What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license?

Before you apply for a real estate license all states require that you must be at least 18 years of age. All applicants must take the state specific real estate licensing course. You must also pass a state licensing exam. Some states require you to submit fingerprints for a background check, and purchase E&O Insurance. You should also have a sponsoring broker. Once you have finished these steps, you can apply for your license.

Checkout the requirements to apply for a real estate license in your state by clicking on one of the options below.

Alabama

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Alabama?

All Alabama salesperson applicants must be at least 19 years of age, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, reside in the United States, be a citizen, permanent resident, or legally present in US, and not have been convicted of a felony or crime concerning moral turpitude.

Before you apply, you must pass a 60-hour pre-license course and the state licensing exam.

Your application requires you to submit:

• Proof of citizenship or lawful presence in the United States
• Proof of age
• Proof of residency in the United States
• License Application
• Proof of high school education or equivalent

See the licensing instructions for a complete list of acceptable documentation of each bullet point.

Alaska

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Alaska?

Before you can apply for your Alaska real estate license, you must first take 40 hours of pre-license education and pass the state licensing exam. Following those two steps, you must be hired by an Alaska license broker and purchase errors and omissions insurance. Once you have taken care of these four steps, you can make your application.

Include with your application your certificate of completion from the pre-license education course, your original exam score sheet showing you passed the Alaska portion of the salesperson exam, proof of your errors and omissions insurance coverage, and the employing broker information form.

Arizona

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Arizona?

All applicants must be at least 18 years of age. Arizona has no other general requirements. You must have passed your 90-hour pre-license course, the state licensing exam, and the 6-hour Contract Writing Course before you apply.

Your application requires you to submit:

• Proof of a lawful presence in the United States
• License Application
• Arizona State Exam score report
• Pre-licensure course completion certificate
• Contract Writing Course Certificate
• DPS-issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card
• Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI-214/244)
• Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI-400), if applicable

Arkansas

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Arkansas?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for an Arkansas real estate license. While you don’t need to complete the pre-license education before you apply, you must send proof of education before the AREC will issue a Certificate of Testing Eligibility. You do need to complete your FBI fingerprint card.

Your salesperson application documents must include:

• Proof of age, such as a copy of your driver's license or birth certificate
• Proof of education requirements, such as original course completion certificate or other documentation
• FBI fingerprint card

With your follow-up application, you’ll need:

• The official state exam score report
• Signed post-license education requirement notice

California

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in California?

In order to qualify to apply for your California real estate license, you must satisfy the general requirements, the course requirements, and pass the state licensing exam
The general requirements include the following:

• You must be at least 18 years old.
• If you are not a California resident, you must file a Consent to Service of Process.
• You must meet the DRE's qualifications for being "honest and truthful".

The course requirements include the following:

• You must complete the 45-hour Real Estate Principles course.
• You must complete the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course.
• You must complete a 45-hour elective course.

The general and course requirements must be fulfilled before you can sit for the State licensing exam.
Once you pass the state licensing exam, the DRE will notify you via email to submit your license application in the eLicensing System.

The DRE now offers an online application option with its Real Estate eLicensing System. You’ll first create an eLicensing Account. Once created, you can apply for an exam or the exam and license option. Please make sure you use your legal name on all your accounts and documents to spend up the process.

A second option is to mail your license application back to the DRE, along with the required fee and supporting documents to the following address:
Department of Real Estate
P.O. Box 137001
Sacramento, CA 95813-7001

You cannot fax your license application, as the DRE requires an original signature.

The DRE is not permitted to issue or renew a full-time real estate license if the applicant is on a list of persons who have not complied with a court order to provide child support payments.
The Department of Child Support Services compiles the list, which includes all counties in California.
If you qualify for a real estate license but are included on this list, the DRE will issue you a 150-day license. You will then have 150 days to be cleared from this list and provide the DRE with a release from the Department of Child Support Services.
If you fail to do so, your license will be suspended after the 150 days, and will remain so until the delinquency is cleared.

The Combined Salesperson Exam and License Application allows you to apply for your state exam and your real estate license at the same time.
Once you pass the state licensing exam, the DRE will go ahead and issue your real estate license.
This will ultimately allow you to save several weeks of time during the licensing process since you do not have to file a separate license application after passing the state exam. Online filing with the Real Estate eLicensing System speeds up the process even more.

If you have a sponsoring broker by the time you are ready to apply for the state licensing exam, we recommend that you submit a Combined Salesperson Exam/License Application.

Colorado

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Colorado?

Before you apply for your Colorado real estate broker’s license, you must have successfully completed the required education, passed the state licensing exam, submitted your fingerprints for a background check, and obtained E & O insurance. You must also be at least 18 years of age. You’ll also need to identify an employing broker you will work under to get an active license.

