You will have to submit proof that you already have an active real estate license in another state. In addion you will be required to pay the application fee.
To know what specific documents you need to submit with your application please click on one of the state links below.
Choose the answer by state?
What are the Alabama rules of reciprocity in real estate?
Alabama requires reciprocal license applicants to take a 6-hour course in Alabama real estate law as specified in Rule 790‐X‐1‐.18. Candidates will also need to pass the Alabama portion of the licensing exam.
Applicants will need to submit an official “Certificate of Licensure” from the state you currently hold the license. It must have been issued within 120 days of receiving the reciprocal license application.
You’ll receive the application for licensure at the test center once you pass the exam.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Arizona?
Arizona does not offer reciprocity with any other state. It does offer a path to have your out-of-state license recognized by having documents submitted showing your prior license, allowing you to forgo the 90-hour pre-license course requirement.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in California?
Unfortunately, California does not have reciprocity with any other states. Nevertheless, you may not have to start from scratch if you’re looking to add to your qualifications with a California real estate license. It’s possible that applicants in possession of a real estate license for a different state have already taken equivalent courses at an accredited institution. This means that you already meet the education requirement and can straightaway take the California state exam.
What does reciprocity mean in real estate in Colorado?
How to earn a Colorado real estate broker license through reciprocity depends on your license status and how many years of experience you have as an active real estate salesperson.
If your license in your other state is currently active and has been for at least two years, you will need to pass the state portion of the Colorado real estate broker exam, complete the fingerprint background check, and submit a certified license history that is dated to within 90 days of your broker application. If you have at least two years of active experience, you can qualify for an independent or employing broker license. If you have less than two years of active experience, you will qualify for the associate broker license.
If your license has expired or if you have held a license for less than two years in another jurisdiction, you will need to submit proof of education. For a real estate salesperson, you need to complete 120 hours of education, which is broken down into the specific requirements here. You also need to pass the national and state portion of the Colorado real estate broker’s exam, complete a fingerprint background check, and provide your certified license history dated within 90 days of your application.
As someone with less than two years of active experience as a real estate salesperson or broker, you'll qualify for Colorado's associate broker credential.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Connecticut?
You can get your license through reciprocity if you have a license in good standing in Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, and Rhode Island.
You will need to have a certified license history from the state you currently hold a license. Submit a copy of this with your reciprocal application form or you can apply online.
If you are from Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, or have not taken a written examination in a reciprocal state, you must take the state portion of the Connecticut real estate examination administered by PSI. You’ll receive a postcard from PSI when your license application is approved and you can schedule the test.
Finally, your sponsoring broker must have an active Connecticut broker license. You’ll pay the initial $285 license fee.
What are the Delaware rules of reciprocity in real estate?
You must have an active and current license in another jurisdiction. You will need to include a certificate of license history showing you have been licensed continuously for the past three years. You must also have a signed sales or lease transaction listing form showing 20 sales or lease transactions that you have completed during the past three years.
Before submitting the license application, you need to take the Delaware law portion of the salesperson exam.
Refer to the full list of specific reciprocity requirements.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Florida?
If you already hold a real estate license from a state that has a mutual recognition agreement with Florida, you will be exempt from the 63-hour pre-license education requirement and will only need to take the 40-question Florida laws section of the state exam. The exam consists of 40 questions and you will need a grade of 30 points or higher to pass.
As part of your application, you will need to provide a certificate of license history if you are claiming mutual recognition. You will also need to provide your license information on the Florida real estate sales associate license application. You cannot be a Florida resident at the time you are making your application for reciprocity. The exemptions also do not apply if you hold a license in one of these eight states through licensing reciprocity with another state.
As with all applicants, you will still need to meet the minimum age requirement, hold a high school diploma or equivalent, and have a Social Security number.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Georgia?
Georgia offers real estate license reciprocity to all states except Florida. The procedure is simple, as long as you have a real estate license in good standing in any of the other states, barring Florida. Download the application form under “reciprocity” from the Georgia Real Estate Commission's (GREC) website. The GREC form should be submitted with a Sponsoring Broker Statement by an accredited Georgia real estate company. For Florida originating licenses, the applicants will have to take the portion of the real estate exam that pertains to the laws of Georgia.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Idaho?
