will be issued a candidate education certifying document. You must complete your salesperson pre-license course within one year of applying for your license.

Step 2: Apply for the State Exam

Utah has contracted with PearsonVUE to administer the sales agent exam. To schedule an exam online, go to www.pearsonvue.com at least 24 hours before your desired date. Otherwise, you can schedule over the telephone by calling (801) 530-6747. The exam fee is $59 paid to PearsonVUE via credit card, debit card, voucher, or check.

Refer to the Utah Real Estate Candidate Handbook for information on examination schedules, site locations, exam security, reporting, and preparation.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Exam

The Utah state exam has a general portion and a State portion. The number of questions varies according to each exam form. You must pass each section with a scaled score of 70.

You can see the specific breakdown of the number of questions asked in each topic area in the Candidate Handbook.

As part of the exam process, you'll be asked a series of Qualifying Questions required for your license application. Candidates will need to have either their Social Security number and be a US citizen or have a working social security number and an alien registration number. A sample of these questions is also available in the candidate handbook.

If you pass the exam, you will receive instructions for applying for a Utah Sales AgentLicense.

If you fail, your score report will have diagnostic scoring information and information on reapplying.

Step 4: Apply for a Utah Sales Agent Real Estate License

Once you pass your state exam, you have 90 days to apply for your sales agent license, starting with the day you pass the exam.

Follow the state application checklist to complete the application. You'll need all of the listed documents uploaded in PDF form:

• Salesperson application
• Qualifying questionnaire (done at the test center)
• Consent to Background Check
• Certification of Legal Presence (done at the test center)
• Candidate Education Certifying Document

The fee for the sales agent real estate salesperson license totals $157. It includes a $100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee, $40 fingerprinting fee, and $5 FBI RAP BACK enrollment fee.

Step 5: Submit Fingerprints for a Background Check

Utah requires all applicants to submit fingerprints for a background check. Sales agents can schedule digital fingerprinting at PearsonVUE test centers in Bountiful, Draper, Ogden, and Orem. The fee is $12 and is separate from the Utah Division of Real Estate fee.

If your test center does not offer digital fingerprinting, the candidate will be issued two fingerprint cards. Use the services of a local law enforcement agency or third-party fingerprinting vendor. You'll need to submit the cards to the Utah Division of Real Estate.

Step 6: Track Your License Status

Once your license application and its supporting documents are uploaded to the Division, you can log in to check your status. Upon application approval and hiring by a principal broker, you'll be able to practice as a Utah real estate sales agent. Congratulations!

Vermont

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Vermont?

General requirements
To qualify for a Vermont salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age. If this is you, work through the following (7) steps to earn a VT real estate salesperson license.

Step 1: Take the 40- hour pre-licensing education
All new salesperson candidates must take the 40-hour Vermont pre-license course. You must complete the course from an approved education provider. You can also search for approved courses in the Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) portal.

Your course will teach you about real estate principles and practices, such as agency, federal regulations, state regulations, contracts, financing, and property valuation. At the end of the course, you must pass a final exam to receive a Certificate of Completion.

Step 2: Schedule the national licensing exam
The fastest way to schedule your Vermont salesperson licensing exam is to go to the PSI website. Start the scheduling process and create a PSI account. You do have the option of telephone scheduling by calling 1-913-895-4600 or to use the paper registration found in the PSI Handbook.

The national salesperson examination fee is $110. PSI accepts major credit cards, cashier’s check, or money orders. The fee is non-refundable, but you can reschedule your exam just once for no charge.

PSI has test centers located in Burlington and South Burlington, VT. Additional test centers are available in New Hampshire and Massachusetts. The Candidate Information Handbook contains specific addresses, testing schedules, and more relevant information about the exam process.

Step 3: Pass the national licensing exam
Arrive for your national licensing exam no later than 15 minutes before the exam appointment. Present two forms of identification, with one being government-issued and the other showing your name, signature, and photograph.

The national licensing exam is 100 multiple-choice questions on a range of real estate topics. There may also be up to five “pre-test” questions that are experimental and do not count for your score. The Candidate Information Handbook breaks down the topics and the number of questions per topic. The total time for the exam is 2.5 hours.

As soon as you finish the exam, report to the testing supervisor for your score report. The report will show if you passed. If you did, your score report will also have instructions for applying for a license. Your examination results will also be forwarded to the Vermont Real Estate Commission (VREC). If you did not pass, the report will have your scores and re-application instructions.

Step 4: Find a hiring broker
All Vermont salespersons work under the supervision of a licensed real estate broker. Your hiring broker must complete the employment/supervision form as part of your license application process.