Include proof of education, such as your form REC-33 from the 168-hour broker pre-license course. If you are submitting through reciprocity, you’ll need a certified license history from that state. All real estate brokers must have proof of insurance. You may need to include supporting documents, as explained in the application instructions.

Connecticut

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Connecticut?

Before you can apply for your Connecticut real estate salesperson license, you first must complete a 60-hour course called Real Estate Principles and Practices. You need to earn a course completion certificate to turn in with your license application. Otherwise, there are no general requirements to be a real estate salesperson in Connecticut.

Documents to include in your application are the Original Real Estate Principles & Practices Course Completion Certificate and a check or money order for $80.00 made payable to PSI Examination Services.

Delaware

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Delaware?

Before you can submit your Delaware real estate salesperson license application, you must first take 99 hours of pre-license education, pass the state licensing exam, and be at least 18 years of age. A Delaware licensed broker will need to hire you.

Be prepared to upload documentation showing your pre-license course completion certificate and your original exam score report from Pearson VUE. You will also need to include the statement of Broker Of Record signed by your hiring broker and any legal documents showing a name change, if necessary.

Florida

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Florida?

In order to apply for a Florida real estate sales associate license, you must meet the following requirements:

1) Be at least 18 years of age.

2) Able to provide proof of a high school diploma or equivalent.

3) Must have a U.S. Social Security number.

In addition to the above, you will need to meet the pre-license education requirements prior to taking the state exam. You will need to provide proof of satisfactory course completion for the approved 63-hour pre-license education for sales associates.

You will need to submit your fingerprints for a background check and submit your application for licensure prior to taking the state exam. You will need to provide proof that you have completed the education requirement when you take the state exam and must do so within two years of completing the course.

If you have a four-year degree in real estate, you may be exempt from the pre-license education requirement, but will need to submit your official certified college transcripts with your application.

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation will also review the results of your criminal background check and determine if you are of satisfactory character and competence to be a Florida real estate sales associate. Once your application is approved, you will need to pass the state exam for licensure, which is administered by Pearson Vue.

Social security number is required when you apply for a real estate sales associate license in Florida. You will be asked to provide a social security number as part of the personal information you provide on your real estate sales associate license application, along with your full legal name, mailing address, contact information, residence address (if it differs from your mailing address) and alternate contact information.

Attorneys are exempt from the 63-hour pre-licensing course required of sales associate candidates if they are active members in good standing with the Florida Bar.

Georgia

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Georgia?

The following is a list of requirements to get a Georgia real estate salespersons license:

• Real Estate Education Requirement: you must complete one of the following education requirements
○ Complete the 75-hour Georgia pre-license real estate salespersons course.
○ Complete at least 10 quarter hours, or 6 semester hours of course work as part of a degree program in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university.
○ Complete at least 75-hour of pre-license real estate education from another State or province of Canada.
• General Education Requirement: you must have a high school diploma or a certificate of equivalency.
• Age Requirement: you must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a real estate license in Georgia.
• State Exam Requirement: you must pass the State real estate salespersons exam.
• Background Check: you must submit a criminal history report or a Georgia Crime Information Center (GCIC) Report.
• Apply for your Georgia real estate salespersons license.
• Fees: you must pay the required fees, including the State exam fee ($121) and license application fee ($170).

Hawaii

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Hawaii?

Before you can apply for a Hawaii real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. You must meet the state's education requirement either through a bachelor's degree from an accredited college, a United States law school degree, or 60 hours of pre-licensing education from a state-certified school. Finally, you must pass the state licensing exam in order to receive your licensing application.

The documents you need to submit for your Hawaii salesperson license application include:

• An official Certification of Licensure less than 90 days old from each state outside Hawaii where you may have been licensed as a real estate broker or salesperson.
• Original "School Completion Certificate," or original "Prelicensing Education Equivalency Certificate for Real Estate License Exam."
• Any background documentation explaining any criminal convictions, charges, or deferred judgments, such as a written explanation of the incident, charging documents, and a sentencing order.

Idaho

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Idaho?

The requirements to apply for an Idaho real estate salesperson license are as follows:

• Be at least 18 years old
• Be legally present in the United States
• Hold a high school diploma or its equivalent
• Take 90 hours of pre-licensing education
• Pass the state licensing exam
• Pass the background check
• Purchase errors and omissions insurance

Once you have achieved these steps, you can go to Idaho Real Estate Commission online services to apply for your license.

Remember to attach with your Idaho real estate salesperson license application:

• Proof of your legal presence in the United States, such as a copy of your Idaho driver's license or valid US passport
• Copy of your high school diploma or equivalency certificate or university diploma
• Any prior records of licensure
• Payment for the license application fee

Illinois

What are the requirements for real estate brokers license in Illinois?

