What to do to earn the pre licensing course certificate?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you must attend the real estate licesning course and pass its final exam. Each course will have a specific number of hours you must study for. Please look at the list below and choose the state you want to earn your pre licensing course certificate in.

Alabama

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Alabama?

To be eligible to take the state license exam, you must attend the 60-hour pre-license course and pass its final exam.

Alaska

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Alaska?

To earn your Alaska pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 40-hours education requirements.

Your Alaska real estate pre-license education course completion certificate will only be valid for 18 months. You'll need to work through the remaining steps in the process and apply for your Alaska salesperson real estate license before your pre-license education expires.

Arizona

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Arizona?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you must attend the 90-hour course and pass its final exam.

Arkansas

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Arkansas?

You must take the full 60 hours of pre-license course education. At least 30 of these hours must be in the Basic Principles of Real Estate.

The 60-hour pre-license course completion certificate does not have an expiration for salesperson applicants.

California

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in California?

In order to qualify to take the state licensing exam and apply for your California real estate license, you must first complete three college-level courses.
These courses include the following:

• Real Estate Principles (45-hour course)
• Real Estate Practice (45-hour course)
• One of the following 45-hour elective courses:
○ Real Estate Appraisal
○ Property Management
○ Real Estate Finance
○ Real Estate Economics
○ Legal Aspects of Real Estate
○ Real Estate Office Administration
○ General Accounting
○ Business Law
○ Escrows
○ Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
○ Computer Applications in Real Estate
○ Common Interest Developments

The college-level courses must be three semester-units or four quarter-units.
You can take the required courses with a private real estate school, which has its courses approved by the California Real Estate Commissioner.
You can also take the courses at a college or university that is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, or by a comparable regional accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education.

If you are a member of the California State Bar, you will be exempt from the DRE's education requirement. You will only be required to pass the state exam and apply for your license.

The DRE may waive the 45-hour elective course if you have completed a college course related to real estate or law. You will have to submit your college transcripts for the course when it comes time to apply for the state licensing exam.

Colorado

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Colorado?

You successfully complete the Colorado broker pre-license course by passing all your course exams plus the comprehensive final exam at the end of the 168 hours.

Your CO course completion certificate does not have an expiration date. However, you must file your application within one year of passing your state license exam.

Connecticut

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Connecticut?

To earn your Connecticut pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 60-hours education requirements.

There is not an expiration date attached to the pre-licensing course completion. You will have just one year to take the test once your license application has been approved.

Delaware

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Delaware?

You must successfully work through all 99 hours of your pre-license course. You must also pass the final exam for each section of the course. That is an exam in real estate sales, law, and mathematics. A passing score is a minimum of 70%.

Delaware's Department of Professional Licensing does not state an expiration date for your course completion certificates.

Florida

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Florida?

To earn your Florida pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 63-hours education requirements.

Your Certificate of Completion for the 63-hour Salesperson course is only valid for up to 2 years.
An expired certificate will not be accepted at the state licensing exam site and you will not be able to sit for your exam without a valid proof for the course completion.

Read more here on the Florida Real Estate Commission website.

Georgia

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Georgia?

To earn your Georgia pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 75-hours education requirements.

Hawaii

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Hawaii?

To earn your 60-hour pre-license course completion certificate, you must pass the final exam. Your course certificate will be valid for two years from the date you pass the final exam. RealEstateU students will find the course certificate by logging into their account after taking the final exam.

Idaho

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Idaho?

To achieve your pre-licensing course completion certificate, you must take Module 1 and Module 2. For these modules, you will need to pass the course quizzes and the final exam before you can receive a course completion certificate.

Completion of the pre-licensing education is valid for three years. If you fail to take the exam and submit the license application within this timeframe, you will need to take the course again.

Illinois

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Illinois?

Earning your pre-license course completion certificate requires you to be present for the 75 hours and to pass a required final exam. This exam’s minimum passing score is 75%. Once you have passed, RealEstateU students can find their course completion certificate by logging into their account.