Idaho does not have a reciprocal licensing agreement with any state. If you are actively licensed in another state, you can qualify for a waiver of the national portion of the Idaho licensing exam and/or pre-license education. Otherwise, you will have to complete the other steps in the process.
What does reciprocity mean in real estate in Illinois?
In order to be approved for a reciprocal broker license, you will need certification from each state of licensure. You also need to contact the IDFPR to receive a reciprocity application. You will only need to take the Illinois State supplemental exam to complete the reciprocity process.
What does reciprocity mean in real estate in Indiana?
To receive your Indiana real estate license, complete a broker application form. You will need to submit your Illinois official license verification with your application. Make sure you have an Indiana sponsoring broker so you receive an active license.
What does reciprocity mean in real estate in Iowa?
To receive a license by reciprocity, you have to be in good standing and actively licensed in Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, or North Dakota. You have to have received your original license from that state. Your Iowa license must also be assigned to that same real estate company that holds that original license.
If you meet these qualifications, you need to submit to a state and national criminal history background check through the Iowa Real Estate Commission. Receive a certificate of license history that includes your method of licensure, such as through exam, reciprocity, or other, and the real estate company that holds your license.
After the Iowa Real Estate Commission has received your criminal history background check, submit your application electronically to the My Iowa PLB platform. Attach your original certificate of license history and your proof of errors and omissions insurance coverage in Iowa.
What are the Kansas rules of reciprocity in real estate?
Kansas does not offer reciprocity, but it will forgive some of the pre-license education and the national portion of the state licensing exam. You'll still need to take the 30-hour Kansas practice course. To be waived from the national portion of the exam, you must submit a client exam waiver to Pearson VUE after creating an account.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Kentucky?
If you are a licensed Florida, Ohio, West Virginia, or Tennessee real estate sales associate, you can get your license through reciprocity. You’ll need to complete a 40-hour reciprocal license law course, submit your fingerprints for a national criminal record check, and take the reciprocal license exam. You also still need to complete the 48 hours of post-license education courses within the first two years of earning your Kentucky license.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Louisiana?
Receiving your Louisiana real estate salesperson license is made easy with a reciprocal checklist. Reciprocity starts with ordering your Certified License History from your current resident state plus any other states you have held a real estate license. Next, you’ll send your Certified License History with the Salesperson License Application Part A and Part B.
Order your background check from the LREC website and submit proof of payment for your Errors & Omissions Insurance coverage.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Maryland?
To take advantage of reciprocity, you'll need to have a license in Pennsylvania or Oklahoma. You will need to review the specific terms of the agreement to make sure you meet the guidelines for your state. You must submit a complete certified license history with your salesperson application. You'll also still need to pay the application fee. Your license must also be current and active in the reciprocal state. Note that reciprocal license holders from Oklahoma must still pass the state portion of the exam.
How to get reciprocity for real estate licensee in Massachusetts?
Applications through reciprocity have to be submitted online through the Division Of Professional Licensure ePLACE portal. You will need to upload supporting documents, such as your current active state's certified letter of good standing. You'll need to have a notarized criminal offender record information authorization form, a recent color photograph in a passport-style headshot, and any other official letters or certificates of standings for each professional license held in any other jurisdiction. Any letters or certificates must have been issued 90 days before the application submission.
The application and license fees are prorated based on the applicant's date of birth. It takes about ten days for the board to review and approve an application. You will be mailed a letter to your mailing address and the license will be added to the license database within 24 to 48 hours of issuance.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Michigan?
Michigan does not have any reciprocity agreements with other states. This means that if you want to hold a real estate license for Michigan, you’ll have to follow all the usual steps of licensure that hold for this state.
What are the Minnesota rules of reciprocity in real estate?
Non-residents who are active license holders in Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Oklahoma must contact and associate with a Minnesota-licensed real estate broker to submit their application. You will need to email a letter of certification no older than 90 days for current license documentation. The license fee will be $130.
If you are actively licensed in Wisconsin, you must complete the 13-hour Wisconsin-to-Minnesota Reciprocal Pre-license course. Find approved course providers on the state’s PULSE Portal. Your course completion date cannot be more than one year old when you apply for your license. You will also need to pass the Minnesota state portion of the salesperson exam, which will cost $39. Schedule the exam withPearson VUE. Finally, find a Minnesota-licensed broker to sponsor and submit your application. The license fee is $130.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Missouri?