Before you can apply for your Illinois broker license, you first must be at least 18 years of age. You must also have a high school diploma or a GED diploma. Make sure you successfully finish the pre-license course and pass the state licensing exam. You need to be hired by a licensed Illinois managing broker before you can submit your license application with the IREC.

You will need to upload into the Online Services Portal your official score report from PSI. You also need verification of any professional license held in any regulated profession in any United States. If you had any positive answers to the screening form, you may also need to upload Court documentation and sworn statements. Finally, you'll need information from your sponsoring broker.

Indiana

What are the requirements for real estate brokers license in Indiana?

Before you apply for your Indiana real estate broker’s license, you must have successfully completed the 90-hour pre-license broker course and the state licensing exam. You must also be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED. Include a $60.00 check or money order payable to the IPLA.

Make sure you include your 90-hour broker pre-license course completion certificate and official score report from the State Exam. If you are submitting through reciprocity, you’ll need your official license verification from that state. If you answer “yes” to screening questions 1-5 or “no” to question 6, you’ll also need to include supporting documents, as explained in the application.

Iowa

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Lowa?

Before you can apply for an Iowa real estate salesperson license, you must:

• Be 18 years of age
• Completed the 60-hour Iowa pre-licensing course
• Completed (3) 12-hour courses in real estate practices
• Passed the state licensing exam
• Been hired by an Iowa real estate broker
• Purchased E&O insurance
• Submitted your fingerprints for a background check

Once you have done all of these things, you can submit the license application.

Your application requires:

• 60-hour pre-license course completion certificate dated within the last 12 months
• Completion certificates for three 12-hour courses in Listing Practices, Buying Practices, and Ethics dated within the last 12 months
• Passing score report for the exam dated within the prior six months
• Proof of E&O insurance in Iowa
• Started or completed the criminal background check

A group insurance policy is available with the Iowa Real Estate Commission through Rice Insurance Services Company (RISC). You can also hire a private carrier, as long as your policy meets the requirements of coverage as outlined in Chapter 19 of the Administrative Rules 193-E.

Kansas

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Kansas?

To apply for a Kansas real estate salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age and have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent. The state requires you to take 60-hours in pre-licensing education, pass a licensing exam, and pass a background check.

You must include with your application the course completion certificate from the Kansas practice course, proof of education, and, if applicable, any supporting documentation regarding past licensing or your character, a non-resident form, and prior certified license history.

Kentucky

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Kentucky?

Before you apply for your Kentucky real estate salesperson license, you must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent and be 18 years of age. You need to complete the pre-license education, submit your fingerprints for a background check, take and pass the state exam, and purchase errors and omissions insurance. Once you have done these steps, you will be ready to apply for your salesperson license.

Your Kentucky salesperson license application requires several documents. Be prepared to submit:

​​• Proof of high school diploma, GED, or equivalent
• Real estate education documentation via official college transcript or course completion certificate
• FBI background check record still valid within 90 days and fingerprint card
• Proof of E&O Insurance

Louisiana

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Louisiana?

Before you apply for your Louisiana real estate salesperson's license, follow the pre-licensing checklist. You must complete the 90-hour pre-license education, submit Part A of the Salesperson Application, pass the state licensing exam, order a background check, and obtain E&O insurance. You must also be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. You’ll need to identify a sponsoring broker to submit Part B of your license application and for an active license.

You’ll need your certificate of completion from your 90-hour pre-license course. If you are submitting through reciprocity, you’ll need a certified license history from your current state. With Part B, you’ll need to have proof of E&O insurance through proof of payment and the declarations page.

Maine

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Maine?

To apply for a Sales Agent license in Maine, you will need:

• Sales Agent course completion certificate
• Sales Agent Exam Score Report showing you passed the test within the last year
• Maine agency affiliation information and broker authorization
• Pay a total $121 license application fee

You'll need to include your Sales Agent Course Completion Certificate and official Sales Agent Exam Score Report with the application. If you answer yes to the disciplinary action disclosure, you'll need to include a detailed explanation and related documentation.

Maryland

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Maryland?

First, you must be at least 18 years of age to hold a Maryland real estate license. You must also be in good standing and have a good character. Otherwise, you must first complete the 60-hour pre-license education course and pass the state licensing exam before you can apply for a Maryland real estate license.

Massachusetts

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Massachusetts?

Before you can apply for your Massachusetts real estate license, you must first be at least 18 years of age and have a valid social security number or tax identification number. You need to take and pass the 40-hour Massachusetts pre-license education course and receive the education certificate form. Finally, you need to obtain three character endorsements from people not related to you. Once you have done this, you can apply for your Massachusetts salesperson license.

In order for your application to be considered complete, you must include the following documentation:

• A current picture
• Pre-license education certificate form
• Three character endorsements
• CORI acknowledgement form

Michigan

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Michigan?