Step 5: Submit your salesperson license application
The Office of Professional Regulation oversees the application and licensure process in Vermont. The OPR only accepts online applications. Go to the website and create an account to start applying for your salesperson’s license. You’ll use your account in the future to check application status, renew your license, and manage any licensing changes.

The salesperson application license fee is $100. The documentation you’ll need to upload includes:
Certificate of completion from the 40-hour pre-licensing course
The employment/supervision form completed and verified
Completed state exam form
Proof of passing the national exam

OPR estimates it takes 3-5 business days to process your completed application.

Step 6: Take the Vermont state licensing exam
Vermont administers its state licensing exam through the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation as part of the initial application process. You’ll log into the application account and follow the instructions for completing the state licensing exam. There is no additional fee for taking the state exam.

Following a full application review, your license application will be approved or denied. Once approved, congratulations! You are a Vermont real estate salesperson.

Step 7: Take the 8-hour Post Licensure Education
All new Vermont real estate salespersons are required to take 8 hours of post-licensing education within 90 days of their initial licensure. This is in addition to the required 16 hours of continuing education for all salespersons. You must select from the approved courses and take the post-licensing education from an approved education provider. The state will ask for proof of the coursework when it is time for your license renewal.

Virginia

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Virginia?

There are 4 steps you need to take to get your Virginia real estate salespersons license:

Step #1: Complete the Virginia 60-hour Pre-license Course
First, you must complete the Virginia 60-hour pre-licensing course. At the end of the course is a proctored final exam. Once you pass the proctored final exam, you will earn your Certificate of Completion for the course. Meanwhile, the school will notify the PSI testing center (the testing center for the State exam) that you have completed the course.

Step #2: Schedule and Pass the State Exam
Once you complete the course and pass the proctored final exam, you are now ready to move on to Step #2… scheduling and passing the State exam.
The State exam is a proctored exam that must be taken at one of the State approved PSI testing centers.

The State exam consists of two portions: (1) National portion and (2) State portion. The National portion consists of 80 questions with a time-limit of 105 minutes. You must answer 56 out of 80 questions correctly (70%) in order to pass. The State portion consists of 40 questions with a time-limit of 45 minutes. You must answer 30 out of 40 questions correctly (75%) correctly in order to pass. You must pass both portions of the exam in order to pass the overall exam.

You can register and schedule your exam online using the following link: PSI Exams Online
You can also call PSI at 1-800-733-9267.

Your exam scores are valid for one year, meaning you must apply for your license within one year of your initial examination date.

Step #3: Get Your Fingerprints Taken
The Real Estate Board requires all applicants to get their fingerprints taken. You must get your fingerprints taken at the PSI testing center (after you pass the state exam).
Your fingerprints will take a few weeks to process before they are sent to the Real Estate Board. Once received by the Board, your fingerprints will be valid for up to 45 days, which means you must submit your license application within that time-frame.

Step #4: Apply for Your Real Estate License
Your last step is to submit your Virginia Real Estate Salespersons application via mail. You must include all required supporting documentation and pay the $170 application fee.

Once your application is approved by the Board, your license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker.

Congratulations, you are now a licensed Virginia real estate salesperson!

Washington

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Washington?

Before starting the process to get your Washington real estate broker license, you will need to meet the following requirements:

1) Be at least 18 years of age.
2) Able to show proof of a high school diploma or its equivalent

You will need to successfully complete five steps before a real estate broker license can be issued to you.

Step 1: Complete the 90-Hour Washington real estate broker prelicensure education requirement
The 90-hour prelicensure course requirement includes two mandatory courses:
1) 60-hour Washington Real Estate Fundamentals Course
2) 30-hour Washington Real Estate Practices Course

Candidates must achieve a passing grade on the final course exam for each course.

The final exam for the 60-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course includes 200 multiple-choice questions, with a passing grade of 70%.

The final exam for the 30-hour Real Estate Practices course includes 90 multiple-choice questions and also has a passing grade of 70%.

You will receive your Certificate of Completion as soon as you pass each course’s final exam.

Step 2: Schedule Your State Real Estate Broker Exam
After you have successfully completed the 90-hour pre-license course requirement, you should set up your free online student account with PSI, the testing center that administers the Washington real estate exam.

Once your PSI account is set up, RealEstateU will be able to send your course completion information to PSI. This is important because once PSI receives confirmation that you’ve completed the required prelicensure coursework, you will be able to schedule your state exam date and location through PSI.

