There are two final course exams as well as the state licensure exam required to apply for your real estate license. You will need to receive a minimum score of 70% on proctored final exams for the required pre-licensure coursework administered by an approved real estate instructor or equivalent.
You will also need to take both a national and state portion of the South Carolina real estate license exam, unless you are exempt from having to take the national portion. You must score a 56 out of 80 points on the national portion and 28 out of 40 points on the state portion to pass the exam.
You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license. This age requirement corresponds to the time of application.Read More
Eligible candidates for a South Carolina real estate salesperson license must have a high school diploma or a certificate of equivalency recognized by South Carolina’s Department of Education.Read More
That depends on how long it takes you to complete the steps necessary to qualify for your real estate license in South Carolina, including education and criminal background check.Read More
The South Carolina Real Estate Commission recognizes the qualifications of real estate salespersons licensed in other jurisdictions. The state of Georgia has been issued full reciprocity, while other jurisdictions are likely to be exempt from the national portion of the real estate exam.Read More
Yes, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission is required to verify your social security number using a copy of your social security card. This is required before a license is issued by any South Carolina licensing board, including the real estate commission.Read More
No, you may not practice real estate without a supervising broker and office code, which needs to be submitted to the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. If you do not yet have a supervising broker, you will need to indicate this on your application.Read More
Having a criminal record does not necessarily prevent you from being issued a real estate license in South Carolina. However, certain convictions can be used as grounds for denial. In these cases, you will be required to appear before the Commission for an application hearing.Read More
There are three general requirements that all candidates will need to meet in order to apply for a real estate salesperson license in SC:
1) Be at least 18 years old.
2) Must have obtained a high school diploma (or certificate of equivalency).
3) Be lawfully present and eligible to work within the U.S.
As part of the real estate license process, you will be required to submit to a fingerprints-based criminal background check, to be conducted by the State Law Enforcement Division and the FBI. These two methods of digging into an applicant’s criminal background history will be used by the SC Real Estate Commission.Read More
South Carolina Labor Licensing Regulation allows for licensure under the “Armed Services Members and Spouses Professional and Occupational Licensing Act” to apply to those married to, and living with, an active military member. Applicants must hold a professional or occupational license in another state.Read More
There are a number of fixed costs involved in obtaining your South Carolina state real estate salesperson’s license. Examination fee: $63 per attempt or $55 for just the state-specific portion of the exam; Salesperson license application fee: $25; Salesperson new license fee: $50 (renewable on a biennial basis)Read More
Although the South Carolina Real Estate Commission accepts mailed-in applications, the fastest turnaround can be had by making your application using the online application portal. You will first need to register before you can begin the online application process.Read More
Yes, evidence of holding a juris doctor degree or bachelor of law degree can substitute for completion of 60 hours of classroom instruction in the fundamentals of real estate principles and practices as well as the 30 hours of coursework in advanced real estate principles.Read More
There are two final course exams as well as the state licensure exam required to apply for your real estate license. You will need to receive a minimum score of 70% on proctored final exams for the required pre-licensure coursework administered by an approved real estate instructor or equivalent.Read More
Step 1: Successfully complete the 90-Hour South Carolina Real Estate Salesperson Pre-License Courses
Step 2: Submit an Exam Application and Schedule Your State Real Estate Salesperson Exam
Step 3: Pass the State Licensing Exam
Step 4: Apply for Your SC License
Step 5: Have Your Fingerprints Taken
You will be required to undergo a background check prior to applying to take the state real estate licensing exam. You will need to obtain this by following instructions of the South Carolina Real Estate Commission and then upload a copy with your application. You will also need to pay the processing fee, about $40.Read More
The criminal background and character questions are included on the SC Real Estate Commission Exam Application for Real Estate. This portion of the application consists of only two questions. The first involves disclosure of any criminal history. The second question focuses on character asking for disclosure of any.Read More
© RealEstateU® 2013-2022