Before you can submit your Michigan real estate salesperson's license application via MiPLUS, you must satisfy the following requirements:
1) You must have completed the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course (real estate salespersons course), which includes at least four hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing.
2) You must be at least 18 years old.
3) You must have good moral character.


Once you complete the 40-hour pre-license course, you are now ready to submit your Michigan real estate license application through MiPLUS.

First, you must create a free MiPLUS account. Once your account is created, you can then submit your license application and pay the required fee through your MiPLUS account. Your sponsoring broker may then enter in to their own MiPLUS account to confirm your sponsorship.
Once LARA approves your license application, you will receive an email from PSI (the state's testing center), which includes your Exam Candidate ID number.

You can then schedule your state exam by calling PSI at (855)579-4635.

Please note, you have up to three years to apply for your real estate license from the date you complete the 40-hour pre-license course to the date LARA receives your license application.
Once your license application is submitted, you have up to one year to pass the state exam and have a sponsoring broker confirm your employment.

Minnesota

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Minnesota?

Minnesota has one basic requirement: be at least 18 years of age when applying for your license.
In addition, you must meet the education requirement of passing the 90-hour pre-license course bundle and passing the state real estate exam. You must find a licensed real estate broker to work under, who will sponsor and submit your license application.

As part of your salesperson license application, you will need to demonstrate you have successfully completed Course I, Course II, and Course III. Include your official score report from the state licensing exam. If you answered affirmative to any screening questions, you may also need to include further written statements and court documentation.

Mississippi

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Mississippi?

Before you apply for your Mississippi real estate salesperson license, you must first be at least 18 years of age. Next, you must take 60 hours of pre-licensing education. Once you've met these two requirements, you can submit a salesperson license application.

The resident salesperson license application must include:

• Two photos of the applicant. One photo must be a full face and one a face side profile.
• Your qualifying education certificates or original college transcript showing real estate education
• A notarization date within the last 60 days
• Information completed by your Mississippi-licensed employing broker
• Any supporting documentation related to answers to questions 13-21.

Missouri

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Missouri?

When an individual has completed the 72 hours of pre-license education and has passed both sections (national and state) of the state exam, the individual is now eligible to apply for a Missouri real estate license.

Remember, real estate license applicants must submit the real estate license application to the MREC within six months of completing the 48-hour pre-exam course.

If real estate license applicants have had their education requirements waived, they must apply for a Missouri real estate license within six months of passing both sections of the Missouri State real estate exam.

Additionally, applicants for a Missouri real estate license must demonstrate that they are individuals:

• Of good moral character.

• With professional reputations as honest and fair.

• Competent to perform the duties of the license. MREC Board Rules 2250.3.010(1).

The application for a real estate license should be sent to the Missouri Real Estate Commission when the applicant has completed the 48-hour pre-exam course, the 24-hour real estate practice course, and passed the Missouri State exam.

Applications can be sent by mail or hand delivered to the following address:

The Missouri Real Estate Commission

PO Box 1339

Jefferson City, MO 65102

According to a Missouri Real Estate Commission directive in 6-2018, a real estate licensee that is requesting a name change on their license must provide one of the following documents before the request is granted:

· A legible copy of the real estate license applicant's driver's license or Social Security card.

· A legible copy of the real estate license applicant's marriage license or divorce decree.

· A legible copy of adoption paperwork.

· A legible copy of the real estate license applicant's court documents evidencing name change.

According to MREC Board Rule CSR 2250-4.020(4), a licensee must notify the Missouri Real Estate Commission within 10 days in the event of a name change or home address change. Information is available on the Missouri Real Estate Commission’s website.

Montana

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Montana?

You must be at least 18 years of age to apply for your license. You must have received credit for completing two years of a full curriculum of study at an accredited high school or its equivalent. If you meet these basic requirements, then you'll need to take 70 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, and be hired by a licensed Montana Broker.

The documents that must be included are:

• Your pre-licensing education completion certificate
• Official score exam results
• Any official license verification from states or jurisdictions where you held a license
• Additional documentation as noted to any "yes" answers to the application discipline questions

Nebraska

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Nebraska?

Before you can apply for a Nebraska Real Estate salesperson license, you must be at least 19 years old and have achieved a high school diploma or its equivalent. You must also be a legal resident of the United States or a citizen. You must take a total of 66 hours of pre-licensing education before you can turn in your license application.

Your real estate salesperson license application requires you to include:

• Proof of your high school education or its equivalent
• Proof of pre-licensing education either as transcripts or certificates of completion
• A passport-type photograph showing your head and shoulders sized at least 2x2 inches and taken within the last year

Include with yourlicense issuance form proof of passing the state licensing exam, the section signed by your employing broker, and proof of Errors and Omission insurance coverage

Nevada

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Nevada?