You can make the appointment for your state exam online through PSI’s website or by calling them at 855-746-8168.

You will need to pay the state licensing exam fee of $138.25 per attempt. The fee is paid directly to PSI and once paid, will be valid for the next 12 months.

Step 3: Pass the State Real Estate Broker Licensing Exam
You must schedule and pass your state licensing exam within two years of successfully completing the 90-hour Washington real estate prelicensure education requirement, which includes the 60-Hour Real Estate Fundamentals and the 30-Hour Real Estate Practices courses.

The state licensing exam is divided into a national portion and a state portion. The national portion consists of 100 multiple-choice questions, while the state portion includes just 30 multiple-choice questions. You will be given 3.5 hours to complete the entire test. Before you can apply for your real estate broker license in Washington, you will need to pass both portions of the exam.

Keep in mind that the state exam’s questions are weighted, meaning not all questions are counted the same. Because of this, PSI cannot indicate how many questions you need to answer correctly in order to pass. Instead, PSI provides you with a percentage score—70%—that you will need to achieve on each portion of the exam.

You will receive your exam results from the testing center once you have completed the exam.

Step 4: Complete fingerprinting
The next step you’ll need to take before applying for your Washington broker’s license is to get your fingerprints taken with MorphoTrust’s IdentoGO. You will need to go in-person to one of IndentoGO’s locations to have this done.

The Washington State Patrol (WSP) and the FBI will use your fingerprints to conduct a background check. The results will then be electronically sent to the Washington State Department of Licensing.

You will need to pay a fingerprinting fee of $42.80 directly to IndentoGO.

Step 5: Apply for Your Washington real estate broker license
Once you have received a passing grade, PSI sends the results of your state exam directly to the Washing Department of Licensing within three business days. You will then be able to apply for your real estate broker’s license online.

To apply online, you first need to create your free SecureAccess Washington (SAW) account. You will then be able to apply for your license online. You will also be able to use the system to pay the $146.25 license application fee.

It’s important that you make your application within 12 months of passing both portions of the state real estate broker licensing exam to avoid having to repeat the exam.

You will be issued an inactive broker’s license if you do not have a designated broker at the time of your application. Otherwise, you will be issued an active real estate broker’s license and will be able to begin practicing real estate in Washington.

All real estate licenses issued in Washington are a type of broker license. As a new licensee, you are likely to start your real estate career as a broker. Later in your career, you may wish to become a managing broker, designated broker or even a branch manager. But, a broker license in Washington is equivalent to a real estate salesperson license in other states.

West Virginia

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in West Virginia?

General requirements

In West Virginia, you must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent before you can attain a real estate salesperson license. If you meet this qualification, you can earn your license by completing (6) steps.

Step 1: Take a 90-hour pre-licensing course
All new West Virginia salespersons must take a 90-hour pre-licensing course to prepare them for the real estate business. Take the course from a state-approved education provider.

You’ll learn about essential real estate topics like property valuation, financing, and general practice during this course. The course will also teach you specifics about West Virginia real estate laws and regulations.

After passing the final test, you will receive a Certificate of Course Completion essential for the application process. Your pre-license education is good for five years.

Step 2: Submit a criminal background check
Before your license application can be approved, you must submit to a state and federal criminal background check. Your background check results are good for 90 days, so time your background check with your application submission.

Schedule an appointment by visiting https://uenroll.identogo.com/. Bring this form with you to the background check and provide the service code 228Q6K. The fee is $45.75 paid at the time of the appointment.

Step 3: Apply for a West Virginia salesperson license
The West Virginia Real Estate Commission (WVREC) gives you the option of completing an online application or a paper application for your salesperson license. An online application is the fastest and easiest way to work through the application process.

Your salesperson license application will include:
• The signature of your employing broker with an active West Virginia license
• Two character recommendations from property owners not related to you and have known you for at least two years
• The notarization of all signatures

The salesperson application fee is $25.

Step 4: Schedule the real estate exam
The WVREC uses PSI to administer the state licensing exam. The WVREC must approve you before you can schedule your exam. PSI will contact you via email with your testing approval. Once you’ve been approved, you have 90 days to schedule the exam.

You’ll need your social security number to schedule the exam. Find the testing
schedule on the PSI website or the state Candidate Handbook.

The West Virginia Salesperson Exam costs $96 and is payable directly to PSI. The company accepts credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, or Discover), cashier’s check, or money orders. All registration fees are non-refundable and non-transferrable.

Online registration is the easiest and fastest way to set up your state licensing exam. You can also call 855-340-3903 for registration assistance.