Illinois Real Estate Commission gives you two years after finishing the pre-license course to apply for the Illinois State licensing exam.

Indiana

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Indiana?

You successfully complete the pre-license course by passing the three exams, with a passing score of at least 75%. Each exam will have 100 multiple-choice questions worth one point each.

Your IN course completion certificate is valid for 365 days from the date on the certificate. You must schedule and pass your state license exam within one year of that date.

Iowa

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Iowa?

You will earn your pre-license course completion certificate after you successfully complete every mandatory unit, pass every unit quiz or test, and successfully pass the course final exam.

All of your pre-license education course certificates are valid for one year from the date of issuance. You want to complete the licensing process within this year, or you'll have to start over.

Kansas

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Kansas?

You will need to work through the entire 60 hours of required pre-licensing education and then pass the final exam at the end of the course.

Your course completion certificate is valid for six months after completing the 30-hour Kansas practice course.

Kentucky

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Kentucky?

Receiving your pre-license course completion certificate requires you to fully complete the 96 hours of licensing education to pass the course final exam.

Your Kentucky course completion certificate does not have a time limit attached to it. However, it's a good idea to work through the steps to licensure as quickly as possible so that all the information is current when you take the exam.

Louisiana

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Louisiana?

You successfully complete the Louisiana salesperson pre-license course by passing all course quizzes and exams, plus the comprehensive final exam.

Your Louisiana course completion certificate does not have an expiration date. However, it is to your benefit to move through the steps as quickly as possible while the information is fresh. If you do not want to start practicing real estate right away, you could always request an inactive license.

Maine

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Maine?

You must finish the sales agent qualifying course with an overall grade of at least 75% across the three quizzes and the final exam. A passing score earns you the course completion certificate essential for the next steps.

You have one year after finishing the course to take the Maine sales agent licensing exam. Register sooner rather than later, while all the information is fresh in your mind.

Maryland

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Maryland?

You must pass all the quizzes and the comprehensive final exam before your state-certified real estate school will issue your completion certificate and send your testing eligibility for the state licensing exam to the state’s testing vendor, PSI.

Your course completion and testing eligibility are good for one year after passing the pre-license education course.

Massachusetts

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Massachusetts?

To earn your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate form, you must take a 40-hour pre-license education course from a board-approved real estate school. You’ll need to pass the course's final exam.

Your Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Educational Certificate is valid for two years from the date on the certificate.

Michigan

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Michigan?

To earn your Michigan pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 40-hours education requirements.

You must apply for your Michigan real estate salespersons license within 3 years of completing the 40-hour Michigan pre-license course.
If you fail to do so, you must retake the pre-license course.

Minnesota

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Minnesota?

To earn your Minnesota pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 90-hours education requirements.

Mississippi

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Mississippi?

You will learn your Mississippi pre-license course completion certificate after successfully working your way through all units in the 60-hour course. You will need to pass any quizzes and tests along the way, as well as the final exam.

An expiration date for the Mississippi pre-license course completion is not stated. However, it is in your best interest to submit your salesperson license application as soon as you can after finishing your course. The Mississippi Real Estate Commission will take some time to approve your application to take the exam. You want to take the exam while the information is still fresh in your mind.

Missouri

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Missouri?

To earn your Missouri pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 72-hours education requirements.

Montana

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Montana?

To earn the course completion certificate, you'll need to work through all the units in your pre-license course successfully. The end of the course has a comprehensive final exam you must pass. Your course provider will inform you about the nature of the test.

Once you have passed the course final exam, your course completion certificate is valid for two years.

Nebraska

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Nebraska?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificates, you must successfully complete all of the units with your course provider, and you must pass the course exams.

Nebraska does not publish an expiration date for your course completion certificates. Ask your course provider for more information.

Nevada

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Nevada?