The basic requirement to apply for a Nevada salesperson license is to be at least 18 years of age. If you need this basic qualification, you'll need to complete a 120-hour pre-license education course, pass the state licensing exam, submit to a background check, and be hired by a licensed Nevada broker.

All applicants will need to submit Form 619 or the original fingerprint verification form. You also need proof of your pre-license education and the score report from Pearson VUE dated within the last 12 months. Any non-residents will need a notarized Form 656. You may need additional documentation depending on any answers to the salesperson license application.

New Hampshire

What are the requirements for real estate license application in New Hampshire?

Before you can apply for a New Hampshire salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age. You will need to take 40 hours of pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, be hired by a licensed New Hampshire broker, and initiate your criminal record check.

All salesperson applicants must include the original passing licensing exam score report. In addition, your answers to questions 1-6 in part four of the application may require you to submit additional documentation. Follow the instructions if this applies to you.

New Jersey

What are the requirements for real estate license application in New Jersey?

Before you can apply for your New Jersey real estate license, you must meet the basic criteria. You’ll need to be 18 years or older and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. Next, you must take the 75-hour pre-license education course. Pass the state licensing exam. Be hired by a Managing Broker and submit fingerprints for a background check. Once you’ve met those steps, your Managing Broker can submit your license application.

You will need to have ready:

• PSI state exam passing score report, both completed and signed by the employing broker
• Completed Sagem-Morpho Universal Form and receipt (provided when fingerprinting is done)
• Proof of high school education
• Any additional documentation as indicated by screening questions

New Mexico

What are the requirements for real estate brokers license in New Mexico?

Before you apply for a New Mexico associate broker license, you must be at least 18 years of age. All applicants must take a total of 90 hours of pre-licensing education. You must pass a state licensing exam, submit fingerprints for a background check, and purchase E & O Insurance. You should also be working to be hired by a New Mexico qualifying broker. Once you have finished these steps, you can apply for your license.

Submit with your associate broker license application:

• The licensing exam score report showing you passed both sections
• Fingerprint certification documentation
• Certificate of E&O insurance policy coverage
• The non-refundable license application fee of $270
• Any supporting documents to answers as detailed in Section D

New York

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in New York?

Once you complete the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course, you can then schedule your state exam through eAccessNY.
You will first have to create your eAccessNY account before you can schedule your state exam.

Most students schedule their NY state licensing exam after completing the 75-hour NYS real estate salespersons course since the course will prepare them for the exam.
However, you can still schedule and take the state exam prior to completing the 75-hour course.
The NYS Department of State only requires that you complete the 75-hour course and pass the state exam before applying for a real estate license.

You will not be eligible to submit a NY real estate salesperson license application if you are more than four months in arrears in the payment of child support.

A paper version of the NYS Real Estate Salesperson Application should only be used if you are applying for your license under the following circumstances:

• You are applying for your license as an attorney admitted to the NYS Bar.
• You were previously licensed as a real estate salesperson or broker in NY.
• The DOS waived the 75-hour education requirement.
• You are applying for a NY real estate license via reciprocity.

In all other cases, you must apply for your real estate license online through your eAccessNY account.

North Carolina

What are the education requirements for real estate in North Carolina?

In order to apply for a provisional broker license in North Carolina, you must meet the following requirements:

1. Be age 18 or older
2. Be a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S. and be authorized to work here in the real estate brokerage field
3. Have a Social Security number

To become licensed as a provisional broker in North Carolina, you will need to meet the following additional requirements:

• Satisfy the education qualifications by completing the 75-hour North Carolina broker pre-licensing course or qualify to have it successfully waived
• File a completed application, including criminal history record, and pay applicable fee
• Pass the two-part real estate license exam, unless eligible to bypass all or part of it
• Successfully satisfy the Commission that you possess the requisite character
Note that your license will remain in provisional status until you complete an additional 90 hours of post-licensing coursework during the first 18 months of your licensure.

An attorney may receive a waiver of the required 75-hour pre-license coursework. A request to waive this education requirement should be made in writing and included with the application for license. In addition, a transcript and copy of your law degree must be included with the application for licensure.

It is advisable to complete and submit your application online. You can expect to include the following with your provisional broker license application:

• The application
• Proof of satisfactory completion of pre-licensure education. Your approved real estate education provider should electronically report your completion of the course.
• Criminal background report. The reporting agency will attach their completed background report electronically to your online broker application.
• Payment of $100 application fee.
If you are seeking a waiver for any component of the state real estate license exam or the pre-license coursework, you will also need to include transcripts and copies of your degree, as appropriate.

If you have a past history of convictions or criminal activity, in addition to your criminal history report, you will need to provide an explanation of each conviction as well as any appropriate court records.

Yes, providing your Social Security number is mandatory in making your application. The North Carolina Real Estate Commission is required by law to collect your Social Security number, but the law says it must also protect it from public access or improper disclosure. In addition, the Commission requires that each school must collect the last four digits of every student’s Social Security number.