PSI operates testing centers in Beckley, Bridgeport, Dunbar, Fairmont, and Huntington. There are also test centers in Cambridge, OH, Hagerstown, MD, and Pittsburgh, PA. You can see the testing location addresses and schedules online or in the Candidate Handbook.

Step 5: Pass the real estate exam
On exam day, arrive on time. Anyone arriving 15 minutes after scheduled testing time will not be admitted. Bring two forms of unexpired identification. One is required to be a government-issued ID with your signature and photograph.

The West Virginia state exam has a national portion and a state portion.
1. The national section is allocated 2.5 hours to answer 100 questions. Passing is 70 correct answers.
2. The state section is allocated 1 hour to answer 50 questions. Passing is 38 correct answers.
3. There may be five to ten “pretested” questions that will not count towards your score. These questions are not identified.
4. The exam questions are multiple-choice.

PSI publishes the specific number of questions for each topic area in the Candidate
Handbook.

Immediately upon exam completion, report to the testing supervisor. They will provide you with a score report marked “pass” or “fail.”

If you fail, your score report will have diagnostic information. You can retake the failed portion(s) one more time within your three-month eligibility window. If you do not pass on the retake, you’ll need to reapply again with the West Virginia Real Estate Commission.

Step 6: Submit your passing exam result
Passing candidates finish their West Virginia real estate application by submitting the license activation form found on page 13 of the Candidate Information Handbook and paying the $75 license fee. You’ll need to include your original exam report with the form. The activation form and the licensing fee must be received within three months of passing the exam.

The WVREC will send your license to your employing broker. Once they receive it, you’ll be a licensed real estate salesperson. Congratulations!

Wisconsin

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Wisconsin?

Step 1: Complete the 72-hour Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson Pre-license course

First, you must complete the Wisconsin 72-Hour Real Estate Salesperson Pre-license course. At the end of the course is a proctored final exam, which you must pass in order to receive your Certificate of Completion for the course.

Step 2: Schedule Your WI State Licensing Exam
You must schedule your state licensing exam through PearsonVUE. You can schedule your state licensing exam through the PearsonVUE website, or by phone at (888)204-6284. The state licensing exam fee is $65 per attempt.

Step 3: Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam
The state licensing exam consists of national and state-specific questions. You must obtain a weighted score of at least 75 out of 100 in order to pass. The overall exam consists of 140–150 multiple-choice questions with a 4-hour time-limit. You can retake the state licensing exam as many times as needed until you pass with a $65 exam fee for each re-attempt.

Step 4: Apply For Your License With the Help of Your Sponsoring Broker
The final step is to apply for your Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson license with the help of your sponsoring broker.

You must submit your license application within 1 year of passing the state licensing exam and within 5 years of completing the 72-hour WI Real Estate Salesperson Pre-license course.

You can submit your license application online through the Online Licensure Application System (OLAS) or a paper version of the license application through mail. You must submit a copy of your Certificate of Completion from the 72-hour pre-license course with your license application.

The license application fee of $75, which is paid directly to the DSPS.

Your license will be mailed to your sponsoring broker once your application if reviewed and approved by the DSPS.

Wyoming

How do I get my real estate salesperson's license in Wyoming?

General Requirements
In Wyoming, real estate salesperson candidates must be at least the age of majority by the time they take the salesperson exam. If you meet this basic qualification, you can work through the following (6) steps to earn a Wyoming salesperson license.

Step 1: Submit two (2) fingerprint cards
Before an individual can pursue a Wyoming salesperson license, their first step is to submit fingerprints for an FBI and state DCI background check. You need to submit two blue fingerprint cards in a sealed manila envelope at least 9x9 inches in size.

To get your fingerprints done, call any law enforcement agency and ask for their fingerprinting procedure. Your local law enforcement agency may charge a fee for fingerprinting. Make sure whoever takes your fingerprints is qualified to do so, as they must sign the fingerprint cards. The official also seals the envelope you bring with an official stamp from the department or agency doing the fingerprinting.

Include with the completed fingerprint cards a note or letter with your contact information and a certified check or money order for $39.00 made payable to the Office of the Attorney General. You will need to mail this to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission office at:

WYOMING REAL ESTATE COMMISSION
2617 E. LINCOLNWAY
SUITE H
CHEYENNE, WY 82002

Specific instructions and advice are found in the state’s instructions for fingerprinting.

Your fingerprint reports are valid for 90 days after it is issued to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission (WREC). You need to complete the application process before the report expires or you will have to begin again. You can submit your fingerprint cards prior to or at the same time as your license application.