Before you can earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you must first work through all 120 hours of the required education. You will end the course with a comprehensive final exam. Passing the exam is required to earn your completion certificates.

There is no published expiration date for the course completion certificates.

New Hampshire

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in New Hampshire?

You will receive your New Hampshire pre-license education course completion certificate after you finish all the units in the 40 hours of required work. You must pass any quizzes along the way and successfully pass the course final exam.

Your course completion certificate for the New Hampshire salesperson pre-license course is valid for six months. You need to finish the remaining steps within this timeframe, or you may need to take the pre-license course again.

New Jersey

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in New Jersey?

You must fully work through the 75-hours of content and pass the course final exam before you can receive a course completion certificate.

You will have one year from the date your course provider sends your testing eligibility to PSI exams to schedule your state licensing exam. After that, you’ll have to take the course again.

New Mexico

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in New Mexico?

You must work through the units in the pre-license courses, pass any quizzes, and successfully pass the final exam. Upon completion, you will earn the certificate.

Your New Mexico pre-license education course completion certificates are valid for three years to take the state licensing exam. Refer to the earliest dated certificate when scheduling the test.

New York

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in New York?

To earn your New York pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 75-hours education requirements.

North Carolina

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in North Carolina?

To earn your North Carolina pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 75-hours education requirements.

North Dakota

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in North Dakota?

Earning your pre-license course completion certificate is simple. All you have to do is work through all the units in the 90-hour pre-license course, pass any quizzes, and pass a final exam. Once you've met these requirements, you have earned your pre-license course completion certificate.

The North Dakota Real Estate Commission requires you to apply for your salesperson license within two years of finishing the 90-hour course.

Ohio

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Ohio?

First, you must successfully complete all four modules and their required hours:

• Ohio Real Estate Principles Practices (40 hours)
• Ohio Real Estate Law (40 hours)
• Real Estate Finance (20 hours)
• Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)

You must pass all the quizzes and exams in these modules. Finally, you’ll need to pass the comprehensive course final before you can be issued a course completion certificate.

Your pre-license education certificate is valid for ten years from the date on the certificate.

Oklahoma

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Oklahoma?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, first you must fully work through the 90-hour The Basic Course Of Real Estate, Part 1 course. At the end of the course, you must pass the final exam with at least an 80%. Once you do this, you can be issued your course completion certificate.

Your Certificate of Completion for your 90-hour Pre-license Salesperson course is good for three years. You have that length of time to apply for your provisional salesperson license.

Oregon

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Oregon?

You successfully complete the Oregon broker pre-license course when you pass all your course exams plus the comprehensive final exam at the end of the 150 hours.

Oregon does not indicate how long your license course hours are valid. However, you must be hired by a Principal Broker and finish the application within one year of passing your state license exam.

Pennsylvania

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Pennsylvania?

To earn your Pennsylvania pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 75-hours education requirements.

You have 5 years to pass the state exam after completing the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course.
If you fail to successfully pass the state exam within 5 years, you must retake the 75-hour pre-license course and earn two new Certificates of Completion.

You may take the 75-hour Pennsylvania pre-license course with more than one school.
Since the 75-hour pre-license course consists of two separate courses (the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course and the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course), you can complete each course with a different school. You will receive a Certificate of Completion for each course, which you must submit to PSI when it comes time to schedule your state licensing exam.
Please note, you cannot earn partial credit from a school for either the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course or the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course.

Rhode Island

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Rhode Island?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you need to work through all the required units for the specified hours. There may be quizzes and understanding checks to pass along the way. The course will finish with a final exam. Your course provider will let you know what a minimum passing score is. Once you pass the final, you will have earned your course completion certificate.

Your course completion certificate is valid for two years from the date on your certificate. You must finish all the steps in the licensing process from the state, or you'll have to start over.

South Carolina

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in South Carolina?

To earn your South Carolina pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 90-hours education requirements.

South Dakota

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in South Dakota?