Non-resident applicants should file an irrevocable consent allowing for suits and actions that may be taken against them to occur in the proper court within the state of North Carolina.

North Dakota

What are the requirements for real estate license application in North Dakota?

Before you can apply for a North Dakota salesperson license, you need to be a state resident or actively licensed in another state. You must also be at least 18 years of age and of relatively good character.

The only document that you need to submit with your North Dakota salesperson license application is the Criminal History Record Record Form. If you are finished your pre-license education, you can go ahead and submit your course completion certificate.

Ohio

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Ohio?

Before you can apply for your Ohio salesperson license, you must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and not have been convicted of a felony or crime of moral turpitude. You'll need to complete the 120 hours of instruction, and find a sponsoring broker before you can submit your salesperson application.

In addition to your license examination application, you need to provide a copy of the official transcript or certificate of completion showing you met the pre-license class requirement. You may also need to attach additional information regarding any yes answers to the Ethical Conduct and Legal History questions.

Oklahoma

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Oklahoma?

Before you can apply for an Oklahoma salesperson license, you must be a United States citizen. You'll need to complete a 90-hour pre-license course, apply for a provisional license, submit fingerprints for a background check, and pass the state licensing exam.

When you first apply for your provisional salesperson license application, you will need to submit your certificate of completion for the 90-hour education course. You will also need to upload proof of your citizenship either as a birth certificate or a United States passport. Copies of driver's licenses are not accepted as proof of citizenship.

Oregon

What are the requirements for real estate brokers license in Oregon?

Applying for your Oregon real estate broker’s license is actually the first step in earning a broker license. You must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent.

You’ll include proof of a high school education or its equivalent. You may need to include supporting documents depending on application answers.

Pennsylvania

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Pennsylvania?

In order to be eligible to apply for a Pennsylvania real estate salesperson's license, you must satisfy the following requirements:
1) Be at least 18 years old.
2) Have a High School diploma, or equivalent diploma (GED).
3) Complete the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course.
4) Pass the Pennsylvania state licensing exam.
5) Complete a criminal record check.

Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission will waive their 75-hour pre-license education requirement if you hold a juris doctor degree from an accredited law school.

Rhode Island

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Rhode Island?

Before you apply for a Rhode Island real estate salesperson license, you need to complete the pre-licensing education, pass the state licensing exam, order your criminal history check, purchase errors and omissions insurance, and be hired by a state-licensed principal broker. Once you've done all that, you can submit your license application.

Before you turn in your Rhode Island salesperson license application, you need to have the following documents ready for upload:

• Pre-licensing education proof of completion
• Lead Poisoning / Lead Hazard mitigation course completion certificate
• State licensing exam score report
• Certificates of errors and omissions insurance
• Three recommendations from Rhode Island residents

South Carolina

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in South Carolina?

There are three general requirements that all candidates will need to meet in order to apply for a real estate salesperson license in South Carolina. These three requirements include:

1) Must be at least 18 years of age.
2) Must have obtained a high school diploma (or certificate of equivalency).
3) Must be lawfully present and eligible to work within the U.S.

In addition to these three basic requirements, you will also need to meet the education requirements, and pass both the background check and the state real estate exam. Finally, the South Carolina Real Estate Commission must determine that you are of the character worthy of being licensed.

You will have already supplied some of the necessary documentation for getting a South Carolina real estate license when you submit your application for exam eligibility.

After you have passed the state exam for licensure, PSI will provide you with an initial salesperson application form. You can also access an application form online. You will be able to upload any required information and necessary documentation.

If applicable, your transcripts, copies of your degree, and certified license history should accompany your application If you have not requested a waiver for any part of the state real estate license exam or the required pre-license coursework.

If you have a history of convictions or criminal activity, you will need to provide an explanation of each conviction as well as any relevant court records and details. If applicable, this should be in addition to your criminal background report.

You will need to pay the additional $50 license fee after having passed the examination. You would have already paid a $25 fee at the time you applied for eligibility approval for the exam. You can make your payment to the commission by Visa, Mastercard or online check.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission is required to verify your social security number using a copy of your social security card. This is required before a license is issued by any South Carolina licensing board, including the real estate commission.

South Dakota

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in South Dakota?

Before you can apply for your broker associate license, you'll need to:
• Be at least 18 years of age
• Be a US citizen or South Dakota resident
• Take the 116-hour pre-licensing course
• Pass the state licensing exam
• Be fingerprinted for the background check
• Purchase E&O insurance

Once you have accomplished all these steps, you can apply for a broker associate license.

Include in your broker associate application the following documentation:
• Original pre-licensing education certification
• Errors and omissions certificate of coverage
• Original exam score reports
• Completed SD and FBI fingerprint cards with a separate check for $43.25 made payable to DCI

Tennessee

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Tennessee?