Step 2: Complete the Pre-Licensing Education Courses
The Wyoming Real Estate Commission breaks the pre-licensing education into three courses:
• Salesperson I Course: agency relationships, contracts, general legal principles, real property ownership, financing, marketing regulations, property management, and calculations.
• Salesperson II Course: real estate professionalism, environmental issues, state statutory laws, federal laws, roles and responsibilities, relationships, and specifics of real estate practice
• Wyoming Law Course: This can be combined with Salesperson I or be separate. The course covers: real estate licensing agency powers, licensing, requirements, and additional topics.

Full suggested content outlines are available for these courses. State law dictates the combined total minimum length of Salesperson I and Salesperson II be 30 hours. The Wyoming Real Estate Commission recommends Salesperson I be no less than 40 hours.

Salesperson real estate candidates must take and pass all three of these courses as part of their licensing requirement. You must take the course from one of the approved education providers. The list includes online and in-person learning, so you can select the style that works best for you. Online is the easiest and fastest way to work through pre-licensing education.

Step 3: Schedule the Real Estate Licensing Exam
Pearson VUE administers Wyoming’s salesperson licensing exam. All testing must be scheduled at least 24 hours before the desired exam date. The most convenient way to register for your test is to visit Pearson VUE online, register for the exam, and pay the fee. However, you can schedule by telephone by calling (866) 600-5442.

The exam fee is $80 per section if taken at a test center and $90 per section when taken on OnVUE. If you take both sections at once, the fee is $160 at a test center. Your exam fee is payable by credit card, debit card, or voucher. It is non-refundable and not transferable.

Test centers are available in Casper, Cheyenne, Evanston, Gillette, Laramie, Mountain View, Rawlins, Riverton, Sheridan, and Torrington. Days and availability may change. There is also an online testing option, OnVUE.

The Candidate Information Handbook has more information about scheduling and preparing for the exam.

Step 4: Pass the Salespersons Licensing Exam
Bring to the testing center two forms of identification in the English language. One form must be a government-issued ID with your signature and photo.

The Wyoming salesperson exam consists of:
1. A national portion allotted 2.5 hours to answer 80 questions.
2. A state portion allotted 1.5 hours to answer 40 questions.
3. Up to 5-10 experimental questions that do not count towards your score

The Candidate Information Handbook contains outlines on the topics and question numbers in each area for both test portions.

All salesperson candidates leave the test center with an official score report. If you are testing online, you need to log into the Pearson VUE account to get the score report.

Score reports are marked as pass or fail. All passing candidates will receive information on applying for their licenses. Any candidates who do not pass will receive diagnostic information and instructions for retaking the exam. If you fail just one part of the exam, you must retake that part within six months.

The Wyoming licensing exam uses a scaled score to account for differences in difficulty between exam forms. For this reason, the tests are scored from 0 to 100 with a minimum passing score set as 75 on the national and the state portion.

Step 5: Purchase Errors and Omissions Insurance
All Wyoming real estate professionals must carry current Errors and Omissions Insurance. Wyoming has a partnership with Rice Insurance Services Center to administer group E&O coverage. If you choose RISC enrollment, it will verify your coverage directly to the WREC. Premiums vary by the policy chosen and the month of enrollment. The lowest premium for a 12-month policy starting January 2022 was $225.

You do have the option to carry private E&O coverage but must submit a certificate of coverage to the WREC showing it meets coverage specifications.

Step 6: Submit Wyoming Salesperson License Application
You have 90 days after passing the exam to submit a complete application and its fees to the Wyoming Real Estate Commission. Refer to the salesperson license application instructions received with your score report. Your license application must include:
• Copies of education course completion certificates
• Licensing exam score report
• A recent front facial view photograph emailed to [email protected]
• Copy of a birth certificate and driver’s license OR a passport as proof of legal residence
• Proof of errors and omissions insurance

Your salesperson application will also require your professional licensing history, non-relative character references, and past criminal or litigation history. Applications must be notarized.

The license application fee is $300 payable to the WREC due within 90 days of the last exam date.

Once your application is approved, the license will be emailed to your responsible broker. Congratulations, you are now a Wyoming real estate salesperson!

Related FAQs

Geting a real estate license does not take long. You want to know how long it takes? Then click here.
Read More
Getting a real estate license costs less than you might think. Click here to read more.
Read More
Have you wondered what is the real license test you need to take to get your license? The answer is the state exam. Click here to see what is included in the state exam.
Read More