To earn your pre-license course completion certificate, you must successfully work through all of the units in the South Dakota broker associate pre-license course. The different sections of the course may have quizzes that check for your understanding. The course provider may require you to pass these quizzes before moving on to the next section. At the end of the course, you must pass the final exam.

South Dakota does not stipulate an expiration date for your pre-license education.

Tennessee

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Tennessee?

To earn your Tennessee pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 90-hours education requirements.

Texas

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Texas?

To earn your Texas pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 180-hours education requirements.

You do not have to complete all 6, 30-hour courses with one school.
Once you complete any of the 30-hour pre-license courses, you will receive a Certificate of Completion for that course.
When it comes time to submit your license application, you must include copies of all 6 Certificates. The Certificates may be from more than one school. TREC only requires that they receive one Certificate from each of the 6, 30-hour courses.

Utah

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Utah?

To earn your Utah pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 120-hours education requirements.

You have one year from the date you complete the course to apply for your UT sales agent license.

Vermont

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Vermont?

You must work through the entire 40-hour curriculum in the pre-licensing course. Your course provider may require you to toss some quizzes that check for understanding along the way. At the end, you must pass the course final exam. Your real estate school will provide you with information about the exam.

The Vermont Real Estate Commission and the Office of Professional Regulation do not state an expiration date for your 40-hour pre-licensing course.

Virginia

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Virginia?

To earn your Virginia pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 60-hours education requirements.

Washington

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Washington?

To earn your Washington pre-licensing course certificate you must complete the 90-hours education requirements.

The certificates are valid for 2 years.
The state requires you complete the 90 hours of approved real estate education within 2 years before applying for the state licensing exam.

West Virginia

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in West Virginia?

You must successfully work through all the units, pass any chapter quizzes, and pass the final exam to earn the pre-license Certificate of Course Completion.

Your West Virginia pre-license Certificate of Course Completion is valid for five years.

Wisconsin

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course certificate in Wisconsin?

You must apply for your Wisconsin Real Estate Salesperson license within 5 years of completing the 72-hour WI Real Estate Salesperson course.For this reason, your course certificate is only valid for up to 5 years.

Wyoming

What must I do to earn the pre licensing course completion certificate in Wyoming?

You will earn your pre-license course completion certificates after you meet the requirements of each course. This means working through the required units, passing any quizzes, and passing the final exam.

The Wyoming Real Estate Commission does not specify an expiration date for the salesperson course completion certificates. The quicker you pass the exam and apply for your license, the earlier you'll be able to start your real estate career.

Related FAQs

Find out can you take the pre-license course if you are still in High School! Some states allow it - check which ones!
Read More
See on our website if you can use your law degree credits towards the pre-license course. Explore regulations for each State!
Read More
See on our website if you can use your college credits towards the pre-license course. Explore regulations for each State!
Read More
Does the salesperson /broker pre-license course have a final exam? How does it look in each State? Learn more!
Read More
How does the state know that I have completed the pre-license course? Do I have to notify someone myself? Find out all the details on our website!
Read More
Find out if you school will notify the state that you have completed the Real Estate courses! Specific guidelines for each state.
Read More
Have you wondered how do you receive your real estate course completion certificate? As soon as you pass the course final exam, your Course Completion Certificate will be available within your RealEstateU account. You can print the Certificate or save is as a PDF.
Read More
Are you wondering "Where can I find approved pre-license course providers"? We provide approval lists for each state! Check them out!
Read More
What are the education requirements for real estate licensing? What classes or courses are required to become a real estate agent? Let's find out!
Read More
Find out how long is a real estate course in each State! All information about how long it takes to become a Real Estate Agent / Salesperson / Broker.
Read More
Find out where can you take real estate classes in each State! Can you take real estate classes online? Valuable information for future Real Estate Agents / Salespersons / Brokers!
Read More
Are you ready for your school final exam? Wondering how many questions are on the pre-license real estate exam? How many times can you fail the exam? Find our on our website.
Read More