In order to apply for an affiliate broker license in Tennessee, you must first meet the following three requirements:

1) Be at least 18 years of age.

2) Able to provide proof of high school diploma or equivalent.

3) If you have a prior conviction, and are currently on parole or probation, the Tennessee Real Estate Commission requires that at least two years must have passed from the date of expiration of probation, conviction or release from incarceration, whichever is latest, before you can be scheduled for the state licensing exam.

According to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission, meeting the age and education requirements, along with successful completion of the state examination, does not guarantee issuance of an affiliate broker license, however. According to TCA 62-13-303, licenses shall only be granted to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity and competence to transact the business of affiliate broker in a manner to safeguard the interest of the public. A license will only be granted after satisfactory proof of such qualifications has been presented to the commission.

All applications are also carefully reviewed by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. Candidates will provide fingerprints so that background checks may be conducted by the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, then reported to the Commission.

In addition to the basic requirements for age and education, candidates must answer a series of six qualifying questions when taking the state exam for affiliate broker license. These questions cover such areas as providing certification if you hold a license in another state; whether you have ever been refused a professional license or had a license revoked, suspended, reprimanded, or fined by any federal, state, or local government; whether you have ever been refused a real estate license or had it revoked, suspended, or subject to reprimand or fines; whether you’ve had a complaint filed against you with a regulatory agency or court; whether you’ve been convicted, pled guilty or pled no contest to any felony or misdemeanor in the last 10 years; and whether you meet age requirements.

If you have earned a law degree and your law school transcript documents show successful completion of at least one 3-hour course (30 hours or more of classroom instruction) in real property and at least 60 additional hours of classroom instruction in contracts and agency, you may substitute successful completion of your law school coursework for the required 60-hour course.

Attorneys are not exempt from the requirements for an affiliate broker application. However, if the attorney has satisfactorily completed certain relevant classes, those hours may be used to fulfill the education requirements for the original affiliate broker license. To request that coursework be credited in this way, the applicant would need to obtain a transcript from law school to provide to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission.

According to TCA 62-13-303, licenses shall only be granted to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty, trustworthiness, integrity and competence to transact the business of affiliate broker in a manner to safeguard the interest of the public. A license will only be granted after satisfactory proof of such qualifications has been presented to the commission.

All applications will be carefully scrutinized by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. In addition, candidates will have criminal background checks conducted by the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation as well as the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission also requires applicants to complete a series of six qualifying questions on exam day meant to review any past activity that may prevent an applicant for qualifying for a license as well as confirming the age requirement. Answering “yes” to questions 1 through 5 could decrease a candidate’s ability to achieve a license in Tennessee. Once all pre-licensing requirements have been met, the commission will review the information provided and make a decision about a candidate’s qualifications.

You will need to include the following with your affiliate broker’s license application:

• Application with photo. You should have obtained a photo at the testing center upon successful completion of the exam.

• Proof of high school graduation (or equivalent)

• Proof of satisfactory completion of pre-licensure education (60-hour and 30-hour)

• Proof of errors and omissions insurance policy

• Payment of all fees ($90 for original license issuance plus $1 for the real estate education and recovery account)

• Eligibility verification

• Electronic fingerprinting

Non-resident applicants must file an irrevocable consent form allowing for suits and actions that may be taken against them to occur in the proper court within the state of Tennessee, as required by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission. This form may be downloaded, completed and included with your application for licensure, along with your certificate of completion for coursework and a copy of your current license.

Texas

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Texas?

In order to qualify to become a Texas real estate agent, you must satisfy the following requirements:

• Be a U.S. citizen or a lawfully admitted alien.
• Be at least 18 years old.
• Meet the Texas Real Estate Commission’s qualifications for “honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity”.

You can certainly obtain a Texas real estate salespersons license if you have student loans.
TREC only wants to verify that you are not delinquent on any of your student loan payments.
As long as you are up to date on your student loan payments, you shouldn’t have any issues.

Utah

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Utah?

The general requirements for a Utah sales agent license are to be at least 18 years of age, have graduated high school or earned an equivalent diploma, and not have been convicted of a felony in the last five years. You must also have not been convicted of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, fraud, or dishonesty within the last three years.

Vermont

What are the requirements for real estate license application in Vermont?

Before you apply for a real estate salesperson license in Vermont, you must be at least 18 years of age. Take and pass the 40-hour pre-licensing course and the Vermont national licensing exam. Finally, be hired by a Vermont licensed broker. Once you've done this, you can apply for your salesperson license.

The documentation needed for a complete application includes:
• Certificate of completion from the 40-hour pre-licensing course
• The employment/supervision form completed and verified
• Completed state exam form
• Proof of passing the VT national exam

Virginia

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Virginia?