An out-of-state resident from any other state can apply for a Missouri real estate license if they hold a current, valid real estate license from another jurisdiction and they also have:
• Completed the Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP).
• Passed the state portion of the Missouri real estate state examination before submitting the real estate license application.
• Submitted an application for licensure within six months of passing the state exam.
• Submitted a recent (less than three months old) license history from the real estate authority administering the applicant's current real estate license.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Nebraska?
Start by downloading the license recognition application and the license issuance checklist. Use that as a guide for completing the steps. You'll need to submit to a criminal background check and be fingerprinted.
All recognition applicants must take a 3-hour course specific to the Nebraska Real Estate License Act and Nebraska Revised Statutes. The license application fee will be $135, and the license issuance fee is $80.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Nevada?
To apply using reciprocity, you will need to fill out application Form 549. Include with your application a certified license history, the results of your Nevada state exam, fingerprints, and the notarized Consent to Service of Process Form 656. Note that your certified license history must be dated within 90 days of your license application.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in New Jersey?
New Jersey does not offer a path for currently licensed real estate professionals to earn a license through reciprocity. You'll have to follow the same steps as a new real estate salesperson.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in New Mexico?
If you are a licensed real estate professional in Massachusetts, Louisiana, and Georgia, you are a candidate for reciprocity. For your specific licensing steps, contact [email protected].
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in New York?
Owing to recent changes to New York State Real Property law, the educational requirements to obtain a real estate salesperson or broker license have increased. This means that New York no longer has reciprocity with any of the other states.
Applicants who have completed qualifying education outside of the state can email [email protected] to put in a request for a waiver of the course(s) required for a New York State license. To make this request, your email should include:
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in North Carolina?
North Carolina offers partial reciprocity with some states with real estate licenses that are equivalent to North Carolina’s provisional or "full" broker license. Additionally, the applicant’s license should have been on active status for the last three years. Adhere to the following steps to obtain a North Carolina real estate license with reciprocity:
Once you pass the State portion of the test, you’ll receive a provisional Broker License. After being issued the license, you will be subject to North Carolina’s Post-Licensing education requirements.
How to get reciprocity for real estate licens in North Dakota?
You will need to request a certificate of licensure from your current state that is less than three months old. You will still need to pass the state portion of the North Dakota real estate licensing exam. Pay the $20 fee for the ND Real Estate Education, Research, and Recovery Fund.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Ohio?
If you qualify for a reciprocal license, You must take an Ohio real estate law course at an institution of higher education. You must also be affiliated with an Ohio license broker. You will have to fill out a salesperson reciprocity exam application with an $81 fee and the consent to service of process form. Include with the application and letter of good standing from your current state of licensure and your proof of completing the Ohio real estate law course. You also need to be fingerprinted and pass the state portion of the Ohio real estate exam.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Oklahoma?
If you have a license in Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Nebraska, North Dakota, or South Dakota, you can qualify to take the Oklahoma state-only examination. You'll need to complete at least one hour each of continuing education from an approved course provider in Oklahoma Broker Relationship Act, Oklahoma Code And Rules, and Oklahoma Contracts And Forms. Then you will obtain a certified license history from the state in which you hold your current license. Submit this history with your application for a sales associate license. The OREC will send you information about taking the state exam.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Oregon?
The Oregon Real Estate Agency has specific reciprocal licensing requirements for the states it has an agreement with. You must contact the agency for information. Spouses or domestic partners of a US active military member may qualify for a temporary authorization to conduct real estate activity in Oregon.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Pennsylvania?
Pennsylvania offers mutual reciprocity with the states of Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Maryland, and Massachusetts. To gain a reciprocal real estate license, you’ll need to make sure that your state also agrees to issue a license to a standard Pennsylvania real estate licensee without any further requirements. Additionally, your state’s qualifications for licensure should be substantially comparable to those required by the Commission.
As an applicant for a reciprocal licensee, your principal place of business should be maintained within the state through which reciprocity was granted. Further, you’ll need to maintain an active license in that state in order to maintain your reciprocal license in Pennsylvania.