Before you can apply for your Virginia real estate salesperson's license, you must complete the following requirements:
1) Complete the 60-hour Virginia pre-license course, or receive an education waiver from the Real Estate Board.
2) Pass the Virginia state licensing exam.
3) Submit a set of fingerprints to conduct a criminal record check (background check).

If you are applying for a Virginia license via reciprocity, you must receive a certified copy of your license from all states where you are or have been licensed to practice real estate.

Washington

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Washington?

In order to apply for a real estate broker license in Washington, you must meet the following requirements:

• Be at least 18 years old.
• Earn a high school diploma or equivalent.
• Complete 90 hours of approved real estate education anytime within the past two years prior to applying for the exam. This education must include:
○ A 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals.
○ A 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices.
○ The real estate education requirements will be waived for qualified applicants currently licensed in another state. However, proof of equivalent course completion is required.
• Be ready to answer legal and criminal background questions and provide additional documentation, if needed.

Coursework completed at an institution of higher education or any degree-granting institution approved by the Department of Licensing may be substituted for required clock-hours of educational coursework at the discretion of the Department. Be prepared to provide documentation of course completion.

An attorney-at-law, in the performance of practicing law, is exempt from the licensing requirements otherwise necessary for providing assistance with real estate transactions.

If you have military training or experience, you may satisfy the training or experience required for a real estate broker license. However, the Washington State Licensing Department would need to determine that the training or experience you received is equivalent to the state’s standards for licensure.

Any active member of the Washington Bar, who is in good standing and qualified under the real estate license law, is exempt from licensing requirements necessary to assist in real estate transactions.

It is highly recommended to set up a SecureAccess Washington account to enable you to complete and submit your application online. Your broker license application should include the following components:

• Completed application
• Certified completion of pre-licensure education. This is available electronically once you completed and passed the 90-hour pre-license education requirement.
• Criminal background report. The FBI and state police electronically provide their background reports as part of your online broker application.
• Payment of $146.25 application fee.

If you have requested a waiver for any part of the state real estate license exam or the required pre-license coursework, your transcripts, copies of your degree, and certified license history should be a part of your application, as applicable.

If you have a history of convictions or criminal activity, you should provide an explanation of each conviction as well as any appropriate court records and details. This should be in addition to your criminal background report.

You will need to provide your Social Security number when scheduling your licensing exam appointment. Your social security number is used as a unique identifier and is required by the state for licensing. However, it will not be shared with your school or used for any other purpose.

West Virginia

What are the requirements for real estate license application in West Virginia?

Before you apply for your West Virginia salesperson license, you must have a high diploma or its equivalent, be 18 years of age, and complete the 90-hour pre-license course. Once you meet these requirements, you can submit the application and the criminal background check.

Your salesperson license application must include:

• The signature of your employing West Virginia licensed broker
• Two character recommendations from property owners not related to you and have known you for at least two years
• The notarization of all signatures

Wisconsin

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Wisconsin ?

In order to be eligible to apply for a Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson license, you must satisfy the following requirements:

1) You must be at least 18 years old.

2) Complete the 72-hour WI Real Estate Salesperson course.

3) Pass the WI state licensing exam.

You must include a copy of your Certificate of Completion for the 72-hour Wisconsin real estate salesperson course.Nonresidents must also include an Irrevocable Consent for Nonresidents form.

Wyoming

What are the requirements to apply for a real estate license in Wyoming?

Before you can apply for your salesperson license, you need to be at least the age of majority, take the required pre-licensing education, and pass the state licensing’s exam. After being hired by a WY licensed broker, purchase E&O insurance and take a recent facial view photograph.

To turn in a complete application, include the following documents:

• Salesperson Course I, II, and Wyoming Law Certificates
• Passing State and National Exam Score Report
• Proof of Legal US Presence such as a Driver’s License or Passport
• Proof of Errors and Omissions Insurance
• Credit Card Authorization Form (if applicable)
• Non-Resident Applicant (if applicable)
• Recent close-up front facial photo
• Two fingerprint cards with $39 certified check or money order paid to the Attorney General

Related FAQs

Learn how to apply for a real estate license or a broker's license. When should you do it? Check out the instructions for each State!
Read More
Does every state have a real estate license application fee? How much is it? When does it have to be paid? Learn all the details on our website!
Read More
What is an inactive Real Estate License and what can you do with it? How to keep your license active? Find out all about this on our website.
Read More
How do I receive an active real estate license or real estate broker license? Learn the procedures in each state!
Read More
How to check the status of your real estate license in each State? Can you do it online? Learn all about it on our website.
Read More
Learn more about how to get a copy of your real estate license or real estate broker license. Is it possible to get it done online? Find out more!
Read More
See answers to the question "Can I get a salesperson's license if I don't work for a broker?" for each state. Specific information for you!
Read More