What are the Rhode Island rules of reciprocity in real estate?
Candidates applying for a Rhode Island license using reciprocity will fill out the reciprocal real estate salesperson application. You will still need to complete the Lead Hazard Mitigation course and supply a criminal history record from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney General. The application also needs a letter of good standing from your home state licensing authority and an irrevocable Power of Attorney form.
Florida applicants also need to sit for the state portion of the examination and submit their score report.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in South Carolina?
If you are licensed in another state, you will need to provide your licensing and education information to the South Carolina Real Estate Commission. You can use the commission’s online application process to upload the required documentation, which includes a Certification of Licensure for each jurisdiction where you are licensed, including history, education and disciplinary action.
The information will be reviewed by the commission and you will receive further instructions for scheduling your exam once you have been approved. You will only need to take the South Carolina law portion of the exam.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Tennessee?
While Tennessee does not share reciprocity with other states, as a resident of Tennessee with a real estate license in another state, you can still qualify under Tennessee statute for your real estate education to substitute the Tennessee education.
As an agent licensed in another state, you must be affiliated with a firm that is licensed to operate in Tennessee with a principal broker who is licensed in Tennessee.
Before scheduling your exam, you will need to send the following documentation to the Tennessee Real Estate Commission:
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Texas?
Since Texas doesn’t offer reciprocity with any other state, you will need to go through the standard state procedures and current Texas requirements for getting a real estate license. However if you hold an active and current license from a state that participates in the national exam accreditation with ARELLO, you may be exempt from taking the National portion of the exam in Texas.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Utah?
Sales agent candidates eligible for reciprocity need to complete and sign the real estate reciprocity application. Include with your application an original certified licensed history no more than six months old from where you are actively licensed. You will also need to submit two fingerprint cards and a signed fingerprint waiver. The sales agent application fee is $157. You will also need to complete the Certification of Legal Presence documentation.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in Vermont?
You must be licensed and in good standing in another jurisdiction whose licensing requirements are equivalent to Vermont’s. You’ll need to:
• Submit an online application
• Take the state licensing exam
• Provide verification of supervision
• Provide an official verification from your original and most recent state of licensure. This document must be sent directly from the state.
If you have been licensed for three or more years, you can Fast Track Endorsement, which enables you to skip taking the state licensing exam.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Virginia?
Virginia offers full reciprocity with other states. If you meet the requirements for reciprocity, the Real Estate Board will waive the 60-hour pre-license education requirement and the national portion of the state licensing exam.
This means you only have do the following to obtain your Virginia real estate salespersons license through reciprocity:
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Washington?
Washington offers full reciprocity with all other U.S. states. If you are licensed in another state at a level equivalent to, or greater than, the Washington real estate broker license, you will need to be affiliated with a firm and designated broker licensed in Washington.
Also, you will need to provide your licensing and education information to the Washington State Department of licensing. You can use the Department’s online application process to provide the following information:
A letter requesting review and approval of reciprocity. Include your current contact information. Provide your certified license history from the jurisdiction where you are currently licensed. You must be active and in good standing, or have been active and in good standing in the past six months. To get your certified license history, you will need to request it from your current state. Ask that it be forwarded to the state of Washington.
Just as resident candidates do, you will need to register as a student on the Washington Student User Portal, which is available from the PSI website. The information will be reviewed by the Department and you will receive further instructions for scheduling your exam once you have been approved. You will only need to take the Washington law portion of the exam.
How to get reciprocity for real estate license in West Virginia?
You must consent to follow all of the West Virginia salesperson licensing steps as a state resident. In addition to the pre-license education, the salesperson application, and the criminal background check, you must complete a Statement Out-Of-State Form.
How to get my license with reciprocity in real estate in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin holds reciprocity agreements with Illinois and Indiana. So, if you hold a real estate license in any of the other states, you’ll have to undertake the 13-hour sales education course before you can take the state exam.
The application fee for a Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson license is $75. The payment can be made online using a credit or debit card, or by a mailed check. You must also submit a Verification of Examination or Registration form along with your license application form. The Verification of Examination form is used to disclose your real estate licenses in other states.